We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“West End Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Ranked #497 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“West End Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, very friendly. Located 30 mins walk from Leicester Square. Room on the small side but clean but only used as a base as out and about most of the time. Handy for the tube and only 3 stops from kings cross.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    411
    198
    72
    39
See reviews for
106
330
51
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I was expecting good things when I booked this as a mystery deal and first impressions were certainly promising, check in was easy and hassle free but the big disappointment was the room. It was pretty cold thanks to both Windows being opened which I'm sure would have been fine in summer but early January it was a bit on the chilly side. It was also quite difficult to see that one of them was still open thanks to a large wooden bottom to the window itself. Even turning on the heating didn't help - although I hadn't realised you needed to get someone to check the heater was switched on (only discovered that on check out) Thankfully I was out for most of the weekend but it would have been nice to come back to a warm room.
Was also. A little disappointed in the bed itself as it was one you could fold away against the wall but as I hadn't paid a huge amount for the room it was to be expected, would have been really disappointed if I had paid much more for it.
Otherwise it was minor niggles that I wouldn't really expect from a good hotel, including simple things like the bathroom tap still having water marks on it, which just made it look. A little shabby.
If you can try and get one of the upper floors as you can hear trains running on the underground which dependants you don't get the nose peaceful nights sleep. Thankfully I was aware of that before I travelled so knew to expect it.
On the plus side the staff were very helpful and you had a warm welcome and it was a great location to use for a theatre weekend like I was.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the lower floors as you can hear the underground
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel was clean, but the room was very dark with little natural light. I stayed here before transferring to a hotel that work paid for (which was obviously much nicer, but much more expensive too). This location of this hotel isn't ideal, but you can get to the tube easily and for the price, I'd say it's a decent deal.

Room Tip: Try to make sure you have windows that let in natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennybee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Many hotels in London show age effects. This hotel drags that older style with lots of brass and wood. It is decently kept up and in a good location. The alternative, which is a block away is the holliday inn which is of a similar quality but a bit newer. I prefer it although I admit it is personal preference. Watch out for room 15. At 6 in the morning I started hearing what sounded like suit cases rolling accross the cieling. I would avoid the basement level in general although I experienced all the noise in this specific room. Otherwise it is an acceptable hotel and the recectionist was helpful and got me into another room on the third floor for the following night.

Room Tip: Room 15 in the basement level under reception was extremely noisy. 314 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CM1972_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Booked on last minute through their mystery hotels thing, was pleasantly surprised when this hotel came up. Easy to get to, 2 stops on the tube from kings cross to great portland street which is a 1 minute walk to the hotel, this was great for getting wherever we needed just grabbed an oyster card and we were away. Room was small but very comfortable. Only downside was the corridoors on our floor had the heating on constantly so was pretty warm, but room itself was fine. Hotel staff were friendly. Overall decent hotel, would stay again.

Room Tip: First floor room at front of hotel had 2 good nights sleep but very light sleepers might notice deli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xBTR1988x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed overnight in this hotel after going to see the show 'We will Rock You'. Arrived earlier than the actual check-in time but our room was ready so we were able to go straight in. The room was lovely....I think we were given an executive room when we were actually expecting a standard. The room was very clean and very tastefully furnished with dark wood furniture. The bathroom was huge.....double wash basins and a shower over a large bath. The hotel was situated only about 15mns walk from the Dominion Theatre. Had a very comfortable nights sleep after watching the show....which incidentally was brilliant. Breakfast the next morning was very good....buffet style with an excellent choice with as much tea or coffee as you wanted. We had to check out of the room by 11am but as our coach home wasn't until late afternoon we were able to leave our bags at reception. We were able to sit in the lounge with a pot of tea and biscuits in the afternoon while we waited for our taxi to take us to the coach station. Would definitely recommend this hotel as a base for theatre breaks or just shopping as Oxford Street was only a 10mns walk away. It certainly made our Anniversary weekend very special.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back so was very quiet..... could hear very faint rumblings of underground but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbiekay1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

20 min walk or short taxi ride from Euston Station (fare £5approx). Had appointment on Harley Street which was only 6min walk. Hotel quiet, clean and staff very helpful and polite. Stayed in executive room, rooms could do with an upgrade, televisions old most people expect flat screens. Plenty of bars/restaurants locally and area felt safe at night. Would recommend and stay there again

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lynnslancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#521 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Rathbone Hotel
Rathbone Hotel
#278 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#467 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Fitzrovia
Astor Court Hotel
Astor Court Hotel
#583 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Fitzrovia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Fitzrovia Hotel

Property: Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Address: 20-28 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#321 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Fitzrovia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Fitzrovia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Fitzrovia London
Hotel Grange Fitzrovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing