We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressive hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
Ranked #224 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very impressive hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left,the service was impeccable.The hotel is stylish with lovely features that mark it as a stand out hotel.The room we stayed in was spacious,well appointed with delightful London themed decor and a wonderfully comfortable bed.
If I had to name something that could be improved it would be the room temperature.Some like it hot, but we would have preferred it to be a bit cooler and were unable to reduce the air con temp.That said,if we were staying in the area again it would be my first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisandelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear ChrisandElizabeth
Thank you for leaving a review on our trip advisor page, our guest's feedback is so important to us.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I can also now advise you that we have replaced some of our air conditioning plant imn order to improve the efficiency of the cooling system. I hope that on your next visit you will find you can achieve the room temperature you want.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    288
    98
    39
    17
See reviews for
75
555
52
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Annes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Travelled with my Husband and stayed at the hotel on 9th November 2013.

I was really looking forward to staying in London and going to see a show with my Husband as a treat. I searched different websites to get the best price and Secret Escapes offered a really good rate that included breakfast. We then booked with them for the first time the night before arrival. Took advantage of the Impulse Weekend Offers.

The hotel was quite close to Bank the underground station - a five minute walk.

When we entered the hotel we were really impressed with the foyer. The Receptionist offered us a drink whilst she checked us in which was a nice touch! Upon checking in the Receptionist took our details and unfortunately couldn't find us on the system. I explained that we booked directly with Secret Escapes as the confirmation from them said to do. Still she couldn't find our reservation. Luckily for us (and her) they had plenty of availability. She upgraded us to an Executive room free of charge due to the error which we were fairly pleased with. Another receptionist did say that this has happened before. So a little tip, if you book with Secret Escapes to take advantage of a much better rate, ring the hotel to check that they have received your booking. This was our first time booking with Secret Escapes.

When we arrived in our room we were quiet pleased. The bed was to die for with puffed up pillows too. The bathroom was marble finished with both a shower and a bath. I opened the wardrobe and it was a relief to see the umbrella as it was raining - have never seen an umbrella in the room before. Maybe it's a sign that it rains a lot in London! I tried the umbrella and unfortunately it was broken. Rang reception and they sent another one upto the room in no time.

The room had a mini bar, plenty of drinks in but only two items of food. The ice bucket that was left with two complimentary bottles of water only had minimal ice in. I think with the room being at the end of the corridor we were the last to get the mini bar stocked along with the ice.

We were asked if we would like a complimentary paper to which we said that would be great. The following day my Husband and I on two separate occasions peered out of our room but no paper. We mentioned this as we went down to breakfast and the receptionist said she would arrange and that it would be there when we returns to the room. It wasn't - was disappointed - especially from a five star hotel. When I complained the receptionist said she was sorry but didn't feel like our stay was that important. Just treated as a paying customer only.

After returning after seeing a show in Leicester Square - The Commitments (which was amazing!) there were complimentary bottles of water and also complimentary slippers. The bed was turned down (duvet folded back) - couldn't wait to dive in it! I had previously used the towels in the bathroom and left them on the floor - they were changed which was nice.

Breakfast was nice but wouldn't have wanted to pay full price - it was included in the room rate. The Grapefruit Juice was amazing!

We checked out and took the Umbrella with us as my Husband asked the receptionist if we could have it. To our surprise she agreed - probably because of the issues that we had experienced.

We both thought the hotel was over priced and we were just another customer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss_Valentino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Miss_Valentino
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you liked so many of the small touches and that you particularly liked the comfortable beds.
I am so sorry that you had to wait so lonfg for your newspaper and also that that umbrella in your room was broken. Please accept my sincere apologies.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed here for business in November 2013. Excellent hotel, friendly staff, huge and luxurious rooms, would highly recommend, you won't be disappointed. A great location to explore London from. The entrance hall in particular is amazing!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aneknamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear aneknamin
Thank you for your review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your srtay with us, I do hope you will be back again very soon.
Best Regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Brilliant hotel situated near to the Bank of England and Bank tube station. The Decor is very nice, particularly the lounge area. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff are very welcoming on arrival.
Generally the area is pretty quiet at the weekend but a little lively on a Friday night. One of Jamie Oliver's restaurants is around the corner... Worth a visit. Short walk to St Paul's as well.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Simon A
Thank you fopr your review, I am so pleased that like many others, you felt able to rate us 5/5.
I do hope you will be back again soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Hotel was really nice, modern, very clean with a great central location. The staff were excellent. Only let down was (as with so many hotels) was the temperature of the room being far too warm and the control knobs supplied seem to make no difference what so ever. The full English breakfast was nice, but was not worth £26 a head!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear R S F
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to be able to tell you that since your stay, we have now replaced some of our air conditioning plant to improve the efficiency of the cooling. I am sure that on your next visit you will be able to achieve the temperature you want in your room.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Discrete and inconspicuous from the outside, luxurious on the inside. This boutique hotel is in the heart of the City of London with a very impressive domed lobby. Close to the Bank of England and London Stock Exchange it is obviously a favourite with many business travellers. This is a very stylish hotel with individually designed rooms. The bed was sumptuous and bathroom was contemporary. The only let down was the view or lack thereof. Breakfast was delicious served in Bond's restaurant. Service was impeccable and it was a delight to spend three nights in this incredibly beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Stephen E
I am delilghted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you fort giving us a 5/5 rating.
I am sorry that we couldn't provide you with a view, unfortunately, like most London hotels, we are surrounded by other buildings on all 4 sides and so the outlook from most of our rooms are of the buildings accross the road. We do however have 4 penthouse rooms on the 5th floor that have views across the rooftops of the various church spires and even St Pauls. Why not try one of these superior rooms when you next stay with us.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

A stones throw from the Bank of England this luxurious hotel is a great place to stay and and the rooms are beautifully designed. Nothing is too much trouble at this hotel and if you can get a discounted rate then it's a real steal! Complimentary water and ice to the room, luggage delivered to your room, a Sunday newspaper, bath robes and the location, a short tube ride from the centre, make this hotel a delight. Would stay again in a heartbeat

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#37 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#318 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Threadneedles, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Threadneedles, Autograph Collection

Property: Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
Address: 5 Threadneedle Street, London EC2R 8AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#169 Business Hotel in London
#170 Luxury Hotel in London
#177 Romantic Hotel in London
#215 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Threadneedles, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of grandeur and warm elegance at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, a 5-star boutique hotel in London, England. Enjoy elegant amenities and historic charm in the heart of London at our luxury hotel, which puts you in an ideal location places you minutes from popular landmarks such as St. Paul's Cathedral, The Barbican, Shakespeare's Globe, and the Tower of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Threadneedles, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Threadneedles Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing