We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service for disabled guest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. James's Hotel and Club
Ranked #81 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed for one night with our daughter who is wheelchair bound. The disabled room was easy to use and the shower was excellent. The service and attention were outstanding. The hotel had a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed here in January for 4 nights for our honeymoon. First of all, the location is perfect. It is close to everything and we walked everywhere.

Second, the service is beyond words. Everyone knew who we were, addressed us accordingly and were incredibly helpful. The bellmen were amazing and we chatted with them every day for tips.

Our last night my husband saw a supermodel leaving the restaurant so it must be great as well.

Within location of all the great cigar and tailored mens shops.

Just amazing experience and we will always try to stay there upon our return.

Room Tip: Rooms are smaller than we expected but we had a lovely balcony and huge bathroom which totally made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Genevieve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

What a great little boutique hotele in the heart of London. Great service, friendly staff, stunning rooms. They have a barista in the restaurant at breakfast. The coffee was stunning and made for a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dekangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Wonderful, wonderful staff! I firmly believe that the sign of a truly good establishment is that the staff have enough manners to be charming, rather than aloof and snooty, and here is the perfect example of this. The staff were delightful; impeccable manners combined with a genuine welcome. The situation is perfect, nestled down a side street, but close to everything you need. Decor is lovely, classic and tasteful. Our room was on the smaller side, but not unusually so for London.

The only thing less than perfect about it was the breakfast: At £16 for a continental, I would hope for more variety; the choice of cheese was limited to cheddar or brie, the bread selection was bordering on dull. When I return, I think I'll just go to one of the many wonderful eateries in the area... but I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjskathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

Calm, very British, attentive service. Very good both for business and leisure. Less suitable for family with kids. Well equipped rooms, great bed and shower, excellent breakfast. 3' walk to Piccadilly.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dartzeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed at the St James Hotel in November 2012 to celebrate our daughter turning 21. The check-in process was seamless and the reception staff professional. Our Junior Suite was perfect, although a little dark - partly due to the gloomy weather. The birthday dinner was organised using the services of a staff member, Silvia, who appeared in reception on our arrival and arranged to meet me in the function room to discuss final arrangements. We had booked a sit down dinner in the Mayfair Suite, which was a perfect size for the 40 of us. Together with Silvia, I was introduced to the function staff handling our dinner. They were courteous and polite, and encouraged me to check the set up of the room and make changes if necessary. Of course, everything was perfect. We were delighted to learn from the Functions Manager that the hotel were to let us use The Library for our pre-dinner drinks. This room, although small, was perfect. The food served at dinner was excellent (we had so many compliments about the meal, some from very fussy people) and the waiting staff were efficient and very professional. All in all it was perfect! Thank you St James Hotel. Afterwards, we had booked a table at Mahiki for the younger generation - this turned into a non-event as Mahiki informed the group that they had no booking and were very rude....but that is another review!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This is one of London's finest places to stay, one that is further added to by having a Michelin starred restaurant as well. The staff are charming and helpful in every way. Highly recommended.

Ok, so there were still small errors such as the bath lever for bath or shower head pointing the wrong way round and the security chain on the door being put on back to front and hence being totally useless. They did tell me that in the four years since their last renovation no-one who had stayed in my room had commented on these matters (which surprised me).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncw73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,075 in London
1,182 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#132 of 1,075 in London
1,471 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,075 in London
4,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,075 in London
1,442 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#125 of 1,075 in London
4,041 reviews
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#57 of 1,075 in London
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Hotel and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Hotel and Club

Address: 7-8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in London
#77 Luxury Hotel in London
#83 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £284 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. James's Hotel and Club 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James’s Hotel and Club is a five star townhouse hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in St James’s, near Mayfair and Piccadilly. It is ideally located within central London and it is the perfect base for shopping, culture as well as business meetings or events. A multi-million pound restoration has created a harmony between contemporary chic and Victorian elegance. With fabulous Penthouse suites and some of the best guest room terraces in London, the hotel boasts stylish, sleek, contemporary yet elegant interiors finished with handmade silk wallpaper, black lacquered furniture, handcrafted Murano glass chandeliers and polished natural stone in the bathroom. A magnificent art collection also features throughout the hotel.The Michelin-starred restaurant Seven Park Place is headed up by award-winning Executive Chef William Drabble and offers a modern-French cuisine made up of primarily British ingredients. William oversees also private dining, room service and the hotel’s more informal yet stylish dining space, William’s Bar & Bistro. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. James's Hotel and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jamess Hotel
St James Club London
Hotel St Jamess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing