We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #340 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is a superb hotel and in a fantastic location right next to the Tower of London and Tube Station! We upgraded to and executive room with a view and it was well worht the money, the room was lovely and the view was breathtaking!! I would really recomend that if you want to stay near Tower Bridge stay here!! Cant fault the hotel one bit!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalton84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,086
    923
    411
    162
    103
See reviews for
315
1,180
114
592
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I have now stayed a number of times at this property, driven by its convenience to where I work. The hotel does not provide ingredients for a memorable positive stay; it is consistent and if the room is chosen well, can be comfortable. I strongly prefer the upper level rooms overlooking the Tower and Thames. The hotel offers a variety of room sizes (and shapes); some are much better than others. I did not eat at the hotel once; I prefer to have all meals out. On this visit, the concierge service was excellent and the check-in and check -out processes friendly and efficient. Like another reviewer, we had one night distrubed by a false fire alarm sounding; unfortunate, but we now know they work! Part of the attraction of this property is price; I have found it pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bert_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beds
Level Contributor
405 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Last visited about 3 years ago and had a pleasant enough stay. Highlight then was the England Cricket Team staying and a wedding going on outside on the piazza with great live bands! The reception area is attractive, the remnants of the Roman City Wall interesting and we did indeed have a lovely large room with a side view of the Tower. However...staff seem to equate professional and posh with surly, the restaurant is overpriced and pretentious and as for breakfast - that was sadly lacking! Our steak orders were both wrong but we had waited so long for the meals to arrive and staff were so inattentive we couldn't be bothered to say, it did stop us from staying for dessert or further drinks though. Disappointing. If you'd prefer a warm welcome, superior views and a buzzing bar go to the Guoman Tower. It ain't pretty outside and tsk tsk it only says 4 star on the door but it beats 5 star Grange City hands down!

Room Tip: Better views higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Room was smaller than we expected, however had a bit of a view of tower bridge and the gherkin (if you leaned over the balcony)! Health suite was amazing, great pool, sauna, jacuzzi, steam/aromatherapy rooms. Overall good value for money in central London.
Great pup around the corner(Minories) excellent food, for breakfast or lunch - very reasonable.

Room Tip: They say to ask for rooms on the higher floors for views - we did request this on booking but did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1970dermot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I have stayed at Grange St Pauls before and was very pleased with that hotel - it warrants its 5* rating. Very swish and lots of nice touches

However thr City is just a standard 3-4 star hotel. Small rooms, cracked toilet in en suite. Not posh. Dingy lobby.

I only paid £99 through Lastminute.com as a secret hotel, very glad i did not pay full price.
Yes its ok for £99, but next time I'll go back to St Pauls or Hilton Double Tree.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keeeeeeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Nice place, nice views (if you are lucky...) and convenient communication. Some facilities are not brand new but general perception is good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _Evva76_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

It took 25 minutes for 2 people before us to be checked in. We were given a room with a view of a brick wall 5 feet from the window. We could not see anything other than walls 30 feet high. We were put next to the elevator. The fire alarm went off at 3.30am and 5.30am. So much for a Secret Hotel. The only secret was that the room was rubbish and so was the customer service as we were basically told the hotel was not originally designed as a hotel and views were limited. Well, we were put in the new annexe of the hotel which I'm sure was designed to be a hotel. We slept terribly thinking we were going to burn in the bed at some point with the 2 fire alarms and if we had to smash a window to get out we'd have been scaling a wall to safety. Very VERY disappointed. The entrance is that of a Five Star hotel but the rubbish room we were given was beyond a joke.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Tower Of London as they advertise, not a tower of brick walls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bolly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#211 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,512 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#318 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,079 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#247 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#76 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,586 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Property: Grange City Hotel
Address: 8-14 Coopers Row, London EC3N 2BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#245 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing