We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange Rochester Hotel
Ranked #491 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ideal overnight”
Reviewed 21 December 2008

This was the second time we stayed here. We booked via the hotel`s own website as it was a better deal and included breakfast. (Note; all prices are excluding VAT so need to add this on for comparison). Both times we were upgraded to executive rooms (possibly as we booked direct).Both times the room was a reasonable size although small bathroom, overlooking Vincent Square gardens and with a tiny balcony. Clean, quiet and comfortable with well stocked hospitality tray,only 5-10 minutes walk from Victoria. This meant good tube/bus links and no extra expense to get mainline train home on last day. Continental breakfast was more than adequate with good choice of cereals, pastries, cold meat, cheese, fresh fruit and english breakfast available at a reasonable supplement of £5.11 +VAT. Staff friendly and welcoming and will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — adding in VAT to get correct price
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tosdc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    443
    224
    76
    48
See reviews for
144
284
88
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
252 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2008

This is a delightful place in the heart of a big city. This place was booked for me by the company so I had no choice or idea what to expect. The hotel staff at reception and in the dining room were very pleasant and helpful. I had been allocated a room on the 5th floor, but as the lift only reaches the 4th floor, they offered to change it - no problem. My room was small, very clean and with elegant old fashioned furnishings befitting the hotel. I had no problem changing the temperature for the bath and shower Breakfast was included in my package - self-service buffet with good selection of hot & cold foods. Plenty of staff on duty who brought coffee quickly and cleared tables quickly. Obviously a very popular place. Situated only 10 mins walk from Victoria stations and so very convenient for visiting attractions. My only comment would be the 6 steps at the front door - so no wheelchair access.

  • Liked — pleasant helpful staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2008

We booked this hotel at the last minute from a kiosk in Victoria railway station. The lady at the kiosk contacted this hotel and took our payment. At first, they offered us a staggering £105.99. Now, I know this is fairly cheap for London, but for what this hotel had to offer, £105.99 was astronomical. I managed to get the price down to £85 (Which meant that I could not sample the delightful breakfast...)

When we eventually arrived at the hotel (After quite the search; it's in a back-street), we walked into a cramped building, which admittedly did have some character, at least looking from the outside. We handed our reservation to the gentleman at the desk, only to be told that it wasn't valid and that we'd have to pay again. After several minutes of referring him to the telephone number on the receipt we had, he decided that it was valid after all, and gave us an "upgrade" to the family room (Heaven knows what the standard double was like!). He then charged us £20 deposit for the mini-fridge. It turns out that our room actually had no mini-fridge. The room service was prompt, which I suppose is a good point.

When we got to our room, we looked around. I walked into the bathroom and was greeted by the smell of urine, and vomit which was caked on the wall and was still in the toilet pan. The shower had two temperature settings; freezing cold or arctic. The beds had three layers of duvet on (Possibly to compensate for the lack of heating in the room). Luckily for us, we were planning to be out most of the night. When we did eventually tuck in for the night, the beds were like sleeping on concrete blocks.

The next morning, my friend lost her train tickets between the two single beds that she was hogging to herself. Instead of the train tickets, she found sex toys. Considering this was supposed to be a FAMILY room, I thought that this was totally disgusting.

In conclusion, avoid this hotel like the plague.

  • Liked — Leaving.
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeLondon, Sales Director at Grange Rochester Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2008
The Grange Rochester Hotel is located within an easy 5 minute walk from Victoria Station; directly along Vauxhall Bridge Road and then left into Rochester Row. The hotel fronts Rochester Row and Vincent Square with entrances both on Rochester Row and Vane Street. Neither Rochester Row nor Vincent Square can be classified as a “back street” although the rear of the hotel (with balconies and terraces) does overlook leafy Vincent Square, London’s largest private square.

For £80 you occupied a nice large family room with a double bed and two single beds. It is more than 20 square meters in size – a typical size for a 5 star standard room.

In accordance with CCTV and other evidence check in was very quick; however your card did not authorise. You were asked for a £20 deposit to cover any “extras” that may be incurred. We were not provided any reason why the card was not authorised when the hotel receptionist attempted to validate the charge, but in any event, as the CCTV footage confirms, check in was quick.

You did not report any concern to the hotel staff during your stay nor request a room change. Our housekeeping staff have no recollection nor report whatsoever of any smell or other concern in the bathroom or elsewhere before, during or after your stay.

We have no record of any fault with the hot water in the hotel, no other guests complained about hot water including in the rooms adjoining, above and below – all of which work on the same system.

We have not received complaints regarding firmness or otherwise of our mattresses although we recognise that the firmness of one’s choice of mattress is a personal one. You may note that the mattresses are the same in all of our hotels on more than 2000 beds and this includes our 5* properties. Guests have requested, and have purchased, mattresses from us, following comfortable stays in our beds with the very same quality mattresses.

On departure you handed the receptionists a pair of black plastic children’s handcuffs, the type that are easily purchased in the majority of toy or fancy dress shops or as novelty presents in larger Christmas crackers. Check out was very quick and you are seen on CCTV footage smiling with the hotels receptionists. You did not make any complaint at all at any stage directly with the hotel during or after your stay.

The CCTV, hotel reports and other evidence available contrasts with your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

I turned up at this hotel and realised that I'd stayed here once before. Both times it was a 'secret' booking on Last Minute.

The place is actually tiny - you go through the entrance and almost step into the lift - and the reception desk is squeezed in a corner.

The rooms too are tiny, but not so much that it's uncomfortable. There's a lack of niceties, presumably because there's just no space for them - so no iron, minibar or even glasses in the room.

Other than that, the only real criticisms are the slightly snooty staff (maybe it's only to Last Minute cheapskate guests). Oh, and the lift doesn't go to the top floor, so you have to walk.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stolengrapefruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2008

I thought I'd write another review about this hotel to give it its 5 stars. The staff are helpful (if 1% off friendly), the rooms are good, the decor is great and the peace in the heart of London is amazing!

I just wish people would stop writing good reviews of it so I could actually get a room there more often!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — That breakfast wasn't included!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meerkat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2008

We stayed here for friends wedding over the weekend of 25th/26th October. The hotel had been booked on our behalf by the bride's sister, so we didn't have a lot of option but we were pleasantly surprised by what we discovered.

Check-in was quick and easy - the staff are very efficient and polite. Our room was on the 5th floor and the lift only goes to the 4th, so had to negotiate a flight of stairs which wouldn't be appropriate for any disabled guests.

The room was clean, tidy and in good repair - although a little on the small side.

Breakfast comprised of a continental buffet with the option of full English for an additional £6. The choice was ample and the staff willing to bring any additional items you requested. One small gripe was there appeared to be too many tables for the size of the dining room.

Altogether a pleasant stay and would definitely consider using this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunny1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We stayed at the Grange Rochester last weekend for a family wedding and although the hotel does not have disabled access and I had broken my ankle (two weeks before) and had to be carried up and down the stairs all of the staff were very helpful. The service at the bar was a little slow and the food in the restaurant for dinner was not up to standard, but the breakfast was plentiful and very good. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others if they don't mind staying away from the West End.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rummy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Grange Wellington Hotel
Grange Wellington Hotel
#230 of 1,067 in London
568 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#313 of 1,067 in London
1,563 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,067 in London
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#252 of 1,067 in London
4,227 reviews
Westminster
The Sanctuary House Hotel
The Sanctuary House Hotel
#185 of 1,067 in London
1,200 reviews
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Rochester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Rochester Hotel

Property: Grange Rochester Hotel
Address: 69 Vincent Square | Westminster, London SW1P 2PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#312 Luxury Hotel in London
#366 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Rochester Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Hotel housed within building dating from 1922, in garden setting near Buckingham Palace & Houses of Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grange Rochester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Rochester London
Hotel Grange Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing