We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend in london”
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bedford Hotel
Ranked #427 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great weekend in london”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

WAS AT LONDON for my 60th birthday , and had booked this hotel for a 3 night stay , it was clean and central staff was polite and friendly , A nd breakfast was good , and its handy for everything , great time had by all

Room Tip: higher floors you dont hear the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryriddrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    557
    280
    46
    25
See reviews for
177
421
127
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a room facing the gardens in the back so there was always a breeze coming through our open windows. Vintage but nice and clean. Free breakfast was convenient and good. Close proximity to everything we wanted to do. Staff was courteous and helpful. We would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darvel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have just returned from my first ever visit to London. The Bedford Hotel is in a very good location an easy walk (even with cases) from Euston Station, a short walk from the Holborn tube station and just a few streets away from the British Museum. The hotel is clean and the twin room I had was spacious and at the back of the building, which is worth requesting to get away from the noisy street, the room does not have a safe. I was bed and breakfast only, did not fancy the choice on the set dinner menu, I did walk to Covent Garden in the evening for dinner which was not a problem being on my own. If I was ever back in London I probably would pick this hotel but only for its great location and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley_from_Darvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Although the hotel is showing its age now, the rooms are spacious comfortable and clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The problem over our booking was quickly resolved. There is no air conditioning so it's best to ask for a room at the rear overlooking the garden.
Breakfasts are average. A great location though close to Euston Station, British Museum, walking distance to theatres etc. We would use the hotel again for a short stay

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the rear of the hotel over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halladay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham Abbey, Essex
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our stay at the Bedford was not very enjoyable - fortunately it was only for one night. The room itself was clean and tidy but it was so hot and stuffy, even with the windows wide open. No air con and no fan - getting ready to go out was a nightmare because of the heat and luckily we had twin beds and just slept on top of them. Breakfast was not good - everything sat under infra red lights so was very dry and you were served tea and coffee by the cup. Also, there was limited time free wifi - very mean. The staff were polite but not friendly. To top it all, it cost us £14.50 to park the car in their underground car park, which was empty and unmanned. There was a locked gate though, so I suppose we should be thankful for that!. Overall not a very good experience at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden - the traffic noise at the front is continuous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacm35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The location is within walking distance (20 minutes) of the west end theatre district. I did not need to use the underground after arrival. Located on the Piccadilly Line which goes directly to Heathrow. Room was okay, everything clean. I asked for a quiet room and received one higher up and facing away from the road; it was surprisingly quiet. No air conditioning, but the windows opened up to provide ventilation. Not too hot in early July. Lots of fast food and groceries within a block.

My big objection, and the reason for my score of 3 rather than 4, is the WiFi policy. The WiFi worked well except for the authentication procedure. You have to go to the front desk and they print a ticket with the logon credentials that are good for 8 hours. You need one for each device. You must enter the credentials into your browser every 8 hours. The tickets do not carry over to the next day, so you must visit the front desk in the morning before checking your email. I do not understand why they need this level of security. The ticket system would be acceptable if the code lasted for 24 hours instead of 8 hours.

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from the street. The back is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidFromOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just back from a two night stay at the Bedford, this is our 2nd stay at the hotel. Although conveniently placed & central, the hotel is a little dated. Room was comfortable enough but the lack of air conditioning did mean the window had to be left open. Staff generally O.K & service fine. We would consider using the hotel again for a short brake.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#435 of 1,068 in London
1,033 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#602 of 1,068 in London
2,594 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#349 of 1,068 in London
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#294 of 1,068 in London
798 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#72 of 1,068 in London
356 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#490 of 1,068 in London
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Property: Bedford Hotel
Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #427 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bedford Hotel, peace and quiet is our priority. With the elegant bustle of Bloomsbury on every side, that might sound like an impossible task. Covent Garden and the West End are just a short walk away, and the British Museum is on our doorstep. But at the Bedford, we can promise you a good night's sleep too. How do we do it? Well, many of the rooms overlook our picturesque private garden. The Bedford is small and intimate, offering a warm welcome with a personal touch. And it's a great place to relax with company too, with a charming guest lounge and laid back café occupying the ground floor. Meanwhile, the Bedford Garden restaurant serves home-made British specialities, with a modern twist, overlooking our secret garden. We're able to offer a little corner of traditional English tranquility, here, in a bustling, international city. It's made us a firm favourite with returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Superbreak UK, Nozio Netplan srl, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing