We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Astons Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Astons Apartments
Ranked #722 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I have stayed in London many times and I will happily book here again. The location in Kensington is outstanding. It is only a 5 minute walk to the tube and there are many shops and restaurants close by. I often book into apartments as I like being able to go to the local markets to get food, as eating out in London is expensive. I booked a standard double room but was upgraded on arrival.

Yes, the rooms are small and I did have to climb about 5 flights of stairs to get to my room, it is London. This property is a Victorian town house so there is no lift. As I was on the top floor and the area is quiet, I slept very well.

The staff was wonderful, my bed was comfortable and there was good water pressure. The wi-fi connection was good and only cost a few pounds a day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjgirl_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    103
    60
    39
    20
See reviews for
66
56
56
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Astons for the first but not the last time. The staff were wonderful; helpful, courteous and happy! The room had everything; a comfortable bed, table and chairs, a "kitchen in a cupboard" that was excellently stocked and a shower room complimented a super place. Stay at Astons. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malycett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Mountain Club, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I arrived late at night due to my train schedule. The staff went out of their way to make a key available for me, which I fully appreciated. The central London location was ideal for seeing the Victorian and Albert and other museums - just a few blocks from the tube. My room as a single was a bit small, but it had a compact kitchen fitted in behind a cupboard.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithsburg, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights December 2013. The good: 1. Fantastic location - only a 4 minute walk from the Gloucester Tube Station, Waitrose Grocery Store, HSBC Bank, Tesco Express, Burger King and KFC. We made use of all these places. 2. Astons Apartments are in converted townhouses - not a gigantic hotel building. I have always wanted to live in a townhouse in London - this may be the closest I will ever get! We were on the second floor, so had only one flight of stairs to take the luggage up, but I don't think there were over three floors in any of the buildings. Our room had magnificent high ceilings and a floor to ceiling ginormous window with a beautiful view of the garden. 3. The staff could not have been any nicer. They were just lovely. We checked in almost 3 hours early with no problem. The girl who cleaned our building was always very friendly. 4. The kitchenette turned out to be a godsend. London is EXPENSIVE. We purchased a few groceries at the Waitrose, and saved some money by making our own breakfast. 5. The room was very clean. I always feel grossed out by hotel beds - but not here. It was perfectly pristine and white and didn't freak me out at all. 6. The only way I could communicate with home was through my tablet so I was praying the wifi would work. It did. Perfectly. And only cost about US $20 for the entire stay. Ok. So nothing is perfect. There were a few quibbles I had. The bad: 1. In the morning, it took at least five minutes to run hot water out of the tap. Thank god we do not shower in the morning - we were showering at around 8pm - and had hot water then. I only needed hot water in the morning to wash my face and brush my teeth, but apparently everyone else was using it at that time. 2. The heater switch in our room was broken (room 23, building 29). Thankfully, London was having unseasonably warm temperatures while we were there, so we didn't really need the heat - but if we did, it took many many flips of the switch to get it to come on. 3. The bed only had a thick comforter on it - no top sheet. As I mentioned, London was having unseasonably warm temperatures, and it got HOT in that bed with only the heavy cover. I wish there had been a sheet. 4. And this is the biggest issue we had (even though it sounds the most trivial), the entire inside of the building we were in, including our room, REEKED of some kind of strange, spicy cooking smell. My husband thought it was curry, I'm not sure. It literally almost knocked you out when you walked into the building and it never ever went away - only got stronger at certain times of the day. I think someone on the bottom floor was cooking something really stinky. It was almost nauseating at times. So there you have it. I enjoyed my stay here very much, and I would stay here again in spite of the few things I took issue with. Happy travels!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thegoblinmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

My husband, my sister and I stayed here November 11 for a weeks vacation. I knew the bathroom would be small and it was but we booked it for the location and the value of having a kitchen in our room. We made breakfast every day in the room and a dinner too and saved a ton of money. It was small for 3 people but really we were not in the room very much. The beds were a bit hard. The staff was very helpful and it was really like having our own apartment since it was in a separate building and you have a key to the building and to your room. I liked the neighborhood very much, we would see the school children on their scooters everyday going to school and people going to work. It was part of the British Airways package I had and really a good value for central London. Just be prepared that the bathroom is like a cruise ship. If you are not super picky this should be fine!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which is good since no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherJ144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I was offered this "hotel" as a part of the British Airways package, so I guess I paid a bit less than I would pay normally. I got an executive studio and was pretty happy with it. The kitchen was small but fully equiped with everything you need for a short-time stay cooking. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was ok.
Guys from the reception were very helpful.
The location of this hotel is perfect. Just two minutes from the underground. It took me 15 minutes of a really slow walk to get to the Hyde Park. There are many restaurants close-by.
Negatives - wifi was quite slow and sometimes it didn´t work (but it usually just helped to ask the reception to restart the modem). You can hear all the noises from the corridor so you can be woken up by other guests.
I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valenila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This seems harsh to be average because the staff were excellent and the stay was as we expected but it was 3 people in a room so has to be average. We were able to get our room at nine in the morning as it was free which made a huge difference after getting off the sleeper. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the room was very clean. The added bonus was the small kitchenette, a sink, double hob and fridge. It meant we could cook so saved a lot of cash in london.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maggie-ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#630 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
South Kensington
Cranley Hotel
Cranley Hotel
#487 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#430 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#645 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
South Kensington
Saint Simeon
Saint Simeon
#736 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#402 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astons Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astons Apartments

Property: Astons Apartments
Address: 31 Rosary Gardens | Kensington, London SW7 4NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #722 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astons Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Astons, we pride ourselves in offering an impressive level of service, clean comfortable accommodation, central location, and excellent value for your money. Astons Apartments is a haven of recently refurbished studio apartments, nestled in a quiet residential street in South Kensington. With a range of studio apartments from single occupancy up to our Four Person Executive Studio Apartments, we are ideal for both the traveling executive and the family vacationer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Astons Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astons Apartments Hotel London
Astons Hotel London
Astons Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing