We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a couple of nights to shower and sleep”
Review of Mina House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mina House Hotel
Ranked #397 of 930 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights in September 2012 (Friday and Saturday). We had a tiny room, but it was ok for a base, which was all we needed it for, just somewhere to shower and sleep. There was barely enough room to walk around the double bed. It said when we booked online that the room was newly refurbished, but I don’t think this was the case. The furniture (i.e. wardrobe and bedside tables) could have been fairly new, but the carpet definitely wasn’t. It had what looked like bleach marks all over the floor. The curtains had to be kept pulled permanently as our room was overlooked from only a couple of meters away by another window where we saw a family having dinner on one occasion! This meant that we had to keep the lights on so that the room wasn’t in darkness. Having the curtains closed didn’t ruin our view though as all we could see (through the very dirty glass) was other windows and the buildings next door! Despite this the room really was ok for what we wanted, the bed was comfy and there was a new flat screen TV on the wall so we could have the music channels on while getting ready. The bathroom was possibly refurbished as the tiles looked fairly new and everything was clean. Towels were provided both days and our bed was made while we were out on the Saturday. Reception was open 24 hours so it didn't matter what time you got home in the evening there was always someone to let you in. Expensive (£170 for two nights), but sufficient. We were able to leave our bags in reception on the Sunday once we had checked out before collecting them at the end of the day before catching out train home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dingbat1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

When we first arrived at the Mina House Hotel we were a bit disappointed. The Staircase that led up to the reception, and the reception itself, didn't really look that good. But as soon as we saw the hallway were the actual hotel rooms are located, we felt a relief. The Rooms are Newly refurbished with a good bathroom and a flatscreen TV. I would definitely go here again. You really get value for your money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 944ThomasD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Just renovated, the tiny room and the relatively tiny price were a good choice for someone wanting to lay their heads after a long day touring London. A great plus is the vicinity to Paddington train station (and from there to Heathrow). The rooms were poorly equipped. Be warned there is no elevator.

Room Tip: Lower levels, as there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvir-ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Myself and my wife stayed here for two nights in July.We wanted somewhere cheap and near to transport.
This hotel was very well situated for buses,trains and tubes.
There are loads of shops nearby as well as a few pubs and places to eat.
As another review mentioned-the hotel is undergoing renovation work and the reception and stairs area were being seen to when we stayed.Our double room was quite small but all we needed was a bed,somewhere for our clothes and a shower room.The room was very tastefully decorated and modern and served our needs very well.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.All in all-a very reasonable place to stay near central London.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brent k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

When we arrived first, I was very disappointed - reception areas was in bad not of updating, but soon became aware that they were updating the hotla and we stayed in a very modern, clean and adequate room. Would use again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIMI1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This was a 3 night stay and for the price, we couldn't have gotten better. The hotel was under renovations at the time we stayed (no interruption to our sleep) but we did stay in a new room which was well appointed. The only issues we could find was that it was on the small side, but it was in London, and the shower/bathroom didn't have anywhere to put your cosmetics/soap etc. On the upside, the location was wonderful. Half way between Paddington station and Notting Gate (??) tube. Restaurants of all kinds are within a quick walk. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a great value for money room which they won't be spending much time in - it is London after all!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Elysee Hotel
#607 of 1,077 in London
655 reviews
Royal Eagle Hotel
#827 of 1,077 in London
1,124 reviews
Caring Hotel
#546 of 1,077 in London
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfotel Prpl
#635 of 1,077 in London
112 reviews
Rhodes Hotel
#348 of 1,077 in London
1,461 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mina House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mina House Hotel

Address: 21-23 Craven Road | Paddington, London W2 3BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 930 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £52 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mina House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mina House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing