We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #343 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

The check in process is so slow. We waited ages to book in and the room wasn't ready. We then waited another 15 -20 mins just to hand our luggage over. We came back late in the afternoon and found they hadn't taken our bag to the room as they said they would.
Overall the hotel is good, comfortable and clean. Some areas of the bathroom could do with attention, as the fittings are chrome and tarnished in places. There were also some marks on the tiles around the bath area and under the sink. There was also some kind of stain on the underside of the tap. The wine glasses were coated in dust, and the mini fridge had pressure sensors, so anything you moved in the fridge, even if you put it back was charged directly to your bill. Meaning you cant use it to store your own items. There are ice machines on some floors which are very handy for drinks. The air con unit was effective in controlling the room temperature. The hotel is ideally located for visits to Tower Bridge, Tower of London and right next to the tube. Plenty of bars and restaurants all within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank non-stop-orb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,102
    932
    417
    164
    105
See reviews for
319
1,196
115
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights recently. Overall good experience although breakfast as others have noted was poor. The hotel also is a little too far away from the main tourist areas which means a very long walk or long tube journeys. However the bedroom which had a great view of the tower of London was quiet at night.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highstandardsplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorks
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I stayed here for one night whilst attending an event across town. The Grange is in a great location near Tower Bridge and right next to Tower Hill Tube Station and Fenchurch St Station. In spite of the proximity to the railways, there was no disturbance from the trains.

On arrival there was a cock-up with the booking (not the hotel's fault) and I was getting a little hot under the collar. The receptionist didnt handle it brilliantly and there were occasions where she was rolling her eyes a bit but I guess I was being a bit of a prat. Check by the way is a little choatic as the reception desk is basically an island in the lobby with no natural queing system. As a consequence I fell out with a fellow guest who pushed in front of me!

The room I was allocated was 625. Smallish but fine for one night and had trouser press, iron and plenty of storage. The side of the buildign I was on is right next to a railway line but as I've said, I heard no noise from the trains and the black-out blind worked effectively. The bed was comfy and king sized.

The bath was a little dated I felt and I was a little scared of climbing out of the bath (quite a deep bath and no grab handle) but nothing too serious. I didnt eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food. I had a toblerone from the minibar however and was pleasently surprised to see that it was only £2 which is cheap by any minibar standards let alone London's!

In summary, a nice hotel, good location but I would say it's nearer to a 4 than 5 star but then again I don't run the rating schemes!

I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shareholdersmeeting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

I would not range it 5 stars.
The bathroom seemed old, the breakfast was not worth the money at all.
And I ended up having me jacket stolen from my hotel room.

So my experience is negative and I won't return there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cher020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Stayed here on the weekend of 20th May 2011 for two nights. The hotel itself is very handy to Tower Hill tube and being in the City of London it is in a quiet enough area. Staff were courteous, polite and professional. Room was fantastic, but the Swimming pool/Spa facilities were absolutely second to none! Could not find fault with this fantastic hotel. Will hopefully be staying again. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBluetac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

This is one of the many business hotels in London that rent out their rooms over the weekend at greatly reduced prices. At this reduced rate we were not disappointed - the room and bathroom were large, clean and quiet. Being close to the City, many of the local bars and restaurants were closed over the weekend, but nothing a quick trip on the tube can't fix. It is not a five-star hotel in terms of luxury, only on its facilities, and is no different to many other business hotels that I have stayed in. However, considering the lowered weekend price, especially when compared to budget hotels in less desirables areas, it is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Hidden hotel on lastminute
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidjones533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincs
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

easy to reach - just a very short walk from the tube - comfortable room and lovely pool and spa facilities for a central London hotel. Didn't pay the extra for a full cooked breakfast and pleased we didn't as the continental was lovely and plenty of choice.
Check in need to be improved though as a little tedious - lots of staff standing there but not knowing what to do!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greyhorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#214 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,542 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#326 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,128 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#247 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#81 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Property: Grange City Hotel
Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#246 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing