We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blocked sink and a leaking tap, not a good hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Ranked #378 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blocked sink and a leaking tap, not a good hotel!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The best thing about this hotel is it's location. It is perfect for central London and is minutes away from many of the main places to visit, or for business in London. However, location aside this hotel has a lot to answer for it's overrated 4* rating. I stayed 4 nights at this hotel and I was disappointed at the room and hotel amenities including parking. Firstly, my room had a leaking tap and a blocked sink and this should have been checked and fixed before the room was made available to me. Secondly, on the morning of checking out I was locked out of my room by the hotel. They did this because I owed them £8.50, the cost of one of the in-room movies. Apparently it is the Holiday Inn Hotel policy to lock out guests from their room until the extra charges have been paid. Even though, one hour later I checked out and left the hotel! Thirdly, the movies are charged PER VIEW and not for 24hours, as in most other hotels. I fell asleep halfway during my film 'Oblivion' and didn't get to see most of the film. I didn't want to pay twice to see the same film and didn't see the end. And finally, the parking for the hotel is free outside on single yellow lines and pay & display meter bays between 18:30hours until 08:30hours. If you need to park a car and don't want to use a parking meter then the NCP car park is available in the hotel's basement for a very high price. I accept that it is central London charges but the prices are very high with NO CONCESSIONS available for guests despite being advertised as the hotel's car park! Up to 2 hours costs £11.10, up to 4 hours is £22.10 and between 4 to 24 hours is £36.10. However, if you leave and try and come back then a new charge is raised. Why not introduce a day permit for 24 hours allowing hotel guests to pay the charge once and then use the car park accordingly as this would be much fairer than the current system? Also, the spaces in the car park are very small and if you own a big car good luck in trying to park without getting it scratched! The view from my room was appalling but as I spent very little time in the hotel it didn't matter so much and as I stated earlier the location is excellent and I spent almost all of my time out. I have uploaded some pictures of my stay and I hope they will illustrate a couple of points I have raised here much better! Would I stay there again, NO! There are so many good hotels in London once was enough it's just a shame the star rating for this hotel doesn't match the actual place and I hope this review will help any future potential guests make up their mind before booking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't come with a blocked sink and a leaking tap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear London J,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    1,092
    490
    128
    59
See reviews for
305
840
145
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I use this hotel very regularly and have stayed on several occasions since the last review. As an IHG Platinum card holder you can usually expect a room upgrade - but here the only way you can ensure this is by emailing reception beforehand.
I think the hotel does as good a job as they can - the check in service is very good and the front of house manager now recognises me, but only because I have picked them up on a few things on previous stays.
I got my room upgrade - but here comes the critique:
The exec floor is the 3rd and they do tend to put me in a room near the elevator bank rather than down the corridors on the opposite side - so when you check in and don't want a long walk, ask for a room near the elevator.
The room itself is no different between a standard and an executive - it is only what you get inside as complimentary - 2 bottles of spring water, a mars bar or kitkat, robe and slippers and if the housekeeping staff put them out - slightly different toiletries and if you are lucky a facecloth - which I didn't get this time! You may even get a stock drinks fridge.
The size of room and furniture is effectively the same - so for those of you paying for the upgrade to exec - question the actual cost of water, choc bar and robe!
I have to say I wasn't as impressed with the room this time - probably because I have been spoiled by staying in better rooms in the competition down the road of late (Thistle Euston). Little things like the wires from the TV falling out from behind and the en-suite perhaps looking a bit more tired. Aircon worked well and everything was clean. The staff were also helpful and polite.
But again the same issue I find in IHG hotels when staying on the company account - they never seem to open up my room charge account for drinks/meal in the lounge - as the company picks up the bill, I do not hand over a credit card to cover the charge and their system cannot deal with this - so I am embarrassed every time I go to the bar, order drinks etc, then they have to phone down to reception to open up the room charge account - IHG please sort this - everyone of your hotels does this!!!!!!
Breakfast was fine, except they didn't have me on the list this time and I was challenged despite my company booking covering bed and breakfast - again check in system not quite right!
I didn't pass on comments this time upon check out where the front of house manager Anil was present, as the past few times I have done so and didn't wish to appear critical on every stay, especially as he did give me a few extra IHG points last time because of an inconvenience, I didn't want him to think I was only grabbing points.
However, I only really book IHG in the main so I can get the points and out of choice I would stay at the Thistle down the road for similar rates.
Don't wish to appear overly critical, but as a regular guest you tend to get more picky.
Despite this, it is a good hotel on the whole, the staff are nice and polite and you get get good value for a central London hotel. It is well located with a ten minute walk to Oxford Street and Great Portland Street Tube is over the road.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam M, GMs Office. at Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Mark R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As a regular guest, your feedback is so important to us. I noticed that you have shared feedback before, both on Trip Advisor and to Anil and so thanks for that and we would never feel that any of our guests were being critical - if things aren't right then we need to know. We are currently in the process of refurbishing our Hotel which will include a floor of new executive rooms due for completion at the end of February and so we hope that when you will be impressed with the changes. We will definitely have our maintenance team take a look at the wiring of the TV in the bedroom, as this should not be the case, so thank you for bringing it to our attention. I hope to welcome you back again soon and please feel free to discuss any concerns you have with me or any member of our team.
Thank you & Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My daughter and I stayed for 2 nights on a sightseeing break pre Christmas. The deal I got on booking.com was amazing considering the location (£160 total, room only). The room was comfortable and had everything we required. and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat or drink there, so can't comment on that side of things. We were able to leave our luggage on the last day, as we weren't leaving London until late afternoon. The only thing I could find fault with was the bath plug, which was a poor fit and the water just drained away, unless you put pressure on it with your toes!! The sink was slow to drain as well. Forgot to report this at the time (room 546). Overall, this is a nice hotel and met all of our needs. Would be nice to have free wifi, as many hotels offer this nowadays, but with 3G we never really missed it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaileyBoo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam M, GMs Office. at Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear BaileyBoo73

Thank you for taking the time to review out hotel, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for bringing the bathroom issues to our attention, we will certainly have this looked at by our maintenance team. We hope to welcome you back into our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel literally 2 days before our trip. It was very last minute and unexpected.
The hotel for two nights cost us 160 which for its location we couldn't give up the chance.
On our arrival we spotted the rate 300 for weekends and 350 for weekdays meaning our hotel should have cost us 650 quid. We would have never have paid for that.
On arrival we were told our room wasn't ready, so we stored our luggage with the hotel reception and went on our way. The hotel says it's 25m away from the tube. That's not quite true. Definitely further.
The breakfast is 15 if booked in advance, or 19 if you pay on the day. That's an absolute joke for breakfast. We went to the tube station since right outside their is a little Turkish café and it did the most fabulous breakfast which cost less than £15 for the both of us! We went there both mornings.

In regards to the room, on first inspection there's no complaints. It was clean. Had a good view. Big bed. Big tv. Tea and coffee making facilities. A mini bar (however was overpriced so we just stored our water in there that we bought from tesco).
Once I was in bed, I could feel that there was a dip in the middle. My partner couldn't feel it but I'm extremely sensitive to things like this. This caused me to not sleep on the first night. On the second night I did sleep however when I woke up I had the worst back pain imaginable due to the poor bed and had to go buy painkillers to get me through my last day in London.

In short - I would stay here again, and if I had any problems with the bed I would definitely go and ask for a different room.
It's a fabulous hotel in a fabulous location. You just need to be smart about where to buy things from!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam M, GMs Office. at Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear RebeccaSkye,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed our central location. Our hotel prices are based on our location, and our breakfast is often spoken highly of, we offer award winning sausages, and a fabulous pancake machine which we are sure you would have enjoyed, We are sorry that you didn't have such a great sleep and would certainly encourage you to please bring this to our attention next time, we want all our guests to have a pleasant, comfortable and enjoyable stay. We are so glad that you would return in the future and hope to welcome you back.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel was part of a theatre break package. The location was good for using the underground to the West End, just a 5 minute stroll to the station. Rooms were in good condition, nothing worn or frayed etc but were fairly compact. Breakfast was very good, with a selection covering all forms of breakfast from the health conscious to the full english etc.
The price we paid as part of the theatre break was reasonable and significantly below the 'advertised price' shown at reception.
There is an NCP directly underneath the hotel, which is very handy, but what would be even better is some kind of parking concession as a hotel user?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxB844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed in the Holiday Inn Regent's Park for one night in December. The standard rate for our room is £305/night and this review is written with this price in mind.

First, I'll pass on the petty but usual issues: no free Wi-Fi and the £15 breakfast (and that's only if one pre-books).

Next, while the room in itself was fine (short of the mini-bar being locked, which was weird), the bathroom had some real issues. First, it was really cramped: fine for one person but impossible for two. Second, the toilet brush was missing. Third, the toilet seat was cracked. Someone had tried to fix it with glue, but was unsuccessful. The net result was that every time one of us sat up, the crack would pinch our buttocks' skin. Ouch!

We checked in late, so we did not report the issue until checkout time. At this time we were offered a free breakfast as compensation, which was nice and unexpected, but at this time we really to go.

The location is quite convenient so I might stay again, but certainly not at the official price...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostInHongKong2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam M, GMs Office at Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear LostInHongKong2

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you didn't have the best experience with us, it is so important to us that each one of our guests have both a welcoming and comfortable stay. Thank you for bringing the bathroom issues to our attention, this will certainly be looked into, we are dissapointed that you experienced this, and sincerely apologise. We are happy you enjoyed the location, and are glad that you may return due to this, we hope you do indeed return, and will make sure you leave feeling happy.
Kind Regards,
Miriam, GMs Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night prior to a meeting and had an excellent stay. My room was exceptionally clean, staff were very helpful, breakfast the next morning was very good. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1966girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam M, GMs Office at Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear 1966girlm

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, and what a lovely review. We are so pleased you had such an excellent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Happy New Year :)

Miriam, GMs Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
#633 of 1,069 in London
1,143 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#520 of 1,069 in London
942 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Melia White House
Melia White House
#294 of 1,069 in London
6,828 reviews
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#515 of 1,069 in London
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park

Property: Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Address: Carburton Street, London W1W 5EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#266 Luxury Hotel in London
#301 Family Hotel in London
#311 Romantic Hotel in London
#344 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London Regent's Park hotel is ideally located near main attractions including Madame Tussauds and London Zoo, a short stroll to Lord's Cricket Ground, and the green open spaces of Regent's Park. We are also one of the most convenient central London Hotel's to Wembley Stadium via National Rail. The Holiday Inn is also very close to the famous shopping districts of Oxford Street and Regent Street. The hotel is easily accessible if travelling from Paddington, Euston or the Eurostar at Kings Cross St Pancras International Station. Leave your car in our NCP managed car park beneath the hotel as we are located just a 1 minute walk from the closest tube station which is Great Portland Street on the Circle, Metropolitan and Hammersmith & City Tube Lines. Also in very close proximity are the Victoria, Northern, Jubilee and Bakerloo Tube Lines. This makes exploring London's top attractions easy and convenient. Should you wish to enjoy comfort dining without leaving the hotel, our Junction Restaurant is a modern and contemporary eatery with both the individual traveller and families in mind. The Holiday Inn Regent's Park Junction Restaurant offers a wide range of menus, including an A la Carte and Table d’hote option as well as a pre theatre menu, and serves a variety of traditional and more international dishes. You will find a mouth-watering meal for every taste. The bar at London Regent's Park hotel has an extensive wine list and a full range of local, international beers and spirits which provides our guests with a great choice. Light meals and snacks are also served all day in the bar until 10.30 pm, and the bar is always open until late for guests staying in the hotel. All of the hotel's 332 rooms, made up of 264 Standard bedrooms and 68 Executive bedrooms which are allocated to our dedicated Executive floor, are double-glazed to help you enjoy a great night’s sleep. You will never be short of entertainment with our new state of the art TV system which has been installed throughout the hotel. The user-friendly interactive system gives access to the latest films before they are available on DVD/Blu-Ray and home Pay-TV. You can also enjoy 31 free-to air channels, 13 Radio stations as well as cartoons, favourite TV series, sit-coms and sports programs. For your central London accommodation whether it's for a short break, a long weekend or if you are in London for business, the Holiday Inn Regent's Park is a perfect place to stay. Our hotel is near the Eurostar International Terminal at Kings Cross St Pancras station - a major UK railway station located in Central London. St Pancras station has many facilities including shops, places to eat and drink and a daily farmers’ market. Hop on the Eurostar and enjoy a smooth comfortable journey to Paris, Brussels and Lille. It’s just an easy walk from the Regent's Park Hotel to London’s Theatres, including the London Palladium and Dominion, the shopping mecca of Oxford Street and Regent Street, and London's top attractions such as London Zoo, Madame Tussauds, London Eye, Buckingham Palace, the British War Museum and Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Regent`s Park Hotel London
Holiday Inn London Park
Regent London
London Regent
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing