We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're back, but a suite this time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
Ranked #215 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We were here last year (April 2011) and thought we'd drop by again for a couple of nights. I booked this stay at short notice on a '2012' special offer which was a really good deal for the Livingstone Suite and a glass of very decent Champagne on arrival. Weekends in this central part of London are quiet, even the nearby shops are closed, but it doesn't take too much effort to get to the bright lights. We came back late Saturday afternoon and after a day's shopping to find the room had not been made up. We found out that rooms can be made up any time up until 6pm so if you're planning an evening at the theatre but are heading out for the day it might be worth mentioning to reception as you leave. Breakfast is still a triumph!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hubhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Threadneedles, Assistant General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you so much for returning to Threadneedles. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and our 2012 package. We do service all guest rooms daily, starting with our departure rooms and then we clean all our in house guests’ rooms. Normally on the weekend all rooms would be cleaned by 5pm. However, as you mention, if you are staying over for a couple of nights and have a specific time you would like you room to be cleaned, we would always be happy to accommodate your requests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

Front of house staff couldn't do enough to make our short stay a memorable one. Rooms beautifully appointed with some great little extras. The bed was just amazing and not a noise from the streets outside! The perfect location for business or exploring Shoreditch, Brick Lane etc.I would highly recommend this hotel and would most definitely book again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Threadneedles, Assistant General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us!
We are delighted to read that you found the hotel rooms beautiful and that you were satisfied with the Front Office staff. Threadneedles is in the perfect place to explore The City and, as you mentioned, close to all the tube lines. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Got a great weekend deal as this hotel is near the Hyde Park, 2 minutes to tube which is handy. The rooms are very clean. Staffs are polite and decent. It was the best stay at the price paid.

It's a lovely hotel, Service great;

Stayed Feb 2012, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Threadneedles, Assistant General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for staying in our hotel and for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel and that you were satisfied with the service. The City is a great place to stay as it offers you peace and quiet. Hyde Park is actually not close to Threadneedles; however we are only a short tube and cab ride away from the West end and so it is easy to get there. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed on a Saturday night deal with my daughter and enjoyed the ambience of the hotel. The staff were all charming, the lounge with stained glass cupola is wonderful and our executive room struck the right balance between style and comfort. However, the sound insulation in our room (214) was very poor and we were woken at 3am by prolonged noise from the room above, which was embarrassing to say the least!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoolit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Threadneedles, Assistant General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for staying at Threadneedles and for your review. We are delighted that you were impressed by the lounge and the room.
However we would like to sincerely apologise for the noise disruption caused so early in the morning. Please do contact me on your next visit so that I can personally oversee your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Best stay at the hotel in London bar none. Impeccable service. It’s great value for weekends as rate are lower.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Implenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Threadneedles, Assistant General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for staying in our hotel and for your review. We do have some great offers during the weekends and transport to the West end is very easy and quick. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Got a great weekend deal as this hotel is near the Bank of England and is dead at the weekends. 2 mins to tube which is handy as everything around is closed at the weekend when the city boys and girls get a well earned rest and a chance to spend loadsamoney in the country.

It's a lovely hotel, boutiquey feel and nice touches. Service great, but didn't eat there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterMartin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Threadneedles, Assistant General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you so much for staying and for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your weekend break at Threadneedles and that you were satisfied with the service. The area is often quiet on weekends, but One New Change Shopping Centre near St. Paul’s is now open on weekends and they also offer a variety of restaurants. Additionally, as you mention, we are only a short tube ride away from the West End. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I booked this hotel direct through the Threadneedles website, as it was a good deal for the weekend and included a Studio Suite room. I had high expectations for the room, given it was a studio room, and having looked at the photos on the website of the studio they were advertising, it looked very nice and spacious.

Arriving at the hotel, the service was impeccable. The public areas of the hotel are beautiful, and the staff are friendly and attentive. The room however, was a little disappointing.

Although the room was lovely and was very clean, there were just a few things that I felt let it down, and made it not quite 5 star luxury it was billed as.

I actually had to ask if we had been put in a studio room, as I thought it was a little smaller than expected. There was far too much furniture in the room, and you had to be careful not to bump into the table or the chair when walking through the room. The furniture itself was on the verge of needing replaced, being quite chipped and worn, where people had obviously walked into it! The room lamps didn't match at either side of the bed, and the pictures on the wall next to the bed were hung so low that the huge bedside lamp completely obstructed them. It just looked a bit thrown together and lacking in attention to detail.

Although the bedding seemed to be changed everyday, on 2 of the days the duvet cover had rips in it, which just looked shabby. The blanket covering the bed also had a stain on it, but as I never used it I couldn't be bothered asking for a new one.

The room temperature was also a problem. It was not warm! Although we had the air con turned up full heat and the blower turned down, the room remained cool the whole time we were there. I asked reception if it could be adjusted, they looked into it and said they had 'fixed' it, but they obviously hadn't, as there was no change in the room temp.

Breakfast was very nice, and the cooked breakfast was very good. No buffet, just 2 choices if you book the deal on the website - a cooked breakfast with toast OR pastries, or a continental, which came with both toast AND pastries. I thought this was a rather odd way to do things, making the guest having the cooked breakfast choose whether they wanted toast or pastries. In all the hotels I've stayed in, toast is standard! Just seemed a bit mean to me! But that was a small niggle, overall, the food was lovely and a nice dining experience.

We were meant to have a glass of champagne on arrival, but this was missed by the staff checking us in. When we were checking out, we were asked if we had enjoyed our champagne, to which we replied we didn't get our champagne. The staff member was very apologetic and the manager has since offered us a bottle of champagne on our next stay though.

While we were there, the communication lines were unfortunately cut by the construction work in the building next to the hotel. We had no phones, TV or internet for 2 days. Although the management did apologise, and it obviously wasn't anything the hotel could fix, it would have been nice to have been offered something to make up for this. A complimentary drink in the bar for example. But nothing was offered. Although it was a small inconvenience for us as we were on holiday and out sightseeing during the day, it would have been very inconvenient for anyone on a business trip, for example.

In summary, the room was very clean, good service and food, and a beautiful hotel. But there were just too many little things that made this hotel feel not quite up to the 5 stars it has. I would say, it was more like a 4 star.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zorrofishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Threadneedles, Assistant General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you very much for choosing Threadneedles and taking time to review your stay. All our guest feedback is very important to us and so thank you for your time. We have been in touch with you separately and we hope that we can welcome you back so we can make amends for all the things which went wrong. We sincerely apologise for the lack of attention to detail you experienced when staying with us. Everything you mention is valid and should not have happened. Please do contact me directly when you would like to return as I would personally like to oversee your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,076 in London
1,991 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#40 of 1,076 in London
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
The Ned
The Ned
#223 of 1,076 in London
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Threadneedles, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Threadneedles, Autograph Collection

Address: 5 Threadneedle Street, London EC2R 8AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#164 Luxury Hotel in London
#169 Business Hotel in London
#177 Romantic Hotel in London
#215 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £167 - £420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Threadneedles, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of grandeur and warm elegance at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, a 5-star boutique hotel in London, England. Enjoy elegant amenities and historic charm in the heart of London at our luxury hotel, which puts you in an ideal location places you minutes from popular landmarks such as St. Paul's Cathedral, The Barbican, Shakespeare's Globe, and the Tower of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Threadneedles, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Threadneedles Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing