We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South
Ranked #520 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I was on a first floor room with a very busy road outside with very noisy traffic running 24 hours per day that the double glazing did little to mute. Also, the banner sign for the property was affixed straight outside my room (141) so that, as the wind blew through the night, it rattled constantly and kept me awake - badly thought out that one.

Otherwise it was sort of OK in a Holiday Inn Express sort of way. It would be very nice to have an iron and ironing board in the room but that problem is not unique to this branch or, indeed, this chain.

Strange that they have pillars down the middle of the corridors.....

Room Tip: Avoid front facing rooms on the first floor - particularly ones with the banner sign affixed outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 320ag1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear 320ag1978,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly work very hard to ensure our guests receive the very best service we can provide each and every day. Please accept our apologies that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer and comments from our guests are always welcome.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

I am writing this on behalf of family members.
Stayed in The Holiday Inn Express for birthday celebrations.
Had to call them a couple of times with special requests. Nothing at all was too much trouble.
They decided to drive. No problems parking at all. Hotel is in a very nice area adjacent to Colliers Wood Tube station on the Northern line ending at Morden. Very easy. Would take about 30 mins or so to get to the West End but on this occassion [weekend in November] there were a lot of closures on that part of the line so had to put special buses on.
On arrival, they arrived earlier than annticipated but checked in, and the staff were lovely, and there was a lovely room all ready for them to settle into.
The room was of reasonable size and the hotel has been recently major refurbished. Lovely furniahing, soft furnishing ect and everything was in good condition. Great for what you would say is a budget chain hotel.
It had a double bed and a double sofa bed which had also been fully made up. Everthing was spotless and clean. Lovely 32'' TV, very modern. The bathroom was lovely with a very nice shower. Hotel is situated on a main road and there is a bit of noise, but we are after all in London.
The beds were comfortable and clean. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room and also a hairdryer, soap ect.
Breakfast was included in the rate and was absolutely fine. Plenty of drinks ect.
Booked this hotel on Hotwire and got a really great rate. Got two nights for less than what one night would cost in the West End.
Thank you for such a lovely stay.
They said they would definately go there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you so much for excellent feedback. We were all so pleased with your review and to hear that you found the team at the hotel to be friendly,helpful and the product modern.
Your comments have been forwarded to team as this is something they can be proud of.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Seyda Akbas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

and was very pleasantly surprised, part of a large 'chain' so to speak, so thought would be anonymous, practical and just 'do' the job...but on the contrary, staff were lovely, friendly and proffesional, even though we arrived at midnight...the full array of what was available for our 'included' help yourself style of breakfast was lovely, with fresh fruit 'not tired' as one might have expected...staff working tables quetly and efficiently, checking out was a pleasure, receptionist used my name, on the whole a lovely experience and will be back...when I have occasion to be in the area, anyone for tennis?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suewasthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Wimbledon South.
Your kind words and feedback with regards to the team have all been passed on as it is something we all can be proud of. We were also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our free breakfast.
Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Seyda Akbas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Really good value hotel. Clean and well designed rooms with comfortable beds and good work area. Breakfast is included but quite poor. No bacon and the sausage are the cheapest available. Unfortunately the hotel lacks good sound insulation so take ear plugs or you can expect a poor nights sleep. Staff are welcoming and happy to help.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank MelvilleIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for leaving us a feedback. Please allow me to apologize you were not satisfied with the room accommodation you received and you may experienced with the noise affected your stay negatively. All our windows are triple glazed. With regards to breakfast Holiday Inn Express brand standard for breakfast is sausage not bacon. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and certainly be looked in to. I was so pleased to read your comments with regards to staff and the service.
Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Kind regards
Seyda Akbas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Modern hotel in excellent location just across the road from Colliers Wood tube station. Clean but quite impersonal. Large bar and restaurant area is not inviting as is the very limited menu. However the free breakfast was hot and plentiful with a good choice. My room was quite small but had a comfortable double bed with a choice of pillows and again was very clean and comfortable. Located on the second floor initially I was a little concerned as my room overlooked the next door pub but this was totally unfounded, however as the hotel is on a busy main road there is a fair amount of traffic noise but not excessive. An added advantage is the attached car park, I didn't have my car so not sure if there is an additional charge.Situated approximately 20 minutes by tube to centre of London it is ideal for London on a budget.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BinthereCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Let's get this part out of the way first: This is not a luxury hotel; it is a well-run, clean, and cheerful budget property. It is on a busy road so traffic noises and the occasional siren will be heard. We are urban types so it didn't bother us, but some might find it a problem.

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights on business. The location was terrific. A tube station (Northern Line) was directly across the road, and next to it was a convenience store complete with a post office annex, A pub with terrific food was right next door to the hotel, and a very good Italian restaurant was about a block away. The Tooting Broadway tube station and all its shops, etc., were only about three bus stops down the road. In the other direction, about the same distance, is a giant Sainsbury's and a Marks & Spencer. Several bus lines, including a night bus, stopped a half block from the hotel. We had a lot of business in the center of town and a night out at the South Bank Centre and found the hotel convenient for both.

The room was basic, but very clean. We had one of the renovated rooms, and the remodeling truly showed in the bathroom. Generous size and a very good shower. In the main room, though, there was no closet or wardrobe, just a short rail. Plus, the hotel only provided 6 hangars, which makes it difficult if two people are staying. (I always pack a couple of extra hangars just in case a hotel is a bit stingy this way.) However, the actual rail was so short that our clothes didn't fit. If we had been just on holiday, no problem. But we were in London on business and needed to keep our clothes tidier than usual.

The hotel provides breakfast with the room. Although the breakfast area gets extremely busy when there are large parties of young athletes (it is in the Wimbledon area), we found that it was a usable benefit at the hotel. Eggs were okay, but the sausages didn't look great. On the other hand, there was a good selection of breakfast breads, cereals, yoghurt, and fresh fruit. The coffee machine presented a challenge for the staff to keep it going during the busiest times, but they certainly gave it their best shot. Possibly another machine might help?

And I cannot praise the staff enough. Front desk, breakfast staff, room cleaners -- they all went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We will definitely stay there again when we are in London.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms. And if you need quiet, ask for a room on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Room was nice and clean with all necessities available. Modern bedroom and bathroom amenities. We reached late night and special thanks to Ching, front desk person, for a warm welcome. Recommend for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Fatima U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South

Address: 200 High Street Colliers Wood | Colliers Wood, South Wimbledon, London SW19 2BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#360 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £53 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your journey to London is for business or pleasure, Express by Holiday Inn London Wimbledon South is the ideal base.A modern hotel conversion with 83 air-conditioned, non smoking, stylish, modern bedrooms all with TV, tea/coffee making facilities, power shower. Situated opposite Colliers Wood underground station on the Northern Line, journeys to Waterloo are only 20 minutes away and to Leicester Square 30 minutes. For guests travelling from Heathrow or Gatwick by car, the A3 link to the M25 makes the journey from the Airport 40 minutes. The hotel has a secured underground car park, the charge per night is 7.00Our hotel bar is open seven days a week. We offer takeaway services from the local restaurants and you can dine within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South Hotel London
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing