We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic”
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bedford Hotel
Ranked #436 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I visited hotel Bedford during my business trip to London, in April 2014. Hotel is located in a wonderful area - Bloosmbury, near the world famous British museum. Despite it's excellent location, this hotel provides very poor service. Rooms are very small, although very clean, stuff is not extremely polite and breakfast is terrible. Although I had a room with breakfast included, it turned out that only continental breakfast, consisting of cereals and jam, is included in the room price. English breakfast (eggs and bakon) is extra charged (5 pounds). My impression was that they charge everything in Bedford - they even charge telephone charging (2 pounds per 30 miutes)!
Having in mind that room price is not very cheep, my opinion is that Bedford offers very basic service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bojanajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Have been using this hotel for 25 years and think it's got an excellent location etc. Staff are always really helpful. Rooms are fine, particularly since they have been redecorated. Price is very reasonable by London standards.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the back facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I were really pleased with our stay at the Bedford. With the high price of hotels in the city, I’d almost given up finding anything decent under $200 within miles of the downtown area. Thanks to TripAdvisor, I was able to locate the Bedford, which scored high on all my criteria.

Location: Bloomsbury, just around the block from the British Museum, within walking distance or short bus or tube ride to all main attractions (used Oyster card). Buses are right outside the door; just ask the staff for details. Lots of pubs and restaurants nearby. We arrived via Piccadilly line from Heathrow and left from nearby St. Pancras on Eurostar.

Room: I emailed the hotel a week before our arrival requesting a garden view on an upper floor and that is what we received. The room, among those recently redecorated, was actually large by London standards. The west facing bay windows brought in plenty of light even with the rain we had during most of our stay. The beds were a bit hard but comfortable; the whole place, including bathroom, was spotless. I’m a light sleeper and was not bothered by noise. Internet did not connect well in the room but was free and easily available in lobby, lounge or garden.

Staff: Professional, friendly and helpful.

Price: $157 per night including continental breakfast (full breakfast also available).

Room Tip: Russell Square is closest tube stop but one of the deepest stations in London, has no escalators and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonanza6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Decent hotel in a really good location. Clean with charming staff. The staff were helpful and always smiling.
Used mop buckets outside the door to the garden not good during the day.
Room was small but clean .
I would stay there again despite these comments.
However overall okay.

Room Tip: Ask for the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L90MAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

I was looking for a hotel near university/british museum and Russell Square (to take the direct underground from Heathrow Airpoirt): Bedford didn't disappoint me. The room is clean and not too expensive. Still, the hotel is not more than average: you smell the breakfast sausages at reception already, you hear every cough from the person next door; you shouldn't expect any fancy interior. Advice: Ask for a quiet room, as I was overlooking the garden and couldn't hear any noise from the city, at least. If I need a hotel in the same area and for the same kind of trip again, I will come back. Otherwise, I will try another hotel in London.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank fabian_zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This Hotel is small and friendly. Situated about ten minutes walk from Euston Station it's a good base from which to explore London. There is free WiFi connection in the bedrooms but the code has to be renewed every 8 hours. They breakfast was disappointing, over cooked eggs, cold toast
If you book direct with the hotel and stay more than one night you can get a complimentary evening meal on the first night if you enter a code (shown on the site).

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back no traffice noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a two night stay and found the location so convenient for exploring London, we walked practically everywhere, but with two underground stations so near we could get anywhere. Plenty of pubs and restaurants locally. We had an adequate room at the back of the hotel, which overlooked a pleasant garden. Staff were pleasant and it was value for the money we paid. I didn't enjoy the breakfast much, the food was of cheap quality and not very appetising, but restaurant staff attentive and friendly. We would go back it was clean, friendly and value for money, they only charged us 50p to leave luggage for the day.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#567 of 1,076 in London
2,075 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#456 of 1,076 in London
1,068 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#514 of 1,076 in London
3,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#583 of 1,076 in London
2,659 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#375 of 1,076 in London
2,147 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#335 of 1,076 in London
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #436 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £94 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bedford Hotel, peace and quiet is our priority. With the elegant bustle of Bloomsbury on every side, that might sound like an impossible task. Covent Garden and the West End are just a short walk away, and the British Museum is on our doorstep. But at the Bedford, we can promise you a good night's sleep too. How do we do it? Well, many of the rooms overlook our picturesque private garden. The Bedford is small and intimate, offering a warm welcome with a personal touch. And it's a great place to relax with company too, with a charming guest lounge and laid back café occupying the ground floor. Meanwhile, the Bedford Garden restaurant serves home-made British specialities, with a modern twist, overlooking our secret garden. We're able to offer a little corner of traditional English tranquility, here, in a bustling, international city. It's made us a firm favourite with returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing