We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel in the center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. James's Hotel and Club
Ranked #89 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hotel in the center”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Its a beautifull hotel, with great service, and excellent restaurant, located in the center, behind the Ritz.
it's indeed not common to find such a nice place in the center of london, combining service with top food :)
A must!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inesperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    165
    55
    8
    6
See reviews for
110
362
52
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This is a really wonderful small boutique hotel with excellent service, attention and good location. I was there on holiday with my boyfriend and had the best stay ever in london. The staff are so willing to accommodate our requests, attentive, and so helpful. I also like the fact that this is a very cosy and quiet boutique hotel and it's in a very good location with easy access to Green Park tube station. We stayed in a terrace suite and it's indeed a very spacious and beautiful suite with a small outdoor terrace where we can have a smoke. The service here is really good and I truly would like to return again. I had the most wonderful time in London.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eilinglim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Service, service, service. We were made to feel welcome with warmth and sincerity from the staff the moment we arrived. It was truly a lovely welcome that I have not experienced in over 20 years of regular travelling. Opening the door to our suite, the Westminster Suite, elicited oohs and aahs from my Husband and me. When the staff helping with luggage were out of earshot we discussed if they had given us the right room or not because honestly.....we are not rich, we are not famous yet here we were being treated like treasured guests in a magnificent suite that included a beautifully decorated living room, bedroom and huge outdoor deck area with gorgeous lounge seating and a view over the rooftops of London toward Big Ben. If you can afford it then I highly recommend this very unique and special Suite giving you an oh so chic apartment with outdoor space in the city. The room was immaculate and luxuriously appointed with absolutely everything you could need and plenty of things we did not know we needed! For anything else such as a palace tour or hiring a luxury car the Concierge team was a button away and everything was arranged without hassle leaving us time to relax. Concierge were unflappable, incredibly helpful with all the contacts and extremely friendly. The hotel itself is a visual treat to devour. From the stunning deep maroon victorian facade to the art and unique pieces inside framed by wall after classy wall of rich colours, it is a beautiful thing to be surrounded by St James' and I cannot thank them enough for making our honeymoon just that extra bit special for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WallisJg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed for one night with our daughter who is wheelchair bound. The disabled room was easy to use and the shower was excellent. The service and attention were outstanding. The hotel had a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed here in January for 4 nights for our honeymoon. First of all, the location is perfect. It is close to everything and we walked everywhere.

Second, the service is beyond words. Everyone knew who we were, addressed us accordingly and were incredibly helpful. The bellmen were amazing and we chatted with them every day for tips.

Our last night my husband saw a supermodel leaving the restaurant so it must be great as well.

Within location of all the great cigar and tailored mens shops.

Just amazing experience and we will always try to stay there upon our return.

Room Tip: Rooms are smaller than we expected but we had a lovely balcony and huge bathroom which totally made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Genevieve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

What a great little boutique hotele in the heart of London. Great service, friendly staff, stunning rooms. They have a barista in the restaurant at breakfast. The coffee was stunning and made for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dekangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Wonderful, wonderful staff! I firmly believe that the sign of a truly good establishment is that the staff have enough manners to be charming, rather than aloof and snooty, and here is the perfect example of this. The staff were delightful; impeccable manners combined with a genuine welcome. The situation is perfect, nestled down a side street, but close to everything you need. Decor is lovely, classic and tasteful. Our room was on the smaller side, but not unusually so for London.

The only thing less than perfect about it was the breakfast: At £16 for a continental, I would hope for more variety; the choice of cheese was limited to cheddar or brie, the bread selection was bordering on dull. When I return, I think I'll just go to one of the many wonderful eateries in the area... but I will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjskathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#133 of 1,067 in London
1,421 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#27 of 1,067 in London
1,133 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#113 of 1,067 in London
3,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,067 in London
3,921 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,067 in London
1,391 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,067 in London
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Hotel and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Hotel and Club

Property: St. James's Hotel and Club
Address: 7-8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in London
#82 Luxury Hotel in London
#83 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. James's Hotel and Club 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James’s Hotel and Club is a five star townhouse hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in St James’s, near Mayfair and Piccadilly. It is ideally located within central London and it is the perfect base for shopping, culture as well as business meetings or events. A multi-million pound restoration has created a harmony between contemporary chic and Victorian elegance. With fabulous Penthouse suites and some of the best guest room terraces in London, the hotel boasts stylish, sleek, contemporary yet elegant interiors finished with handmade silk wallpaper, black lacquered furniture, handcrafted Murano glass chandeliers and polished natural stone in the bathroom. A magnificent art collection also features throughout the hotel.The Michelin-starred restaurant Seven Park Place is headed up by award-winning Executive Chef William Drabble and offers a modern-French cuisine made up of primarily British ingredients. William oversees also private dining, room service and the hotel’s more informal yet stylish dining space, William’s Bar & Bistro. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St. James's Hotel and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jamess Hotel
St James Club London
Hotel St Jamess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing