We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grange Rochester Hotel
Ranked #479 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Mansfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was given a nice twin room, the hotel is a bit dated, with marble bathrooms and dark wood fittings, but clean and well looked after. Check-in staff were very friendly and helpful. A bit expensive but this is London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HG11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Rochester Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Pleased to hear you found our staff friendly. Hope you will come back to one of our hotels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    438
    222
    74
    47
See reviews for
144
279
86
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here on Saturday night and it was sooo comfortable. we were upgraded to an executive room, which was a lovely surprise. Our room over look the green which had a cricket pitch on it!!! we felt as though we were staying in a country hotel in a village instead of the centre of London. We will definitely stay here again. My husband was running in the Bupa 10k on the Sunday, which took place from Green Park which was only a short walk away. It really is a spot on place to stay if you want to visit Buckingham Palace, Westminster, The Eye etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Rochester Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
201 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Was placed here for a recent work trip to London. Though it is not right in the heart of the city this is a good thing. Short walk to the Victoria station which gets you anywhere and there are a number of nice pubs and little cafes all around the area. The hotel faces into a nice, leafy park which is quiet during the night. Room seemed very large for London standards. Staff was great, did everything they could to help. Breakfast was included in my package was very good but seemed very overpriced if you were paying for it. Best to find a coffee shop or other restaurant down the road. Good place overall in a nice quiet part of London.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatcraigguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was booked into this hotel for an awards ceremony that was very close by. I had been given a rate by the organisers but when i turned up I was told that VAT had not been included which put the price up by another 26pounds. Then they charge extra for internet access. I have a real problem with hotels that charge for internet access. This is a necessity in todays world and should not be an expensive extra. The rooms are dated but OK. I had a family room so good size but my colleague had a single room which was very very small. The good points are the location. Short walk from Victoria and on a very pleasant green. Also quiet. However I wont be rushing back.

Room Tip: Dont get a single room and check the rate includes VAT and internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tramway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine, Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

In all my time travelling to London on business, often for just one night at a time, I had never came across this hotel. I was very pleasantly surprised. It is situated along a little street about 5 minutes walk from Victoria Railway ( and Bus and Underground station ).

It is a small hotel with a small reception area where you are met by some very pleasant staff. I was very quickly booked into my room which I found, was in the basement. That said, it had plenty of windows with a kinda pavement view. My modesty was safe behind the net curtains and there was plenty of light in the room. The room was very spacious and had what I would call a standard 4 star bathroom with shower, fluffy towels and soaps etc. I had a little seating area in my room too which helped in giving it an air of spaciousness. There was a built in wardrobe and plenty of storage space. The room had a flat screen TV with a variety of non premium channels. ( mine had a poor TV reception - but the TV was only on briefly for the news headlines). (I have attached a panoramic photo of my room for one)

I used the bar late in the evening. It is quite small but cosy and I suppose it is the proper size for a hotel with about 70 rooms. The concierge staff double as the bar staff and as they are only ever yards away you will find the service to your liking. The bar prices are fairly standard for central London hotels, although cheaper than, for example the Victoria Park Plaza Hotel, nearby.

I didn't have dinner, but used the restaurant for breakfast. It is another cosy room with plenty of natural light from an opaque glass ceiling. The service at breakfast was good with attentive staff serving up coffee and toast quickly. As the hotel is small the quality of the cooked breakfast was perhaps not as good as some other four star hotels but I found it to be fine. There was also a variety of continental breakfast food items and cereals etc.

All in all for a central London base with little fuss I would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: I expect they are all very similar - but if you don't like basements remember that some of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erskineblue5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Rochester Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. The hotel is also conveniently situated for visiting Buckingham Palace, Houses of Parliament etc and overlooks London's largest private square, Vincent Square. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Double Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We wanted to stay in a bit more local neighborhood and this fit the bill. We were still close to the Underground and major sights, but did not have to contend with heavy traffic and noise. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and the lounge was cozy and convenient. The room was clean and comfortable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We just spent four nights at the Grange Rochester during our London holiday. I was so happy with this hotel. We were tucked away in a quiet corner of central London, yet within walking distance of many major sites -- Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, Parliament and Big Ben, just to name a few. It was also close to Victoria Station. The room size was great and the bathroom size even better (two sinks and a lot of counter space, which was perfect for traveling with a teen). The staff were friendly, too.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Grange Wellington Hotel
Grange Wellington Hotel
#233 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#249 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,154 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#312 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Westminster
The Sanctuary House Hotel
The Sanctuary House Hotel
#189 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Rochester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Rochester Hotel

Property: Grange Rochester Hotel
Address: 69 Vincent Square | Westminster, London SW1P 2PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#310 Luxury Hotel in London
#366 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Rochester Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Hotel housed within building dating from 1922, in garden setting near Buckingham Palace & Houses of Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grange Rochester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Rochester London
Hotel Grange Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing