We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant location”
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bedford Hotel
Ranked #394 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“brilliant location”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We've just returned from a 3 night stay, the location is great. Short access to tube and /or bus stops and only a short walk to west end, Oxford St etc. The hotel is clean but dated in the public areas although our room was quite modern, perfectly spacious enough and overlooked the garden. The housekeeping staff were pleasant and friendly as were the staff maintaining the garden areas. The reception staff were efficient and helpful. The breakfast area was a bit canteen like and the breakfast was the same choices everyday and the cutlery was sparse ( you had to use the same blunt knife for eating your bacon and spreading your toast!).
Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back, the road at the front is extremely busy day and night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    544
    268
    43
    20
See reviews for
171
407
127
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
306 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were very disappointed with our 4-night stay at the Bedford. Our room was on the top (6th) floor, street side. The room was very hot, though it wasn't particularly hot outside, and the only way to cool off was to keep the window open. The street was very noisy, however, and we had trouble sleeping. The toilet didn't flush consistently, and the hot water in the shower was impossible to regulate, fluctuating between scalding hot and cold.

On the positive side: the facility was clean, the staff was helpful, and the breakfast adequate. The free wi fi was fast and reliable.

We chose the Bedford because of its Bloomsbury location very near the Russell Square tube stop. We'll try another of the many hotels in this area on our next visit.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask for one that is not on the street side. Higher floors tend to be warmer and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eclipsegroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Having stayed in a couple of different hotels in London I would recommend this one and have no hesitation to stay here again. The rooms are clean, comfortable and a good size, some of the others I have stayed in the past have been cramped but this was great. We stayed in a twin room at the rear of the building that overlooked the lovely garden area, so we had no road noise, which I expect could be very noisy and I think when it is warm you would need the windows open so a front facing room wouldn't be very comfortable. The room was serviced daily and all the staff very friendly.
The breakfast was 'adequate' but not the best I have seen! It didn't really cater for children, luckily I took some coco pops just in case! The toast was pre-cooked so tended to be cold, I personally prefer a toaster/toasting machine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikerbabe34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

have stayed at this hotel four times in a few years and is excellent the rooms are clean and the staff are really nice and pleasant , we left our cases there for a few hours on our leaving day to go out and about until it was time to get taxi to station , it has a lovely back garden it is so pretty to sit out and relax, the breakfast was plentiful , all in all we cannot fault this hotel which is handy and only 5 minutes walk to Holborn tube station !!! we will be back !!!! and where would you get a nice glass of red wine for 2.00 a glass!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

2 star hotel charging 4 star prices, wouln't stay again.Handy for all the sights but much better hotels can be found in the vicinity.Breakfast was very poor & can't comment on dinner as we dined elsewhere.

Room Tip: Dated hotel & definitely get a room at the back of hotel overlooking garden as the constant traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobbyMckEOWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Sure it's not the Ritz. .. but it is just fine. Well positioned for access to many London sites, tubes, buses, supermarkets, eating areas. Rooms are basic but functional. Clean. Bathroom in single small... but really what do you want to do in it..lol. breakfast good. Secure... old fashioned key drop box (in and out)but in some ways reassuring as a single traveler. Staff super friendly particularly cleaning and breakfast room staff. You can request a fridge for medication and if you get a room at the back that will cut out noise. Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank numptt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I have to start with saying we are a Canadian couple just returning from our first trip to London. Our two week stay at the Bedford Hotel for the most part it was a pleasurable experience. London hotels have unique features that we are not use to in our North American hotels. Most notably the toilet being in a separate room from the wash basin and tub. We had a twin room at the Bedford overlooking the garden. The beds are comfortable, bedding was of good quality and spotless. If you are a couple accustom to a larger bed such as a queen or king, I would recommend the twins, the English double beds are smaller by our standards. Our room although not large had everything we need for our stay including a small wardrobe with ample hangers and shelving, two chairs, a large mirror in the bed area over a vanity/desk. There is no air conditioning but two large windows open and allow a nice breeze in at night. Be sure to ask for a room facing the garden in the back, it is much quieter than the front of the hotel that overlooks a busy street. Housekeeping attended to our room daily making/change bedding, cleaning toilet and bath areas, replacing toiletries.
There is a nice garden area available for guests, tables and chairs and a nice water feature. We watched the staff cleaning the area every day.
Some areas of the hotel would benefit from maintenance work such as the trim around the windows in our room where missing pieces, the chairs in the lounge looked a little grungy.
The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpfully to us during our stay. The only thing I have a comment on and it is not a negative comment is the staff we met at the hotel and in many other establishments were very formal, not so inclined to initiate personal conversation as we are accustomed to in North America. As we got to know people during our stay this formality relaxed somewhat.
The area around the hotel is great for tourists. Lots of good restaurants, souvenir shops, convenience stores and banking machines. Russell Park has nice gardens, small fountain and benches. It is lovely and a great place relax after a long day seeing the sights. I recommend the cafe in the park, sit and enjoy a pastry or gelato and listen to the birds.
Bus service is within steps of the hotel and both the Russell and Holborn Underground stations are a short walk.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank wewanttoctheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#423 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#589 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,540 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#338 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#296 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#684 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#65 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Property: Bedford Hotel
Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bedford Hotel, peace and quiet is our priority. With the elegant bustle of Bloomsbury on every side, that might sound like an impossible task. Covent Garden and the West End are just a short walk away, and the British Museum is on our doorstep. But at the Bedford, we can promise you a good night's sleep too. How do we do it? Well, many of the rooms overlook our picturesque private garden. The Bedford is small and intimate, offering a warm welcome with a personal touch. And it's a great place to relax with company too, with a charming guest lounge and laid back café occupying the ground floor. Meanwhile, the Bedford Garden restaurant serves home-made British specialities, with a modern twist, overlooking our secret garden. We're able to offer a little corner of traditional English tranquility, here, in a bustling, international city. It's made us a firm favourite with returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing