We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your home from home in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St. James's Hotel and Club
Ranked #83 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed for one night only mid week for my wife's birthday. I had stayed there previously about 14 years ago! Since then it has undergone a lovely renovation. The location is perfect just off the busy main drag in a quiet cul-de-sac.

Steeped in history, the building itself is beautiful and very elegant. Front of house friendly and helpful. The room was spotlessly clean and well appointed with excellent bed and pillows that ensure a great nights sleep.

We stayed on the 3rd floor and had a little balcony, nice touch.

Breakfast was enjoyable (coffee was excellent - well done that Barista!). A little cramped at the small round tables though.

In all, an understated place to stay without compromising on comfort and style and away from the big faceless chains or the over priced too cool for school hotels.

Thanks again for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: 3rd floor had nice balcony. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

It's an impressive hotel with very friendly, welcoming and hospitable staff. The staff makes a great difference to this already beautiful hotel in the heart of London. They treat you like royalty, they are very attentive, they are always cheerful and ready to help. Special mention goes to Victor at the reception who's very helpful, Julian who served us some wonderful cocktails - his Rose Swan was sublime, the Italian guy at the reception was charming and very helpful and the staff from the bar particularly their F&B manager made you feel welcome and special. The management should be very proud of their staff who goes the extra mile and works very hard to deliver an excellent customer experience. Thank you for a very wonderful time at St. James's!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Went out with my friends and decided to have some drinks in this hotel.

First of all the location is great as it is close to many nice places in London. Second, the hotel looks really great on the inside and is of a high standard.

We stayed on the lounge area and the drinks were really lovely, especially the cocktails of the month. We were given olives and very delicious popcorn (yum!). Best part of the night was being looked after their great staff that have been very friendly and accommodating.

I look forward to going there again, next time with my husband.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weedskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

With wonderful and recently renovated premises, what we enjoyed more was the service and the attention to the details, like the turndown service or the old style sweet popcorn given with the wine we ordered for room service. I have to thank Mr Hennessy for his help with the booking and the magnificent room allocated (a suite with terrace and view over the street) and to Alice for her warm welcome. I would definitively come back and try that time their Michelin star restaurant.

Room Tip: Suites are really worth to go for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmY3183BK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

St James proved to be every bit as inviting and comfortable as promised. What impressed us was the service, every member of staff was charming, super helpful and efficient. The hotel is beautifully decorated, chic and evocative of its history. Our room was lovely, the bed large and especially comfortable (pillows could have been fuller though). The location is good and surprisingly quiet for sleeping! The rates were as reasonable as you will find in a boutique hotel in London.
We ate at the michelin starred restaurant and wow!! superb.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed for one night on the 15th of February 2012 in a king bedded deluxe room.

We were received courteously at the door and our car was unloaded and parked very efficiently. We had opted for valet parking.

We were warned by the staff at the door that the London traffic wardens were being their usual tourist offending selves and had just booked a previous guest who had left their car for 2 minutes whilst unloading - so be warned!

Even though we had arrived early our room was ready and we were taken to it. Our case arrived very quickly afterwards. The room was decorated elegantly and the bed was very comfortable. The only slight niggle was the additional TV speaker in the bathroom was faulty and couldn't be turned down - wasn't a problem to us but we were a little concerned that it may have been loud for the neighbours.

In common with most London 4 or 5 star hotels there wasn't any tea or coffee making facilities and a solitary bottle of complimentary water was provided. I wish I understood why luxury hotels don't seem willing to provide these facilities.

We had a couple of cocktails in the bar which were very good and grabbed a late night snack upon our return from the theatre, all were excellent and again the staff were polite and engaging.

Now onto the reasons for my not giving the hotel 5*.

Firstly, outside our room was the air conditioning and heating ducts which rumbled loudly all night and delayed us falling asleep - I did ring reception about this and was told it would go off about midnight - it didn't!

Secondly, breakfast, this is served until 11.00 on a Sunday and we arrived at just before 10. The room was very busy and there were no tables available. We were politely asked to sit at the bar until a table became available. The dining area / bar is an unusual shape and is basically two rooms connected by a narrow walkway which is where the bar is and so we were sitting in this area where staff and other customers were constantly moving through.

15 to 20 minutes later we were eventually taken to our table. We were not offered a drink while we waited and because there was nothing in the room we were quite thirsty. We were given our menu and asked what drinks we wanted - another 10-15 minutes passed and the tea and coffee arrived. We had helped ourselves to juice in the meantime. That was the last time we were offered an hot drink - no refills were mentioned.

The fayre on offer was satisfactory - not exciting but included salmon, ham various cheeses, croissants and a single danish that I grabbed, however, the restocking of items was painfully slow - bread ran out and I never actually saw it restocked, the cheese and ham ran out and my wife had to wait what seemed a long time for it to be refreshed. No butter was on offer and the various conserves also ran out. I know we may seem to be pedantic but this is a 5 star hotel and I have had better breakfasts at much lower graded and inexpensive establishments. The staff seemed to be working very hard, and there seemed to be enough of them it just seemed that organisation was lacking - a pity.

Our room rate included continental breakfast which is what I described here, on the table next to us they had opted for a cooked english breakfast which looked nice - perhaps a little breakfast envy here!

Would I stay again - if I could guarantee a room away from the exterior air conditioning and have a cooked breakfast - perhaps.

Room Tip: High floor away from air conditioning units
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrewhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My partner and me booked a night at this lovely hotel as a treat. Everything from the beginning until the end was spot on, completely 5stars worthy. Service was impeccable in every department and the room was an oasis of luxury and relaxation. The ultimate treat and we left very much relaxed. Thank you St.James!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SarahW1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#139 of 1,077 in London
1,484 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#26 of 1,077 in London
1,199 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,077 in London
4,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#123 of 1,077 in London
1,858 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,077 in London
3,340 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,077 in London
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Hotel and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Hotel and Club

Address: 7-8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in London
#78 Luxury Hotel in London
#83 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £276 - £433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. James's Hotel and Club 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James’s Hotel and Club is a five star townhouse hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in St James’s, near Mayfair and Piccadilly. It is ideally located within central London and it is the perfect base for shopping, culture as well as business meetings or events. A multi-million pound restoration has created a harmony between contemporary chic and Victorian elegance. With fabulous Penthouse suites and some of the best guest room terraces in London, the hotel boasts stylish, sleek, contemporary yet elegant interiors finished with handmade silk wallpaper, black lacquered furniture, handcrafted Murano glass chandeliers and polished natural stone in the bathroom. A magnificent art collection also features throughout the hotel.The Michelin-starred restaurant Seven Park Place is headed up by award-winning Executive Chef William Drabble and offers a modern-French cuisine made up of primarily British ingredients. William oversees also private dining, room service and the hotel’s more informal yet stylish dining space, William’s Bar & Bistro. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. James's Hotel and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jamess Hotel
St James Club London
Hotel St Jamess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing