We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, but poor value” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grange Fitzrovia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Ranked #478 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Derby
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice location, but poor value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Although the room was spacious (room 007!) i had a number of problems:
- very dated and tatty
- TV so far away from bed, couldn't see it properly (no, I have glasses)
- plugs in places you wouldn't expect and not where you need them
- cracked toilet seat
- disjointed glass shower curtain I was worried would fall on toes in bath (reported but not fixed)
- iron leaking (was replaced)
- staff don't say hello even when you pass

Main issue was at £202 per night I expected a lot more and with breakfast at £25 per day I decided against the idea.. Won't be staying again am afraid unless refurb, price resolved....

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rakesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    407
    196
    70
    38
See reviews for
104
326
50
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
179 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I always like staying here if I'm down for business. It's close to our offices and I think it's a nice building too. The staff have always been helpful and the breakfast is great - so much choice from full English to cold fish including smoked salmon. Breakfast staff were very attentive and refilled drinks regularly. My only slight negative was that the last batch of scrambled egg was a bit wet but still a great breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Fitzrovia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased you enjoy staying at the Grange Strathmore Hotel and generally enjoy the breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
183 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have stayed at the Grange Fitzrovia for 7 or 8 years. The location is excellent, the rooms adequately sized for London, and the service is very good. HOWEVER- the breakfast has gotten much worse through the years. While there is fresh whole fruit (apples, etc) the cut up fruit is all canned (Inexcuseable in June), the pastries industrial and heated in a microwave oven. The coffee is not drinkable. For the price they charge you should be able to get a decent cup of coffee and a fresh pastry. London has come a long way, but the Grange Fitzrovia has not. Don't bother to stay as there are many better choices in London

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Fitzrovia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We apologise that your expectations have not been fully satisfied. Your comments have been noted. Maybe you would like to try one of our new purpose built 5* hotels on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had booked a room for two nights at the Grange Langham Hotel but on arrival the Receptionist apologised and said there was a maintenance problem with our room. They were fully booked and we were asked to go to the Grange Fitzrovia. A member of staff helped with our luggage and walked with us to the Fitzrovia. Although the hotel was a bit further from where we had hoped to be the Reception staff were very friendly and upgraded us to an Executive Room with full English Breakfast and free wifi. The room was quiet on the ground floor with large bathroom, air conditioning, and windows that you could open. We enjoyed our stay and would book a Grange Hotel on our next visit to London.

Room Tip: Ground floor room at the back are quiet although you can slightly hear the underground but this didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolCleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Fitzrovia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Sorry we had to find alternative accommodation for you, but pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Grange Fitzrovia Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Grange Hotels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here first of June for 5 nights. There was no air conditioning in the room, very hot. Garbage trucks very early in the morning, noisy!!! Rooms a little dated, but the size not bad for Europe. Rooms were clean.

Location close to tube, a plus.

Staff very nice, but English only fair. Breakfast was fine. Wi Fi 10£ a day, but this was London.

Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Fitzrovia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Sorry that your expectations were not fully satisfied on this occasion. I hope that on your next trip to England you will select one of our other hotels, maybe one of our 5* properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed for three nights around June 10,2014. Rooms terribly hot and no air conditioning. Need to open sash windows to get some air but traffic noise greets you. Garbage trucks start early in the morning so don't expect to sleep. Some rooms do have air con so check first.

Room Tip: Ask for air conditioning!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Fitzrovia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We regret that your expectations were not fully satisfied on this occasion. I hope that you will consider staying again with one of our purpose built 5* properties, all of which have full air conditioning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a couple of nights last weekend to watch a show in the West End and do a bit of sight seeing. It's in a great location, a short walk to Oxford Street and various tube lines. The rooms were nice, clean but a bit on the small side. Corridors were very hot but the room itself did have A/C so this wasn't a huge problem. One of the lifts wasn't working due to maintenance so had to wait around on a couple of occasions but no big issue.

The experience here was mainly let down by the room service. On one of the nights we tried to order sandwiches after midnight but apparently ALL of the cold snacks were unavailable and we were offered to use a 'Chicago' pizza delivery service by reception who brought the menu to our room. We ordered something and they said it should take 40 mins....we waited over an hour but still had no pizza. We rang down to find out what was going on and the hotel said they would pay for it because of the delay and would find out how long it would be... another call back to say '10 minutes'. After another half and hour it finally arrived but concierge decided to bring the delivery guy in a motorcycle helmet up to our room with him to deliver the pizza and said 'do you still want this' with the pizza delivery guy expecting payment. Of course we were starving and tired by this point so just did it to avoid problems but then it was very frustrating to find it was cold and dry after that long wait and it wasn't free as promised! Not really what you expect from a 4* hotel like this, who should have been a bit more mindful of the situation considering it wasn't our fault they hadn't stocked food in and suggested using this dodgy pizza company. Be warned!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisbrought125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Fitzrovia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We regret that your reported experience did not satisy your expectations and did not reflect our normal high standards of service and facility. We thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and assure you that we will continue to investigate and monitor your reported concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#522 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Rathbone Hotel
Rathbone Hotel
#278 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Astor Court Hotel
Astor Court Hotel
#574 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#446 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Fitzrovia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Fitzrovia Hotel

Property: Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Address: 20-28 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#315 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Fitzrovia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Grange Fitzrovia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Fitzrovia London
Hotel Grange Fitzrovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing