We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. James's Hotel and Club
Ranked #87 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cosy hotel in great location”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed at St. James's Hotel and Club for three nights in August 2013 and it was a very pleasant experience. The room (superior) was small but very cosy and with a fantastic bed. The location of the hotel couldn't be better. It's very central and a great starting point for exploring London. At the same time it is in a quite side street so there's not much traffic.

The service was really good - very professional but warm. Breakfast was OK but not amazing. We also had afternoon tea at the hotel, which was good although rather plain.

We had a great stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    165
    55
    8
    6
See reviews for
111
362
52
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in really great location, ideal for anywhere in central London. Staff were fantastic especially the doorman. Lovely rooms with very comfortable beds. Only gripe was breakfast, crowded restaurant and very poor value food.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank eversinhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed here for three nights in November 2013. This is a fantastic boutique hotel nestled in a quiet side street (Park Place) near St. James Palace, the Ritz Hotel, Pall Mall, etc. It's about a three or four block walk to Green Park tube station, so it is very conveniently located. The bellmen kindly permitted me to borrow a hotel umbrella on two days (which I never needed much).

Room: This was like staying in a fine home away from home. My room was extremely comfortable and quiet (even though I was on the main level). My en suite bath had both tub and shower and very nice amenities.

Food: I had three meals at the hotel, which were all very nice, and the staff were very professional and accommodating (and friendly!). The breakfast buffet has an excellent selection. I found drinks after dinner to be very pleasant, too.

Value: This is not cheap (after all, you are staying in a very posh section of London), but I found the experience to be a great value in light of the service, facilities, and comfort provided.

I was working in the City. I frequently stay in a serviced apartment in the City, because it is closer to Lloyd's and my clients, but I decided to stay elsewhere this time (in part to scope out a nice place to bring my wife when she joins me next time). I found this location to be excellent for movement about London. I was here solo on a business trip this time, but I will definitely be back with my wife next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHM_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
23336
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

This is my favorite London Hotel and has been since the 1970's. we have both had quite a lot of change ( for the better) over the years. I'm certain anyone who stays here will decide this is their favorite as well. The neighborhood is lovely. Boutique, discreet and so plummily clubby!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequenttravails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
167 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Great service from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Made to feel as if we were their only guest even though they were full. Fabulous staff throughout. Super comfy beds. Well furnished comfortable rooms. Bear in mind the location is just off Piccadilly so very convenient for lunch at Fortnums. Excellent English spoken by all staff. Valet parking a great asset. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cliffandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed at the St. James in October for a few nights. Our first room was very small and although it had a large balcony it was next to a very large air con unit and the noise filtered in to the room. We were given a room on the 6th floor and it was much better, still small but far quieter than the first room we were allocated. The staff at St. James's are polite and professional. The rooms are beautifully furnished and the beds are very comfortable, small details and amenities are all there but the rooms are really only suitable for short stay guests, as they are so small. We had a business class room and it didn't really have an area to 'lounge about in' bed, desk, chair and small table, wardrobe space was tiny and apart from the bedside drawers no place else to store our clothes. The bathroom is lovely, again small but with an excellent powerful shower. We had dinner in the bistro and the food was good. Generally, the hotel is comfortable, intimate, easily accessible, quiet for London but VERY expensive, I feel better value could be found in other 5 star hotels, but having said that I probably will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor. If you like space, its probably not the place for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Recently checked my parents into the St James for a weekend break. We all adored it, it has made a lasting impression, and we can't wait to go back! The staff are the best I've ever encountered in a hotel, my parents were extremely well looked after, and made them feel special. Although in central London, it was situated in a quiet street, therefore it was a peaceful haven from the hustle and bustle. The hotel has stylish, luxurious decor, you feel relaxed and comfortable. We had all of London to explore, but felt reluctant to leave this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#132 of 1,067 in London
1,423 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,067 in London
1,134 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#114 of 1,067 in London
3,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,067 in London
3,926 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,067 in London
1,393 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,067 in London
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Hotel and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Hotel and Club

Property: St. James's Hotel and Club
Address: 7-8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in London
#82 Luxury Hotel in London
#83 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. James's Hotel and Club 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James’s Hotel and Club is a five star townhouse hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in St James’s, near Mayfair and Piccadilly. It is ideally located within central London and it is the perfect base for shopping, culture as well as business meetings or events. A multi-million pound restoration has created a harmony between contemporary chic and Victorian elegance. With fabulous Penthouse suites and some of the best guest room terraces in London, the hotel boasts stylish, sleek, contemporary yet elegant interiors finished with handmade silk wallpaper, black lacquered furniture, handcrafted Murano glass chandeliers and polished natural stone in the bathroom. A magnificent art collection also features throughout the hotel.The Michelin-starred restaurant Seven Park Place is headed up by award-winning Executive Chef William Drabble and offers a modern-French cuisine made up of primarily British ingredients. William oversees also private dining, room service and the hotel’s more informal yet stylish dining space, William’s Bar & Bistro. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St. James's Hotel and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jamess Hotel
St James Club London
Hotel St Jamess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing