We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Cunning Plan”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fox Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox Club
Ranked #567 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Cunning Plan”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

Made a last minute booking and were very pleased with the accommodation.
We had to change rooms because of the late booking. First night in room 1 (exec room) was very comfortable - however there was a constant humming noise coming from outside - which made sleeping initially difficult. Second night in room 2 (a suite on the first floor) was much quieter. Beds are fabulously comfortable and rooms are well appointed.
All the atmosphere of a modern (not fuddy duddy) club. Staff very friendly and handy for the trendy restaurants of Shepherds Market. Definitely use again on future London visits.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    43
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
85
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

My friends and I booked The Foxed Club based on the excellent reviews it received. We were extremely happy upon our arrival that it surpassed our expectations. We planned to stay five days but because of the “Ash Cloud” incident our stay was extended to ten. The staff was wonderful and extremely helpful – they did all they could to allow us to keep our beautiful and comfortable room, and assured us if they did not have any availability we could stay at their sister hotel. We were able to stay in our room for the remainder of the stay!

Although the hotel is beautiful, the rooms are spacious, the bar is fun, and the location is perfect, the best part of the hotel is the wonderful staff. They were helpful, knowledgeable, and a great time when you joined them for a drink at the bar!

Although I preferred to stay in Notting Hill in my past visits to London, from now on I am making The Fox Club my go to hotel – it’s perfect!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maca46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

I almost didn't want to leave a review as I wouldn't want too many people knowing about this hotel. They only have 9 rooms and each were decorated differently. I stayed in a junior suite (room 6) which was lovely with quality furnishings, great bed and very spacious.

The bar area is really spacious and with only a few residents was relaxing and quiet. The drinks in the bar weren't over priced but the minibar in the room was typical of a top end hotel. Great location with only a short walk to many top nightspots.

The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for me.

Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slimtim123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselle Park, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

A couple of weeks ago, my sister, my friend and I went to London for a quick vacation (less than one week). Unfortunately, a giant volcano erupted in Iceland, and much like millions of other people, we were stranded in a foreign country, relatively helpless. Even before we had the problem of finding a place to stay for an undetermined amount of time, the staff at The Fox Club were amazingly pleasant and friendly, without seeming as if they were just doing it to appease you. Everyone from the cleaning staff, to the bartenders, to the managers were absolutely wonderful! It is a small staff, so it feels as if they consider themselves something more than just co-workers. When the volcano situation occurred, they told us that they would be able to keep us in the room for a few days longer, but that the hotel was fully booked for the weekend. But they booked us a room at another one of their hotels which was around the corner, for a discounted fee, and even offered to hold on to our luggage, so we didn't have to walk back and forth with everything. Thankfully we were able to get flights back home before the weekend, but was great to know that they were doing everything to help us out. The hotel itself, is just lovely! It is small, but just the perfect size, although we found the rooms to be huge! Rarely will you see a room the size of these at a Hilton (without having to pay an arm and a leg.) or any other cookie-cutter hotel, who most likely would have just shown us the door when we had nowhere to go, much like they dod to may of the people stranded there... The very well decorated rooms have high ceilings with matching windows which allow you to awaken with the natural light that comes in each morning. The bathrooms are spacious, clean and modern, and you will never be in want of a towel while staying there...they give you plenty! The beds were so amazingly comfortable that I found myself oversleeping the whole time I was there, but I didn't mind I was on vacation after all. The cleaning service was wonderful, they would dust and clean and even fold all of our clothes and organize all of our random junk throughout the room. seeing as how everything closes relatively early there, we would usually end the night at the hotel bar. If it is not filled with guests, then it is filled with paying members of The Fox Club. Another thing that I liked about The Fox Club is its location. You are essentially in the middle of everything. Located right off Piccadilly on Clarges street, it is 2 blocks away from the Green Park tube, which has three lines running from it. Buses and taxis are also readily available from Piccadilly. We walked alot, and everything from Piccadilly Circus, Hyde Park, Bond Street, Oxford Street, Soho, and Trafalgar Square seemed to be a 10-15 minute walk away. It is also a seemingly safe area. I felt very comfortable walking around during all hours of the day. I can honestly say that there was not a single thing nor a single person that I encountered in this hotel that I did not like. The mere fact that they went so out of the way to help us, constantly calling us to tell us whether or not they had a weekend cancellation so we wouldn't be inconvenienced, or offering us the use of their computer and telephones to contact our families back home and the airlines, or even charging us the member room fee because of our unprecedented extended stay, has made the place and the people unforgettable. Not only will this be the only place I will stay while in London, but I may also become a member.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcifuentes09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

I booked this hotel solely on the photos and reviews of trip advisor. It met expectations and maybe just a little but more. Pro's and cons to the place but mostly pro's. Room was fantastic (Room 6 Cavendish suite). Luxurious bed and duvet, flat screen TV, decent kettle, nice bathroom although if your over 6 ft, shower may be a problem. Staff were very friendly. Room was quite cold despite having heating on full blast. I informed them on booking that my wife was pregnant but they still put us on 3rd floor with many very steep stairs. Other users of the hotel were not very considerate to those sleeping in the small hours and was quite noisy. Location was superb for Green Park station. Overall, my wife and I loved the stay (It was for her bday) and I would recommend but I wouldnt stay there again. I wish I had a bedroom like the suite I stayed in at Fox Club.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djjayman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

The Staff were exetremely accomadating. We arrived far to early to check in after a long drive in the snow,& our few days away were very important to us.
They had one room cleaned & ready in the basement & we could check in there immediately if we liked the room & we loved it.
It was so comfortable, warm and spacious with character. It also felt like our little hideaway where nobody could bother us as it's the only room in the basement, it was the ideal room for a romantic stay.
It had all the extra's you would expect in a hotel, great bathroom facilities, hairdryer, iron & board, as well as the small toiltries, Moulton Brown, a personal favourite of mine.
It was a room that had all the facilities for an unplanned stay, which in London is a good thing.
We had lunch in the resturant, the food was well presented, brilliantly cooked & very tasty.
The fireplaces in the bar & resturant gave a really cosy &comfortable atmosphere.
It's a hidden gem in an excellent location and we enjoyed our well earned break there.
We would definately stay there again. We want to thank all the staff, from the cleaners to the General Manager ( a very efficient lady ) for putting themselves out for us. This is a very rare occurance these days and we appreciate it.
I would recommend room number 1 to my friends looking for a good place for a romantic break, when all you really want to concentrate on is each other!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbowlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

We booked the Fox Club for a rare night away in the west end. The place itself is lovely, very cosy and very intimate. The room we checked into was lovely, but it was freezing. We decided to go out for dinner and leave the heating turned up for a few hours. When we returned it was no warmer. We asked for an alternative room and were shown a few rooms.

The first room we were shown was the exact room I'd asked not be put in (I'd read from another tripadvisor review to avoid room 1) and it wasn't clean/ready for guests to go into! The second room seemed no warmer than ours (although understandably they don't leave heating on when the rooms are not being used) and the last room was much smaller on the top floor - which we ended up taking as it was warm. Walking up and down staircases at almost midnight wasn't our idea of a great night away.

When we complained the next morning to the manageress (who was very pleasant) we were merely offered an apology and no mention of any sort of compensation. Even an offer of breakfast on the house would have been a good will gesture.

We had such high hopes for our night at the Fox Club and it turned out to be a real disappointment!

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#557 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Washington Mayfair Hotel
#474 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#411 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#378 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#170 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Mayfair
Mayfair House
Mayfair House
#689 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Club

Property: The Fox Club
Address: 46 Clarges St, London W1J 7ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#280 Romantic Hotel in London
#285 Business Hotel in London
#344 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox Club 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Lastminute so you can book your The Fox Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Club Hotel London
Fox Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing