We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. James's Hotel and Club
Ranked #83 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 5 November 2009

I travel to London very regularly and have only recently discovered this gem. The hotel is finished to an exceptional standard and the staff is very friendly. The hotel is situated very centrally, however, in a peaceful cul-de-sec. The beds are absolutely amazing. Not only was I impressed with the bedrooms but the restaurant was great also. I would definitely recommend the lamb. The best lamb I have ever had. I stayed here on business and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoahTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    164
    55
    8
    5
See reviews for
108
360
52
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

I took my girlfriend here to celebrate our engagement on a Saturday. Arrived earlier than than the 15:00 check in but were shown to our room as it was ready. The 2 girls behind the reception were very friendly. My first impression of the building was that it had been refurbed to a superb standard. Quite stunning. We arrived at our room which was an executive room on the 4th floor. Overall I thought the room was fabulous. Probably one of the best rooms I have stayed in and the bed was just amazing. We chose to have a few cocktails in the bar before we went out for dinner. Unfortunately the service was not great, they did'nt even have a drinks menu and the bar manager was quite rude to us. We chose to have breakfast in Pattiserie Valerie (just around the corner) the following morning as I thought £44 for breakfast for 2 was over the top. Overall loved the hotel and would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RR-AM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We were booked into St James for the evening of our 20th wedding anniversary. My husband had selected the hotel because it was boutique and modern. When we arrived at 6.30pm, we were told that there was a maintenance problem and we couldn't stay there. Instead, we were taken to a hotel around the corner,run by another group and told we had a room upgrade. The hotel was poorly decorated, musty smelling, had sheets and blankets, was focused on the American market and you couldn't swing a cat in the room. The St James hotel could have warned us about this before we arrived and didn't. The General Manager did not take any responsiblity for this situation afterwards when we complained and we regretted having chosen the hotel in the first pllace. It spoilt our 20th wedding anniversary evening.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Marie-Louise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Stayed one night, couldn't fault the service or the room. Really comfortable bed and pillows, staff couldn't do enough for us. No iron in the room, we had to ask but one appeared in a couple of minutes.
Lovely silk wallpaper, furnished really nicely, comfortable sofa, super clean in all areas.
Would recommend this hotel, just one gripe, drinks are crazy prices, although I guess what we expected, it still felt somewhat extortionate.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flighthouse point
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

What a wonderful find... Fantastic boutique style hotel! Plus a great location. The staff greats you with smiles and are eager to assist.

The rooms are nicely appointed. We had a lovely room with a balony. The bathrooms are very nice and large.

The hotel staff was extremely helpful. When we mentioned we were going to Dukes for a drink, we were shown the back entrance to get there more easily… the doorman actually walked us to the entranceway of Dukes!

The next morning we mentioned we were going to Picadilly street and were shown the walkway through the building across the street.

We look forward to returning to the St. James for another stay!
You can be assured of an excellent stay at this wonderful holel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Certainly one of the most stylish hotels in London, if on the small side, and an outstanding location. Beautiful, spacious bathrooms, finest linens in bed and bath, very comfortable beds. The superior and deluxe rooms are a bit small, so for a longer stay the executive is more comfortable. Gorgeous restaurant with beautifully served breakfasts. The continental breakfast has a nice variety of cereals, fruit, pastries, yogurt, etc. Staff is pretty good, if a bit erratic. A very charming jewelbox a stone's throw from the Ritz, easy walk to Buckingham Palace and West End, and Green Park tube station is just a couple blocks away. Avenue and Fakhreldine restaurants nearby are very good and Le Caprice is around the corner.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Autralia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

This hotel has a great personal touch that you rarely get. Its kept its character and service standards from its days as an exclusive business club. the staff are polite and very professional.
The rooms were spotless and had the most comfortable beds i've slept in for a hotel. full of very nice finishing touches like a strong rain shower, quality l'occitane toiletries, plush his and hers slippers.
its was well located, convenient walking distance to most of the west end attractions and the tube. Free wireless internet was also very useful.
The bistro downstairs was excellent and well priced for London, highly recommended.
It represents excellent value for the quality of hotel. Essentially the Ritz at half the price.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ryu1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#127 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#109 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,879 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#25 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Hotel and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Hotel and Club

Property: St. James's Hotel and Club
Address: 7-8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in London
#77 Luxury Hotel in London
#83 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. James's Hotel and Club 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James’s Hotel and Club is a five star townhouse hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in St James’s, near Mayfair and Piccadilly. It is ideally located within central London and it is the perfect base for shopping, culture as well as business meetings or events. A multi-million pound restoration has created a harmony between contemporary chic and Victorian elegance. With fabulous Penthouse suites and some of the best guest room terraces in London, the hotel boasts stylish, sleek, contemporary yet elegant interiors finished with handmade silk wallpaper, black lacquered furniture, handcrafted Murano glass chandeliers and polished natural stone in the bathroom. A magnificent art collection also features throughout the hotel.The Michelin-starred restaurant Seven Park Place is headed up by award-winning Executive Chef William Drabble and offers a modern-French cuisine made up of primarily British ingredients. William oversees also private dining, room service and the hotel’s more informal yet stylish dining space, William’s Bar & Bistro. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St. James's Hotel and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jamess Hotel
St James Club London
Hotel St Jamess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing