We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. James's Hotel and Club
Ranked #85 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My favorite hotel in London Town! Lovely staff fantastic service and the most delicious chocolate chip cookies in the world!!! Rooms are elegant and stylishly furnished. Breakfast is divine. Will continue to be my home away from home when visiting London.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    164
    55
    8
    5
See reviews for
108
360
53
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I was only here for a night but it was a great stay. The bed is amazing!! Even though the room is so small they used the space very well and the bathrooms are renovated with great features.
Since it was a bank holiday I had early breakfast at the hotel restaurant, I wouldn't recommend it if you are in a hurry it took close to 30mins for the coffee.
The location is perfect very close to Bond st and attractions.
I would go back there again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOSAMANTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for a quiet weekend away which we booked through our Avios points.
We had booked a deluxe room, but I'm wondering if we were put in a classic as I can't see how a less expensive room could have been much smaller. However, it was tastefully decorated with an incredibly comfortable bed and a fantastic view out to a pretty courtyard. But there was very little space to walk around the bed and perhaps a little too much furniture had been crammed into such a tiny space. An armchair and a writing desk with a chair made manoeuvring difficult! The bathroom was also very compact. The shower was powerful, but the screen didn't extend far enough and the water flew all over the granite floor. We were delighted to find Penhaligon toiletries - what a lovely treat.
We enjoyed several drinks in the bar later in the evening. The bar staff were efficient and very friendly as were all staff we encountered in the hotel.
The breakfast in the morning was superb. Once again, efficient and attentive staff made for a very pleasant experience and the food was well cooked and tasty.
The most surprising factor for us was that the hotel had added a service charge to our bill.This is not something we have ever experienced in any other hotel before. We always tip for good service and had already included one on the bar bill we'd signed for. But to levy a service charge for our room seemed quite unnecessary. We thought this was included as part of your room tariff? Clearly not.
This would deter us from staying in the future. Such a shame as there was so much about St James' which was exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nursemate73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I am a tea lover and my husband has been trying to treat me to high tea for many years. Being allergic to gluten certainly makes that goal more of a challenge. We haven't had much luck where we live (USA-New England). In early May 2014 my husband and I visited London. I was pleased to see there were a couple of options for gf tea ( London overall is a very easy place to travel with gluten issues)We made reservations for our last day of our trip (5/5/14) a few days in advance (they ask that you call in advance so they have time to prepare the gf tea but also say that calling by noon for that same day is enough notice). We were greeted by the door man and shown in to the lounge. Our server showed us to a delightful table in the corner with a nice window seat and after inquiring about water and settling in our tea service began. We were both starving as we skipped lunch to be sure we could fully enjoy the experience (our tea was at 3pm). I honestly can't say enough about the whole experience. The service was wonderful and the food was outstanding. My husband who is not gf had the gf tea as well (for solidarity he said :) ) and he was surprised at how delicious it was as well. I ordered the Assam tea and my husband ordered the Earl Grey. Both were high quality teas and came in big pots. By the end of the tea they did begin to cool off but we did take our time so that's understandable. The sandwiches were delicious : egg, ham, cucumber and smoked salmon. They were all wonderful. I expected the ham to be my least favorite as I like ham but don't love it. It turns out the ham was my favorite but all the sandwiches were excellent really. The bread was soft and fresh. We had two types of scones: plain and bitter raisin (I think that's what they called it). They were absolutely phenomenal. Before my diagnosis scones were a favorite of mine. I was so pleased to find such good gf scones. They were served with clotted cream and various jams. Even my husband who is not a scone lover (even if it has gluten) finished both of his. The desserts were plentiful and outstanding. Bit by the time we got to the dessert I was quite full. I managed to taste them all and my husband (who might I add is not normally a gf dessert lover) finished mine and all of his. There were cakes and cupcakes a delicious macaroon and a mini banofee and more. I believe we each had six or seven mini desserts. I was completely satisfied and very full. Overall I can't say enough about the tea. The service was very good the food was phenomenal and the tea delicious. I am glad I got to finally experience this English tradition despite my food allergy. Well done St James!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A really lovely hotel in a brilliant location. We stayed in a deluxe room. It was large compared to some I have stayed in in London. It also had the best bed I have ever slept in in a hotel! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newbs82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel for a business trip to London. Everything was excellent and the service was flawless. Great room looking into a lovely London Mews and the location is great close to Green park tube so very easy to get around town

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights; entertained 13 people for lunch; ate in the bistro in the evening and entertained another 2 friends on the second day for lunch. It was a really pleasurable experience at every level. The food is superb and the website gives a true portrayal of what one can expect. Do trust the sommelier Marco. We love wine and have some knowledge - but he was able to suggest some perfect matches for the food which we and all our guests loved. Paolina too contributed to a really relaxed and enjoyable meal with her unobtrusive management of a group of people who were served in a timely and friendly manner. In terms of accommodation we had two quiet and really good night's sleep in a Junior suite. All staff were helpful, accommodating and I would use a term they used, and used accurately - they hosted us. Being in a cul de sac, yet so near to lovely shopping arcades, Buckingham Palace etc. makes this a really special part of London to be in. I cannot speak highly enough of St. James's Hotel and Club.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarB524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#26 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#126 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#113 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,870 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#27 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Hotel and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Hotel and Club

Property: St. James's Hotel and Club
Address: 7-8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in London
#78 Luxury Hotel in London
#83 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. James's Hotel and Club 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James’s Hotel and Club is a five star townhouse hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in St James’s, near Mayfair and Piccadilly. It is ideally located within central London and it is the perfect base for shopping, culture as well as business meetings or events. A multi-million pound restoration has created a harmony between contemporary chic and Victorian elegance. With fabulous Penthouse suites and some of the best guest room terraces in London, the hotel boasts stylish, sleek, contemporary yet elegant interiors finished with handmade silk wallpaper, black lacquered furniture, handcrafted Murano glass chandeliers and polished natural stone in the bathroom. A magnificent art collection also features throughout the hotel.The Michelin-starred restaurant Seven Park Place is headed up by award-winning Executive Chef William Drabble and offers a modern-French cuisine made up of primarily British ingredients. William oversees also private dining, room service and the hotel’s more informal yet stylish dining space, William’s Bar & Bistro. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St. James's Hotel and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jamess Hotel
St James Club London
Hotel St Jamess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing