We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
Ranked #223 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Eastern Region
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I booked this hotel as part of an anniversary weekend trip to London partly because i am a Marriott Reward Member and i am so glad i did.
Like several other reviewers we were greeted with a glass of Prosecco on arrival and our room upgraded at no extra cost. The room was at the back of the hotel, so no noise but as the City is quiet over the weekend a room at the front would have been the same. The bathroom was spacious, the bed bigger than a king size and there were the usual tea/coffee making facilities and a fully stocked mini bar.
We had a couple of drinks in the bar and i would say the prices were reasonable for the City.
The hotel is within walking distance of Liverpool Street station and we also walked to the Shard, Borough Market HMS Belfast and other Thames-side attractions.
We arrived back from the West End on Saturday night and were still able to order a snack at the bar.
This was a great find and we will certainly stay again when we next overnight in London.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collec2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear collec2r
I am so pleased you chose our hotel for your anniversary weekend. ( We have become a very popular coice for anniversaries, birthdays, proposals etc). I am glad you appreciated our great location with peaceful surroundings at weekends, yet within easy walking distance of many of London's great attractions.
We look forward to seeing you back with us again soon.
Best Regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    292
    98
    39
    18
See reviews for
76
564
52
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I only had an overnight stay here, but was generally impressed. Well located if you're in the city for business, the hotel has a nice foyer and attentive staff. My room was reasonably sized, clean and comfortable, with free Wifi. Room service was quick, and breakfast in the restaurant was very nice. A couple of quirks - a translucent bathroom door, and a shower set-up that made it impossible not to end up with a wet bathroom floor - did not really detract from what was a very pleasant stay. All in all, I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear 007Sydney
Thank you for leaving a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our great location. Sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the design of the bathroom - some of our bathrooms have Japanese showers, which are not fully enclosed, it sounds as if you may have had one of these rooms. On your next stay, be sure to ask for a room with a separate shower cbicle ibn the bathroom.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here for leisure over a weekend.
Location looks a little out of the way for the weekend, but actually it's not.
Right on the tube line, only a few stops from Covent Garden as well.

It's cheaper at the weekend if you want to grab a 5 Star hotel.
Worth every penny.
I stay in a lot of hotels during the week for work reasons and I have to say this is one of the best I've stayed in for a long time.
The staff are all very friendly, but know when to stop which is nice.
The feel of the hotel from reception to the bedrooms is perfect I imagine for business or leisure.
The bar is good, we didn't eat in the restaurant, but did eat in the bar and what we ordered was excellent.
Breakfast was also 1st class either in the room or in the restaurant.
I imagine this hotel is busy in the week as near the Bank of England as business areas. The surrounding area is pretty quiet and closed up at the weekends, but as mentioned about only a couple mins walk to the tube.
I would 100% stay here again either for leisure or business if in the area.
I have recommended this hotel to others as well before posting my comments on here.

Found out it was once a bank. A bank that started its life as the Midland bank many moons ago, now HSBC. Some real history here and when the parts of the hotel are pointed out to you feels even more special.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Tobe80
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you will 100% stay with us again.
You are right that this used to be a bank. It was built in 1856 as the headquarters of "The City Bank" ( nothing to do with Citibank) and latterly was owned by Midland bank until it was converted into an hotel in 2002. The grand Dome lounge was the original banking hall.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best Regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltaire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Having stayed here from Friday to Monday, weekend just gone, I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a nice, relaxing experience in the heart of the city.

Upon arrival we were greeted warmly, offered a welcome drink and then after a very swift check in were escorted to our room by a very friendly porter who carried our bags for us. We were given a room on the fifth floor which required a key card when using the lift and we were not disappointed by the room at all. A king sized bed, double bath, walk in shower and any other little quirk you may need including his and hers bath robes which were very comfortable to lounge about in. The hotel overall is well kept and looks impressive, especially the main hall with the glass dome ceiling.

You are only a two/three minute walk from bank tube station so really you would struggle to be much more central. Main lines that run from bank are the northern line and the central line.

If i had to be constructive the only things I would mention regarding the hotel would be the balcony doors were not sealed all that well and it got a little nippy at times and the mini bar was pricey (which I know it is in most hotels) but £2.50 for a mini Toblerone blew my mind. The room also had a connecting door to the suite next door, which I thought would have a door, a little space then a door ... but as it turned out it was literally just a door which made you feel a little less private.

Besides those small issues it was all great and you will never go thirsty as they bring new water bottles round every evening!

Lovely staff, Lovely hotel and a Lovely stay!

You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Damien B
Thank you for your review, and for your constructive comments, we will certainly take on board your comments regarding the minibars as we are currently reviewing what we stock in these.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Strange experience at this hotel, stayed here over the Easter weekend, had a nice room (room 207), however the bathroom door was see-through. This might be an interesting design feature but it was completely wasted on me. We took the blanket off our bed and draped it over the bathroom door to offer some privacy which worked fine, however Housekeeping removed the blanket later when they were servicing our room. We only realised this when we got back to our hotel later that night, we rang reception to request another blanket but this was not forthcoming. Also the blind in the bathroom didn't close properly so because the bathroom door was see through it allowed the day light to flood into the bedroom which meant we were awake at the crack of dawn the next morning. We advised the hotel of this and they did try to fix the blind but also suggested we were light sleepers. We eventually got a blanket again and kept the do not disturb sign on the door for the rest of our stay to ensure it stayed put. We got soaked on Sunday whilst out sightseeing and when we went back to the hotel that afternoon we asked for a hot whiskey in the bar but they didn't know what it was. Later that night when we returned from more sight seeing the bar was closed we were informed the bar person had gone home sick. We're not unreasonable people but overall it didn't seem like the hotel was in control of things, staffing issues are not the guests' problem, and if we notify the hotel of a complaint we expect it to be dealt with. I wouldn't stay here again for the reasons mentioned above, but in terms of location etc the hotel is conveniently located beside Bank Station and is a short walk to Tower of London in one direction, Brick Lane in another, we also walked back to the hotel from The West End - straight along Shaftsbury Avenue. There's a Jamie Oliver restaurant on this street also.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deirdre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Deidre O
So sorry to hear of the bad experience you had whilst staying here - you should certauinly not have found the bar closed or the the barman unable to make ahot whiskey. I'm sure if you came back now, you would find a change with new bar staff and a new Rstauarant & Bar Manager who is ensuring we offer a much higher level of service.
With regards the bathroom doors, many of them have been designed with frosted glass (Not clear glass) but I appreciate that this can seem like a lack of privacy.
I do hope in other respects you enjoyed your stay in London.
Best Regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here as tourists for one night on a brief trip to London having found a room for a great price. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the rooms were extremely comfortable and well equipped. We did not spend too much time in the hotel and consequently did not use any of the facilities such as the bar or restaurant but the main lobby looked very nice with it's domed glass ceiling. In terms of getting around, Bank tube is 2 mins walk (make sure you take the Bank exit from the tube and don't exit via monument) and from there it's only around 4-5 stops to St Pancras/Kings Cross and the same number to Tottenham Court Road for access to the "west end". Despite being in "The City" there was still activity in the area on Saturday - the small supermarkets, for example, were open on on Saturday although they did shut early (at around 6pm). I would have no hesitation in staying here again whether it be for business or pleasure. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlfieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelHewson, Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear AlfieO

Thank you for your pleasant review of Threadneedles. We are thrilled that your weekend visit was most enjoyable and the team are delighted that you found the Hotel and the tranquility of The City enjoyable.

Perhaps on a future visit, you may get to enjoy Afternoon Tea on our stunning Lounge!

We look forward to seeing you at the Hotel again soon.

Kind regards, Michael
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel on Marathon weekend and I can not really find fault. Very comfortable, well equipped rooms, polite friendly staff and a perfect location for a quiet weekend stay in London. As this in the heart of the banking district everywhere around is closed on Saturday and Sunday and I do mean everywhere including Sainsburys local! But this is an advantage as there is absolutely no noise or traffic.
My only criticism would be that the breakfast/food prices are very expensive and the room was a little warm, but otherwise it was great and I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chezkeightley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelHewson, Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear chezkeightley

Thank you for your favourable review of Threadneedles - we were delighted to welcome you to the Hotel, during the London Marathon weekend and are most pleased that your stay was enjoyable.

Thank you for your comments in relation to breakfast; along with the positive comments in regards to the hotel team.

I'm pleased to confirm that the recent air-conditioning and heating works have now been completed; albeit regrettable that your bedroom was too warm during your visit.

We do hope to welcome you back to the peace and quiet of The City at the weekend, and we look forward to you being our guests again soon.

Kind regards, Michael
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#42 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#44 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#324 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Threadneedles, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Threadneedles, Autograph Collection

Property: Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
Address: 5 Threadneedle Street, London EC2R 8AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in London
#169 Business Hotel in London
#177 Romantic Hotel in London
#215 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Threadneedles, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of grandeur and warm elegance at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, a 5-star boutique hotel in London, England. Enjoy elegant amenities and historic charm in the heart of London at our luxury hotel, which puts you in an ideal location places you minutes from popular landmarks such as St. Paul's Cathedral, The Barbican, Shakespeare's Globe, and the Tower of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Threadneedles, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Threadneedles Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing