We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel in all respects...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
Ranked #220 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel in all respects...”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Elegant venue, well located, pleasant staff - service is probably impeccable, although i didn't have occasion to utilize it...you walk in the place and everything just feels as it should. I didn't pay full price, as there was a HotelTonight deal... I shudder to think of what full price was, but it was an absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohr999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear ohr999
Thank you for your kind words, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our best prices are always found on our own website, although we do use the majority of the on-line travel agencies as well so that guests can book however they find it easiest.
Best Regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    292
    98
    39
    18
See reviews for
76
566
52
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip recently. Great location, especially if you're doing business at The City. Very spacious and well-decorated rooms, equipped with all the amenities one would want. Though, beware that some rooms have very poor/ intermittent mobile phone signal (I use EE and 3) and had to request a room change. Fantastic house keeping (twice daily). Front of house staff could be hit and miss though, which was a shame! Check out was a semi-chaos as there were only 2 desks and what it seemed like a million guests checking out at the same time... All in all, a good hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasperlai8429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Jasperlai8429
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am sorry that you were delayed at checkout. We only have 74 bedrooms and so there is seldom a delay at reception as guests are checking and out throughout the day. Please be assured that your experience is not indicative of the normally personal and attentive service our guests receive from reception.
Best Regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights during visit to London in March. Ideal location situated in the heart of London. The nearest tube station, Bank, is a 5 minute walk but first time visitors may get a little confused by the streets. The hotel is located in a historic building converted from a former Citibank branch in London. The lobby has a beautiful dome and I had some really good afternoon tea. The pastry selection was inspired by 6 "Great Britons," such as Churchill, Nelson, and Newton and it's quite unique. The rooms are well-furbished. They are extremely new, stylish, clean and equipped with the most avant-garde technology. The hotel restaurant does not serve dinner on Sundays I think. Marriott Gold and Platinum members have complimentary breakfast in the lobby restaurant. It was a sit-down meal with selection of British, or continental breakfast. The food was plenty and the meat was extremely succulent. At times this hotel is cheaper (50 to 100 pounds cheaper!) than other Marriott properties in central London. Strongly recommend this hotel to business travelers for its proximity to the financial center and leisure travelers who wants a break from the hustle and bustle of London - this is truly an urban oasis of silence and beauty!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fzwa1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear fzwa 1964
Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay with us, I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and that you found time to experience our unique "Great Britons afternoon tea".
As we are in the financial district, at weekends, it is a very peaceful location and our guests do find it a a welcome escape from the hustle and bustle of the West End, which is only a very short tube ride away.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best Regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
ps. The hotel was built in 1856 as the headquarters of The City Bank, nothing to do with the Citibank of today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay here and it could not have been better, especially as I was travelling by myself. Lovely, quiet room which was immaculately clean. Great room service too. Will certainly be back and would highly recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank claire-marie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear claire-marie80
Thank you for your review, I am so pleased that yuo enjoyed your stay and that you will definitely be coming back again. We look forward to welcoming you here again.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here on a Friday night - excellent welcome and fabulous room - cool in all senses of the word. Staff were impressive until Saturday morning when our breakfast service was indifferent and a wring order had to be chased, and checkout was disaster.

We queued for about 40 minutes but the two reception staff were each held up by other guests with apparently all the problems in the world. We had to walk out at 11.40am for our train ( leaving a note with the concierge) and at that point there were still other agitated guests ahead of us waiting to checkout ( checkout time was 11am)

For £22 for breakfast it would be nice to see a more generous approach to the quality of bread used for toast - even Premier Inns can manage better than standard square sliced mothers pride. It looked and felt mean in this grand establishment.

I have been emailed 2 or 3 times to fill in their feedback survey but since I did it ( pleasantly and honestly) I haven't had any contact.

Room Tip: 121 was really spacious, quiet and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHRed2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear GHRed 2012
Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you liked your room and that you found our reception staff so helpful when you arrived.
Please accept my sincere apologies that you had to queue to check out on Sunday morning, ther was in fact a wedding arty who were all leaving the hotel at the same time, whereas we are used to guests usually leaving much later in the day on Sundays.#
I do hope you will visit us again soon for another weekend break.
Regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

First impressions of Threadneedles were excellent. Stunning foyer, the sort that makes you stop in your tracks just to simply admire. The reception staff were extremely pleasant, and could not have been more helpful if they tried, as they bent over backwards to try and cater for my early arrival.

My room was lovely. Average in size by London standards, but nicely appointed, and came complete with the excellent Marriot bed, which to me instantly means I am in for a good night’s sleep. Sound proofing was also very good. Only negative comment, poor TV selection. No film channels, and despite the fact I am a Brit, staying in a hotel in London, belonging to an American chain, the selection of English language TV available was poor, being limited to a handful of international satellite channels.

Had a drink in the bar, and the staff were again first class, and very attentive. Checkout was again handled professionally and with the minimum of fuss.

All in all and extremely pleasant stay in what is a first class city hotel in a very convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattDrewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Matt Drewry
Thank you for leaving a review of your stay with us. I am fglad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you found our team so helpful - it is the staff that make the difference between a good and a great hotel.
I am sorry that you found the selection of English Languaghe channels poor. For other readers, we do in fact have 86 channels on our bedroom TV's. 39 of these are in English and the others cover most Europpean, Asian and Arabic languages, to reflect the wide mix of nationalities who stay with us.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have stayed at the Treadneedles on a business trip because it is very well located and I have heard good things about it. The room was quite nice, but from my window I looked straight into the next office building which was only about 2 meters away. People there could actually look easily into my room. This is really not what I expect from such a good hotel and when charged so much for a room. The staff was friendly, but all in all impersonal. Next time in London, I would check out another hotel in the area. Also, if you go on a leisure trip and not for work, I couldn't recommend the hotel at all, because there is nothing really open in the area in the evening.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is not so terribly close to the office building next to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zegilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawder S, General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Zegilu
I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with the view from your hotel room. It is true that, like most hotels in London, we are surrounded by other buildings of similar height and so the outlook from most bedroom windows will be of the buildings opposite or next door. As we are located in the city, the buildings around us are banks and offices as opposed to flats or hotels and so there is no-one facing our windows at the times our guests tend to be in their rooms ie early mornings or evenings.
I am surprised that you believed the restaurants around us close in the evenings, there in fact dozens of restaurants all around this area, catering for a wide range of tastes, cuisines and budgets. These are nearly all open for lunch and dinner Monday to Friday, although many do close on Saturday's and Sunday's. Our Front Desk staff will always be able to advise which are open.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#40 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#44 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#326 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Threadneedles, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Threadneedles, Autograph Collection

Property: Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
Address: 5 Threadneedle Street, London EC2R 8AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#166 Luxury Hotel in London
#169 Business Hotel in London
#177 Romantic Hotel in London
#215 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Threadneedles, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of grandeur and warm elegance at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, a 5-star boutique hotel in London, England. Enjoy elegant amenities and historic charm in the heart of London at our luxury hotel, which puts you in an ideal location places you minutes from popular landmarks such as St. Paul's Cathedral, The Barbican, Shakespeare's Globe, and the Tower of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Threadneedles, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Threadneedles Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing