We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feeling hot hot hot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge London Battersea
Ranked #688 of 1,069 Hotels in London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“feeling hot hot hot”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

yes there are nicely renovated rooms, but how was the omission of air con possible? with no air con unbearably hot, hard to sleep. largely indifferent staff, charging for every extra they could. paid for Wi-Fi which was wholly inadequate. location was convenient for us but wouldn't stay in summer again, and wouldn't pay £12 for Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    213
    134
    77
    73
See reviews for
211
187
37
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I booked this Travelodge as it was a convenient place to stay whilst my daughter was dancing at RAD. It was easy to get to from Clapham junction station (no. 170) and had a fantastic little Italian restaurant next door. However, it must be the hottest place on earth...no air conditioning and the rooms and corridors were unbearable. The windows opened only slightly but we were offered fans. We took 3 but they used up the only 3 sockets in the room leaving nothing for kettle or TV . Going again in two weeks and really dreading it. If you want to stay here, go in December.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Gill551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here whilst attend the Calling Festival on Clapham Common, it was a fair walk to the common but was within walking distance. Clap ham junction was about a 10 min walk away. The hotel room was clean and spacious. No noise disruption from outside. My only problem was that u had to keep going down to pay for parking every day the machine wouldn't issue tickets for more than 24 hours. There is a lovely little pub down the side street directly opposite the main entrance which I would recommend, lovely, friend people and reasonably prices for London

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank propernortherners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Hotel is located in very good location just 10 minutes from Clapham junction Station and 2 mins for bus 44 to Victoria. From outside the hotel seemed to be an old building but once we entered the hotel it was spotless clean and tidy. we was offered cold water as its was 29 degree in London. I Stayed in Room 106 as the room was Excellent but the temperature was too high and unbearable even with a fan. we complained the reception staff and I found him really helpful to provide out the best possible help he could, we was moved to the first floor away from roadside to 116. We was given three fans with some ice cubes by Ali which was really appreciated as the temperature was normal enough to have good night sleep. upon checkout we was running out late to the train and we request the short reception lady if she could book a cab for us and she happily did and in next 5 mins the cab picked us from the lobby which was lovely
Enjoyed the stay but will suggest Travelodge to put air cons. However, it was a great value for money

Room Tip: Extra fans and ice cubes available on request
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maigre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Nice hotel for the money. Good location out of the main city. Bus stops right out the hotel and its a direct route to Victoria station.
5 mins walk away is a new development with nice bars and places to eat and a small tesco. At the local corner shop you can top up your Oyster card.
The hotel is on a main road, but our room faced the back (although still in the block closest to the road) and the noise wasn't bad even with the windows open.
Yes the hotel was hot, but it's summer in London and it was in the middle of a heat wave. When we arrived a fan was already going in our room and the curtains had been drawn and the windows open, which made it cooler. If you can't stand the heat don't go in summer or pay more and stay in a hotel with air con.
The staff were nice and friendly and helpful.
The room was big, even for a family room with a kingside and two singles, there was still plenty of room to move.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel as it was the closest to where we needed to be, taking into account the cost as well. It was a really hot day in London they had some tremendous thunderstorms before we got there, but it hadn't cooled it down, consequently the room was like a sauna even though the fan was full on. They need to invest in air condtioning we didn't sleep, not good when you have to be fresh for a full days training the next day. There water bill must have gone up, the amount of showers we had to have was incredible, 3 times & that was just the Friday night. On a positive the room was clean & quiet & the shower was good, easy to use. We had bought the porridge for breakfast that they offer & we were both impressed. The staff were brilliant very welcoming & so helpful to all our request's of which there were a few. Would we stay there again yes we would.

Room Tip: You get 30 minutes free wifi, we paid for 24 hours it was only £3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Su B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you fancy wanting to know what it feels like to sleep in a sauna, then this is the place to stay! The room was hot, stuffy, with no air, and it was hot (sorry did I repeat that). It did have some good features - the bed was very comfy and heard no noise from other rooms, but maybe that was drowned out by road noise, as we had to have the windows open for some air....

Also there is no breakfast room, they do offer breakfast, but it's a packed lunch type effort!

It's quite well located in London, with Clapham Junction station closeby - around a 15 minute walk, and a bus stop a few yards outside hotel that takes you there (no. 295 or C3). Probably a good place to stay in the winter.

Room Tip: Back of hotel to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Clapham Junction Hotel
Clapham / Battersea 
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Travelodge London Fulham
Travelodge London Fulham
#516 of 1,069 in London
445 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#557 of 1,069 in London
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Battersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Battersea

Property: Travelodge London Battersea
Address: Southampton House 200 York Road, London SW11 3SA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Battersea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motor hotel with modern amenities; guest parking; situated one mile from the Chelsea Football Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Battersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Battersea Hotel London
Travel Lodge London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing