We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
Ranked #224 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This fantastic hotel has done a wonderful conversion of the old customer area of the bank into the hotel lobby, under a magnificent glass dome. This hotel has character. The staff were very helpful and eager to ensure that we enjoyed our visit. A great location for transport links , enabling easy access to the many attractions London has to offer.
Can thoroughly recommend the magnificent afternoon tea.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southy1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Southy1951
Thank you so much for leaving feedback on yourrecent stay. I am so glad that you appreciated the stylish conversion of this former bank into the city's original boutique hotel.
Best Regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    288
    98
    39
    17
See reviews for
75
555
52
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My fiance and i spent a very enjoyable weekend here recently. Staff were fantastic and couldn't have been more helpful. Gorgeous atrium where we enjoyed a late night drink and the best bed i've ever slept in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeppy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Jeppy 100
Thank you for leaving feedback, I am so pleased that you felt able to rate us 5/5. I hope you will be back again soon.
Best Regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The management team could not do enough for me on my visit, constantly available, but not intrusive. I really could not fault the customer service.
The room was clean, fresh and spacious with luxurious toiletries and nespresso coffee.
I also had an afternoon tea, which was innovative, very well presented and perfectly balanced in terms of taste. I would recommend this as a great way to spend an afternoon in an amazing location, since the domed stained glass roof over the lounge makes this a really special building and unique experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Martin 753
Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel. It's great that you had tiem to try our "Great Britons" afternoon tea, our elegant dome lounge must be one of the best rooms in London for this traditional and relaxing meal.
I hope you will be back again soon.
Best Regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel charges sky-high prices, but not at all worth it. I was charged even twice for the room. When I was refunded I lost money due to credit card charges but the hotel did not at all care about it. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Equitystake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Equitystake
I am very sorry to learn from your review that we inadvertantly charged you for your room twice and that you lost on the exchange rate when this was corrected. If I have some more details, I would be happy to refund any losses you experienced as a result.
Best Regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

the hotel charges really fancy prices, but not worth it. the rooms are small, do not have any views because it is a very heavily built up part of London. But as a business traveler the biggest disappointment was that they don't have laundry service on weekends. the hotel seems popular as a wedding location since I saw atleast 2 weddings within the 5 days that I stayed there, perhaps because it looks grand once you get inside the door. the entrance is almost unnoticeable unless you look very carefully. only thing in favor of this hotel is it's location. a few minutes walk from both Bank & Liverpool street tube stations, it is close to our office Bishopsgate. However I still woudnt stay there again unless I cant find any other hotel. Some of the service staff are helpful, some are snooty.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rostow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Rostow 2
I am very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with your stay at Threadneedles. It is true that, like most hotels, our rooms only have views of the buildings opposite, however a, as these buildings are banks and offices rather than appartments, there is no-one facing your room in the evenings or early mornings or at weekends unlike hotels in residential areas.
Our Front entrance is very discreet and the magnificence of the garnd Victorian Banking Hall that is now our lounge , is not apparent from the outside. Many of our guests choose to stay here because of the discreetness of the hotel.
If you want great views and an impressive entrance, there is a new skyscarper hotel close to the city of London with great views from its rooms on the 50th floor, but their prices are at least double ours !
As your offices in Bishopsgate are so close to our hotel, I do hope you will give us a second try so that we can rstore your confidence inThreadneedles.
Best Regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

My niece & I loved our stay at the Threadneedles Hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted with a complimentary glass of Prosecco or orange juice. The staff was very helpful & attentive to our needs. They helped us with tips on exploring the city & helped us with directions with Metro maps. The hotel is tastefully decorated in a modern style. We loved the gorgeous stain glass dome in the lobby.....stunning! Our room was fabulous. Very large room, separate walk in shower from a soaking bath, and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is located in the Bank district & is very quiet at night time (which we liked). It is walking distance to the Metro (the central line: BANK) & a short walk to St Paul's Church, Tate Museum, The London Bridge. Note: Since the hotel is located in the Bank district, it is very quiet & secluded on the weekends. We really appreciated this after spending the day exploring the city with crowds of tourists.....it was nice to relax in the evening in a quiet & serene setting!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SherryLynne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear SherryLynne17
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you appreciated our great location, so close to the major West End attractions, and yet so peaceful at weekends.
I hope you will be back again very soon.

Best Regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just spent a week in London on business. Threadneedles is well situated to do business in The City, and is a short walk to the Bank tube station, from which you can reach any part of London. The only down side is the area is a ghost town on the weekend, and also gets pretty quiet at night during the week as well, so if your goal is to be in the middle of the action, there are busier places to stay in London.

Staff is very attentive and helpful, and certainly tries hard to please the guest, but like most London properties, seems to be mostly Eastern or Southern European in origin (which can lead to some language issues on occasion).

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor and was nice and quiet. Would assume upper floors were even quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Timothy C
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our hotel. I'm sorry that you found the local area too quiet though. While the city is very quiet at weekends, we are only a few tube stops from the West End for all the shopping, theatre districts. Mid week however, there are lots of stylish restaurants and clubs only a few minutes walk away - next time, try Sushi Samba on the 32nd floor of the Heron Tower - its buzzing with life, has great views and is only a very short stroll from the hotel. Our Concierge would be pleased to give you plenty of other recommendations too.
Best Regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#37 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#318 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Threadneedles, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Threadneedles, Autograph Collection

Property: Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
Address: 5 Threadneedle Street, London EC2R 8AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#169 Business Hotel in London
#170 Luxury Hotel in London
#177 Romantic Hotel in London
#215 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Threadneedles, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of grandeur and warm elegance at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, a 5-star boutique hotel in London, England. Enjoy elegant amenities and historic charm in the heart of London at our luxury hotel, which puts you in an ideal location places you minutes from popular landmarks such as St. Paul's Cathedral, The Barbican, Shakespeare's Globe, and the Tower of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Threadneedles, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Threadneedles Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing