We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, in the middle of everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James's Hotel and Club
Ranked #84 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bend Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great hotel, in the middle of everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

In London on business and have now stayed at the St. James three times in the past two months. I stay here due to an affiliation with my club in the states, as such, there is about a 10% discount. First off, the staff is exceptional, from the doormen, to check in, to restaurant, all smiles and will do whatever possible to make your stay comfortable. Beds are exceptional and rooms rather large by European standards. Make no mistake, it's a great hotel. As always, I will now nit pick. Am currently in room 107, it's insanely loud, the restaurant is just above me (hence I hear ever time a chair is slid across the floor), in addition the housekeeping office is very near me, so it's a bit like grand central station. Avoid this room. My last few stays have been much better. Also, I expected some level of amenity, be it an upgrade, a bowl of fruit etc... For the loyalty I have shown. Was discouraged there was nothing. Again, great hotel with access to everything and a Michelin starred restaurant in house. Recommend you avoid room 107, and if you are a frequent guest, make sure they know at reservations... Sure my issues were just that their systems were unaware of my frequent visits. Will stay again, but be a bit more discerning on my room choice.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Donjo_ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    162
    55
    8
    5
See reviews for
108
357
52
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maui, HI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

My wife and I loved this little gem of a hotel. Down a quiet street in the heart of Westminster. Close to all major art dealers, Buckingham Palace, Mayfair, National Gallery and many parks. Friendly and helpful staff. Awesome breakfast with an amazing wait staff. Well appointed room with a comfy bed, linens and nice bathrooms with high quality soaps, lotions etc. Overall great value compared to other similar hotels nearby.

Room Tip: The rooms with terraces might be nice when it's warmer, but we loved our simple room without the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bennettcale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

From the moment you enter, until you say goodbye, you will love this hotel.
The service is excellent, the rooms very nice.
Location is in the centre. Walking distance to Regent street.
We had dinner at the restaurant and this is also very good.
It does not come much better than this.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dutch-inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

I have stayed at this hotel dozens of time and look forward to every time. Location is great, the staff is amazingly friendly and helpful every time, rooms, while on the smaller side, are tastefully decorated and lack nothing, breakfast has great choice. Definitely one of the best hotels in London; I have tried many in the neighborhood only to return with pleasure every time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Its a beautifull hotel, with great service, and excellent restaurant, located in the center, behind the Ritz.
it's indeed not common to find such a nice place in the center of london, combining service with top food :)
A must!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inesperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

This is a really wonderful small boutique hotel with excellent service, attention and good location. I was there on holiday with my boyfriend and had the best stay ever in london. The staff are so willing to accommodate our requests, attentive, and so helpful. I also like the fact that this is a very cosy and quiet boutique hotel and it's in a very good location with easy access to Green Park tube station. We stayed in a terrace suite and it's indeed a very spacious and beautiful suite with a small outdoor terrace where we can have a smoke. The service here is really good and I truly would like to return again. I had the most wonderful time in London.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eilinglim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Service, service, service. We were made to feel welcome with warmth and sincerity from the staff the moment we arrived. It was truly a lovely welcome that I have not experienced in over 20 years of regular travelling. Opening the door to our suite, the Westminster Suite, elicited oohs and aahs from my Husband and me. When the staff helping with luggage were out of earshot we discussed if they had given us the right room or not because honestly.....we are not rich, we are not famous yet here we were being treated like treasured guests in a magnificent suite that included a beautifully decorated living room, bedroom and huge outdoor deck area with gorgeous lounge seating and a view over the rooftops of London toward Big Ben. If you can afford it then I highly recommend this very unique and special Suite giving you an oh so chic apartment with outdoor space in the city. The room was immaculate and luxuriously appointed with absolutely everything you could need and plenty of things we did not know we needed! For anything else such as a palace tour or hiring a luxury car the Concierge team was a button away and everything was arranged without hassle leaving us time to relax. Concierge were unflappable, incredibly helpful with all the contacts and extremely friendly. The hotel itself is a visual treat to devour. From the stunning deep maroon victorian facade to the art and unique pieces inside framed by wall after classy wall of rich colours, it is a beautiful thing to be surrounded by St James' and I cannot thank them enough for making our honeymoon just that extra bit special for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WallisJg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#23 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#127 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#109 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,834 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#25 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,372 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Hotel and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Hotel and Club

Property: St. James's Hotel and Club
Address: 7 - 8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in London
#77 Luxury Hotel in London
#83 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. James's Hotel and Club 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James’s Hotel and Club is a five star townhouse hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in St James’s, near Mayfair and Piccadilly. It is ideally located within central London and it is the perfect base for shopping, culture as well as business meetings or events. A multi-million pound restoration has created a harmony between contemporary chic and Victorian elegance. With fabulous Penthouse suites and some of the best guest room terraces in London, the hotel boasts stylish, sleek, contemporary yet elegant interiors finished with handmade silk wallpaper, black lacquered furniture, handcrafted Murano glass chandeliers and polished natural stone in the bathroom. A magnificent art collection also features throughout the hotel.The Michelin-starred restaurant Seven Park Place is headed up by award-winning Executive Chef William Drabble and offers a modern-French cuisine made up of primarily British ingredients. William oversees also private dining, room service and the hotel’s more informal yet stylish dining space, William’s Bar & Bistro. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James's Hotel and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jamess Hotel
St James Club London
Hotel St Jamess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing