We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and closely to the tube”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lord Kensington Hotel
Ranked #725 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Vittangi, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and closely to the tube”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

At first sight the room seemed very small. But it was clean, clean towels every day. We had very comfortable beds in our room, so the sleep was very good. Free wifi, which my son was happy for. Took 2 minutes to reach the Tube. Breakfast: was okey, but nothing special, boiled eggs, toast, cheese, juice. I can choose this hotel once more, if I go to London again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annakarin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    150
    114
    44
    41
See reviews for
116
102
34
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We are a family of 5 (3 children 9 and under) and we chose this location for the following reasons:

--Perfect spot to take the Tube at nearby Earl's Court. Straight shot to Westminster, Picadilly and main sights. 5 minute walk.
--Value. Everything else for the size of our family was too expensive in London.
--Clean
--Ease of access to Heathrow Airport. We used Heathrow Shuttle, which was the easiest way to get our whole family with luggage to the hotel. Very glad we did. Worth the money.

Noise: We were on the 3rd floor with the windows open all night and didn't have any problem with noise. We did use the provided fan all night (it was over 80 degrees outside that day).

WIFI - It worked fine for us.

Breakfast: It was nothing special, but enough. There were some basic pastries, yogurt, meats and cheese. There are only about 6 small tables in this room, so you just want to sit long enough to eat and get out.

Staff: No complaints.

Bed & pillows - I think the owner bought the cheapest pillows he could find and the sides of the bed weren't very firm. The sleep wasn't great, but I was messed up from jetlag to be fair.

Bathroom - Clean. Only enough room for 2 people at most. Bring your own soaps, because what they offer is worthless.

Nearby - Lots of restaurants. There was a good restaurant at the corner of the main street that offered great chicken (spicy) options without being expensive. We were sick of bland pub food and it was a breath of fresh air. There are plenty of other pubs nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

If you're wanting a fancy room which is overpriced, then look else where! Lord Kensington is a basic and convenient hotel which is clean and comfortable. It's very central, (20-half hour to get to Central London) and in the heart of some beautiful townhouses and gardens with plenty of restaurants, pubs, and local shops on your door step. The staff seemed friendly and helpful, an ideal hotel for anyone looking for a cheap stay but enjoy what London has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppell
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Best advice: prioritize what's important to you because in reading all of these reviews, everything is true. You must decide what you can live with. For us three things made this a good choice: very clean room, conveniently located near tube station & good price for London. What's not so good: noise of tube station. We were on the 3rd floor, facing the tube station. Though it was loud (we even could hear announcements being made) surprisingly it did not bother us. We even brought ear plugs in preparation but never used them. Perhaps because we used the small fan in the room (because the small room would get warm & there's no a/c) it provided great white noise. Also, though our room was right next to the elevator, we could not hear it.

Though we paid $223 USD/131 pounds per night, we received ONE bath towel per day (I can only speculate no one stayed as long as we did, because I can't believe no one has mentioned this). There were no hand towels, no wash clothes or even a bath mat. So after the first one of us showered, that towel became a bath mat. After the second person showered, that became the hand towel. Luckily we have a sense of humor, as we stayed 7 nights. By the way, the bathroom is en suite, which is nice, but very small, yet very clean.

The "tea service" were small Ikea cups, one teaspoon and some old tea bags & instant coffee. The old electric kettle barely fit under the small bathroom sink, spilling half it's contents trying to get it out from under the faucet. Also we got one roll of toilet paper per day & no Kleenex. The soap was the same size as an American half dollar, so tiny. It was not replaced daily either. The shampoo came in foil packet that was nearly impossible to open. Luckily we had our own toiletries.

Wifi worked most days at no additional cost. Some days the wifi was decent, others it was just enough to read emails, but not to send a reply.

The beds were surprisingly comfortable, but there's no headboard, just mattress on box spring. Duvet and sheet were all white and very clean and fresh everyday.

Breakfast is included & it's not much, but can get you out the door and keep you going for a couple hours. No ice available either.

The rooms are tiny, barely room for your luggage. There's really not much of a lobby, so if you're with more than one person, there's really no place to hang out, or to even wait for each other.

Decide what's important to you in choosing this hotel. I'm glad we stayed, but I couldn't wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone, nor could I'd say I'd return. I'd try somewhere else for my next visit. But it was a good choice for us this time.

Room Tip: Higher floor is probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mildred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I've chosen this Hotel as it is very close to tube. Room and bathroom were very clean. Staff extremely helpful and polite. Breakfast was good and breakfast room extremely clean and tidy. Very close of Shops and restaurants. We enjoyed our Stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Picked this hotel looking for somewhere with easy access to tube and at a low price. Anywhere else the Lord Kensington would be well overpriced but it's as good as you can get for under £100 a night in London.
Our room was as expected small but everything was nice and clean. Comfortable bed and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. Only met one member of staff and he was most friendly and helpful.
Best hotel in London? Of course not. But for the price I am sure you will struggle to find any better.
Would certainly stay again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed for two nights in march 2014 very close to tube station, shops,pubs and restaurants.we used it for a base when at an event at Olympia. Rooms large and nicely decorated. The only downside was the size of the breakfast room its tiny. We would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne gillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#850 of 1,068 in London
724 reviews
Earls Court
Sara Hotel
Sara Hotel
#674 of 1,068 in London
194 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#685 of 1,068 in London
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#538 of 1,068 in London
440 reviews
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#544 of 1,068 in London
1,006 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#510 of 1,068 in London
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Kensington Hotel

Property: Lord Kensington Hotel
Address: 38 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #725 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Kensington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lord Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lord Kensington
Lord Kensington London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing