We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not particularly good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Ranked #504 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not particularly good value for money”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I booked for £119 on laterooms.com so not bad value and was expecting this to be luxurious given the reviews.
I arrived very early and they allowed me to check in way before so that was a positive.
24hr wifi cost me £10 which was a negative. Room was a bit dated and nothing special. Decided against the breakfast and full English was £24.
Staff were very pleasant but overall disappointed given the other positive reviews

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    412
    199
    72
    39
See reviews for
108
334
51
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I was recently treated to the most fantastic surprise birthday weekend in London and we stayed at the Grange Fitzrovia. What a lovely hotel! The staff were so incredibly helpful and friendly, and couldn't have done more to make our stay more pleasant. I also cannot recommend the restaurant highly enough - the food was wonderful. Great base to visit London from with a tube station only a short walk away. We will certainly be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank costleycomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Often difficult to find a reasonable hotel at a reasonable price in London.
Central to all amenities.
Staff very pleasant and helpful with questions and proximity of the conference venue.
Rooms small but clean. Only possible challenge was height of bath if you have short legs!!!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaW31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, very friendly. Located 30 mins walk from Leicester Square. Room on the small side but clean but only used as a base as out and about most of the time. Handy for the tube and only 3 stops from kings cross.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I was expecting good things when I booked this as a mystery deal and first impressions were certainly promising, check in was easy and hassle free but the big disappointment was the room. It was pretty cold thanks to both Windows being opened which I'm sure would have been fine in summer but early January it was a bit on the chilly side. It was also quite difficult to see that one of them was still open thanks to a large wooden bottom to the window itself. Even turning on the heating didn't help - although I hadn't realised you needed to get someone to check the heater was switched on (only discovered that on check out) Thankfully I was out for most of the weekend but it would have been nice to come back to a warm room.
Was also. A little disappointed in the bed itself as it was one you could fold away against the wall but as I hadn't paid a huge amount for the room it was to be expected, would have been really disappointed if I had paid much more for it.
Otherwise it was minor niggles that I wouldn't really expect from a good hotel, including simple things like the bathroom tap still having water marks on it, which just made it look. A little shabby.
If you can try and get one of the upper floors as you can hear trains running on the underground which dependants you don't get the nose peaceful nights sleep. Thankfully I was aware of that before I travelled so knew to expect it.
On the plus side the staff were very helpful and you had a warm welcome and it was a great location to use for a theatre weekend like I was.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the lower floors as you can hear the underground
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel was clean, but the room was very dark with little natural light. I stayed here before transferring to a hotel that work paid for (which was obviously much nicer, but much more expensive too). This location of this hotel isn't ideal, but you can get to the tube easily and for the price, I'd say it's a decent deal.

Room Tip: Try to make sure you have windows that let in natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennybee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Many hotels in London show age effects. This hotel drags that older style with lots of brass and wood. It is decently kept up and in a good location. The alternative, which is a block away is the holliday inn which is of a similar quality but a bit newer. I prefer it although I admit it is personal preference. Watch out for room 15. At 6 in the morning I started hearing what sounded like suit cases rolling accross the cieling. I would avoid the basement level in general although I experienced all the noise in this specific room. Otherwise it is an acceptable hotel and the recectionist was helpful and got me into another room on the third floor for the following night.

Room Tip: Room 15 in the basement level under reception was extremely noisy. 314 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CM1972_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#518 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Rathbone Hotel
Rathbone Hotel
#285 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#484 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Fitzrovia
Astor Court Hotel
Astor Court Hotel
#582 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Fitzrovia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Fitzrovia Hotel

Property: Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Address: 20-28 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#319 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Fitzrovia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Fitzrovia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Fitzrovia London
Hotel Grange Fitzrovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing