We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St. James's Hotel and Club
Ranked #86 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Location is fantastic, in the city centre but a very quiet street(no traffic).
Rooms are in impeccable condition and nicely decorated. Quality of the bed is really good. Service is great.
A top hotel at a top location.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank svalkenborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed over at St James for three days and were absolutely delighted with the superb service. The staff were well trained and exceptionally friendly.The restaurant is out of this world and well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arnoldr516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted with a friendly warm smile and the porter couldn't do enough for us. We arrived too early for check in so our bags were courteously taken from us and stored until later. We did a wine tasting within the Hotel with The London Wine Society which was a fabulous day and the lunch supplied by the Hotel was delicious to say the least. Our room was very comfortable, the bed was beautiful with all mod cons. The shower wasn't that impressive to be honest, poor pressure but everything was fabulous. A quiet night's sleep woken at 5am by a screaming baby for 2 hours, not what I expected in a hotel of this standard. When returning to the bar at 1am the lady behind the bar was very friendly but very very slow, she was on her own.

We arrived to breakfast at 10.15 and it was chaos, disorganised, we waited 10 minutes to get a table. We ordered our breakfast then we waited and waited and waited. An apology was made that chef was running late and then our £22 breakfast arrived dried up and hard boiled poached eggs, clearly it had been sitting under the lights for some time. For a hotel of this standard the breakfast was a big let down and marred our stay. But we mentioned it on checkout and we weren't charged for it. The rest of the staff were wonderful but I think the price of this hotel is rather a lot for what you get. Our room was facing a basement wall and for £275.00 per night I would have expected a little more.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FlowerFashionista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had booked into the Four Seasons ( feeling guilty) but checked out straight away after seeing the dull ,corporate like room !
I called St James at 3.30 pm ( Sat evening ) and all they had was a superior room but as a regular would be pleased to give me an upgrade to a suite .( for the cost of a superior !)
On arrival we were greeted like long lost friends ( gulit levels increased ) and we were given the Westminster suite with its huge outside terrace ,just perfect on a warm summers evening. The room ,was of course, up to its usual high standard , just so warm ,comfortable and lovely stylish decor.
Service is exemplary,nothing is too much trouble.The bar at night is a delight and breakfast a real pleasure.
I will never stay anywhere else in London !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldtraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We Chose the St James Club because we wanted to eat in Langans and see a Show. The Location superb, Valet parking a bit pricey but in this part of town expected.

The rooms small with no view but all functionable, clean and well equipped.

Staff very helpfull and would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitoriatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in an executive room. Booked online directly with hotel and the assistant manager met us on arrival. I had mentioned that I was having a short London break to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we received a special desert delivered to our room on arrival at no cost. The room was spacious and comfortable. Some of the photographs do not do the rooms justice. The bathroom had a whirlpool effect bath and the shower had a sunflower head with pressurised water. Towels were soft and replaced morning and evening. The room had a walk in wardrobe and ample sockets for charging phones etc. Air con was perfect although the wifi signal was weak. Comfortable king size bed, lots of pillows and a real feel of quality from all fixtures and fittings. Staff were excellent, particularly the door staff who offered umbrellas on the one day in rained. The breakfast is expensive if you do not have it included in your room rate although the scrambled egg on smoked salmon is to die for. I have stayed in some very good hotels across the world and apart from the room being slightly smaller than most executive rooms, I would rate it with the best of them. Would I go back - definately.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Muchorod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Beds and linens fabulous, styling of room and bathroom excellent. I know it's in a prime location in London but our deluxe room, it was very 'compact' - fine for one night but potentially claustrophobic for more, no tea/coffee or iron in the room. All staff were just superb and give really personal service. Nice touches of water and running routes via the park side entrance and black facecloth for make-up were great!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giant56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#142 of 1,077 in London
1,483 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#26 of 1,077 in London
1,198 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,077 in London
4,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#124 of 1,077 in London
1,856 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,077 in London
3,337 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,077 in London
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Hotel and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Hotel and Club

Address: 7-8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in London
#80 Luxury Hotel in London
#83 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £274 - £432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. James's Hotel and Club 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James’s Hotel and Club is a five star townhouse hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in St James’s, near Mayfair and Piccadilly. It is ideally located within central London and it is the perfect base for shopping, culture as well as business meetings or events. A multi-million pound restoration has created a harmony between contemporary chic and Victorian elegance. With fabulous Penthouse suites and some of the best guest room terraces in London, the hotel boasts stylish, sleek, contemporary yet elegant interiors finished with handmade silk wallpaper, black lacquered furniture, handcrafted Murano glass chandeliers and polished natural stone in the bathroom. A magnificent art collection also features throughout the hotel.The Michelin-starred restaurant Seven Park Place is headed up by award-winning Executive Chef William Drabble and offers a modern-French cuisine made up of primarily British ingredients. William oversees also private dining, room service and the hotel’s more informal yet stylish dining space, William’s Bar & Bistro. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your St. James's Hotel and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jamess Hotel
St James Club London
Hotel St Jamess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing