We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good & bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mina House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mina House Hotel
Ranked #336 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    61
    48
    28
    53
See reviews for
30
78
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at the Mina House for three nights in early May 2013. The property is only a few blocks from Paddington Station and, if you take the Heathrow Express, is about an hour from your touchdown at the airport.
In my experience, all 2-3 star hotel rooms in Europe are small and our room here was as expected. The nice thing is that it was exceptionally clean thanks to daily maid service.
The hotel is being converted from two building of flats so there was still construction going on in the other building.
Pluses: Convenient to train and tube stations. Clean and in a decent neighborhood.
Minus: I would warn off any elderly that may have trouble with stairs. The staircase is narrow, winding and has a firedoor on the way up. Tough going if you have luggage.

Room Tip: Try to get a lower floor due to the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotell for 4 nights, and was very happy with the standard. Clean and nice room. And they cleaned every day. The staff was very nice, and helpful. Very close to both Paddington tube and landcaster gate tube.

Helpful?
Thank Birgitte M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel because we had tickets fore the(Ideal Homes Ex)we are very fussy ladies and had read most of the reviews on lots of Hotels , But this one ticked all the boxes fore access to London, Quality & price fore a twin room with modern shower &Toilet .towels of a good quality white)( No Hair dryer )there is tea & coffee making filsillities in the room ,We had the third floor which can be a struggle fore less active people because( no lifts), its a short walk from the Paddington tube & the main Station , There is a good bus access on this road & plenty of restaurants , we loved one of them , Italian just up the road called( El Rosa )good home made food , They have a special Menu which included a drink ( wine or larger)great value the staff so friendly it was very enjoyable ,we also went out fore Breakfast there is a small Cafe called Santro great food which seems very popular. We did use our ouster card on the tube & buses , buses seemed much cheaper but take longer to get around , we did booked on line & will defiantly use this Hotel again

Room Tip: when booking check which floor you need , remember no lifts in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

This is a very nice clean hotel with nice staff. At every opportunity the staff was there to help. Room was clean and nice. Hotel in general is a good place if you are staying a few days.

Like all hotels book your taxi personally and you will save some money as hotels around Paddington seem to take a cut.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afootandahalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
152 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel is very simple, but confortable and well located. No elevators, it was very dificult to carry heavy luggage all the way up. Internet signal only at the reception or very week signal in corridors. The tv in the room didnt worked, we also dint had blowdriers in the toilet.
But is very clean, very close to beautiful Kesington park and Paddington station, you can go anywhere by bus and metro. Close to hotel many options of restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights in September 2012 (Friday and Saturday). We had a tiny room, but it was ok for a base, which was all we needed it for, just somewhere to shower and sleep. There was barely enough room to walk around the double bed. It said when we booked online that the room was newly refurbished, but I don’t think this was the case. The furniture (i.e. wardrobe and bedside tables) could have been fairly new, but the carpet definitely wasn’t. It had what looked like bleach marks all over the floor. The curtains had to be kept pulled permanently as our room was overlooked from only a couple of meters away by another window where we saw a family having dinner on one occasion! This meant that we had to keep the lights on so that the room wasn’t in darkness. Having the curtains closed didn’t ruin our view though as all we could see (through the very dirty glass) was other windows and the buildings next door! Despite this the room really was ok for what we wanted, the bed was comfy and there was a new flat screen TV on the wall so we could have the music channels on while getting ready. The bathroom was possibly refurbished as the tiles looked fairly new and everything was clean. Towels were provided both days and our bed was made while we were out on the Saturday. Reception was open 24 hours so it didn't matter what time you got home in the evening there was always someone to let you in. Expensive (£170 for two nights), but sufficient. We were able to leave our bags in reception on the Sunday once we had checked out before collecting them at the end of the day before catching out train home.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dingbat1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#543 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Royal Eagle Hotel
#860 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Abbey Court Hotel
#763 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brunel Hotel
#750 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#203 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mina House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mina House Hotel

Property: Mina House Hotel
Address: 21-23 Craven Road | Paddington, London W2 3BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mina House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mina House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing