We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant time”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #371 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 18 October 2013

For a weekend in London we chose to stay at this hotel, the location is fantastic, very near to 2 tube stations so you don't have very far to carry luggage on arrival. Staff were all very friendly, we were unaware that the charge for the whole room upon arrival i.e including what is in the minibar. It would of been nice to of been made aware of this at the time of booking.

The hotel itself is very lovely and clean. The breakfast was a very good selection of food that would make anyone happy. We had some drinks in the bar, standard London prices but they were very enjoyable and we were given a bowl of snacks.

Overall a great hotel, with even better location, just a shame we didn't spend all that much time there as we were out exploring! But when I come back to London I hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sazual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,662 - 1,668 of 2,963 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Tucked away near the Tower of London and the Shard but only 15 minutes on the tube/taxi to the Strand.
Room was a great size with a balcony, spotless and had one thing I miss in 5 star hotels..... an iron and ironing board.....when I just want to quickly iron a shirt I don't want to have to wait for in-house laundry to come and collect and return in an hour or the next day!! so a welcome addition.
The spa and leisure center was also worth the visit, a pool that you can actually swim lengths in very please and after a shattering day great way to refresh before the night out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKAbroad_Shop_Online
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Good value for money and really good location. The rooms were a little dated and on the small side however the beds were very comfy. The staff were really friendly. The only part that I was not pleased about was the bath, could do with a replacement was a bit grim around the edges. Overall good value if on a special offer.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mads_1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel was booked with high hopes and beliefs about assumed 5 star status.the staff are superb but the offer is sub standard ,rooms small and poor views with the old fashioned high priced stupid mini bars.poor sleep caused by late night noisy neighbours and doors crashing Keep searching and look elsewhere

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandSBoradstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

One of our group had their valuables stolen from within the locked safe in their room. Management made the situation much worse by trying to blame us (using some very strange accusations and logic)!!!! All they needed to do was apologise and assist the police, and they did neither. We stayed for 6 nights (2nd week of September 2013) and by the end of it, management still had not provided the CCTV footage to the police. Management was waiting for us to leave to make it more difficult for us to pursue the robbery complaint. Our entire group was absolutely shocked, not at the robbery, but at the appalling manner in which the management handled the entire situation from start to finish. We make an annual trip to London for business, and we will NOT be using this hotel again!! It does not matter how nice the physical premises are or proximity to transport, when management do not support their guests through a robbery. We did not feel safe here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupGuestRelations, Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Jackie P,

Professional thefts are regrettable and we do our best to diminish our exposure to such risk.

The facts are that a professional thief known to the relevant authorities is allegedly the culprit in this matter and his identification was made possible only as a result of the security systems and protocols in place at the hotel which for obvious reasons we are not at liberty to disclose, but which the relevant authorities have commended. These include CCTV and other electronic and digital recordings which are rightly provided to the relevant authorities and was made aware to the guest on 19th September. There have been numerous verbal and written communications between the Hotel's General Manager and Mr Wallace during which the hotel believes we have attempted to be helpful and co operative; we have offered to "help resolve this situation in the quickest way" 19th September @ 10.20am. We have not received a response to our written requests for information to expedite matters however we are keen to resolve this for the guest.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Grange Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel just for one night and couldn't fault anything. Tower Hill station is two minutes away so nice and easy to get about, Tower Bridge, the Shard and the Thames are also a few minutes away so a nice area to go for a walk and explore the sights.
The hotel itself was really nice, spotless throughout with friendly staff. The room was very large and most importantly the bed was huge and so comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was nice, wasn't overly special but a good selection and was all hot and fresh so very happy. Overall and great hotel and would definitely recommend.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andy_Phal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Myself and 7 friends stayed at this hotel over the weekend for a Hen party and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is beautiful and a 10 second walk to Tower Hill tube station was is ideal!
Two of the rooms were on the 7th floor which had an amazing view of the Tower of London.
Rooms are clean and the staff were friendly.
We also got to enjoy the Jacuzzi. The hotel supplies you with towels free of charge.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and very much looking forward to going back!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank EJH14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#244 of 1,077 in London
3,816 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#353 of 1,077 in London
4,470 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#82 of 1,077 in London
4,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Holborn Hotel
Grange Holborn Hotel
#419 of 1,077 in London
2,244 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#236 of 1,077 in London
3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in London
#208 Romantic Hotel in London
#233 Business Hotel in London
#256 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £91 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing