We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for a weekend in London”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #352 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent hotel for a weekend in London”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at the Grange City for the weekend and would highly recommend it.

We drove in from Cambridgeshire and was able to park in the NCP 1 minute from the hotel. Fortunately it sits on the outside edge of the congestion charge zone.

The hotel was fantastically placed, being in view of The Tower of London / Tower Bridge, and 30 seconds from either the underground, DLR or Thames Clipper. We preferred to walk and it was a pleasant 15 minute stroll to St Pauls and 45 minutes to Leicester Square.

The hotel is clean throughout, the rooms were excellent and it had notable good sound insulation. The pool / spa was great and the bar was pleasant. Lifts were fast as was check in check out. Beds were very comfortable.

We had continental breakfast which was very good, fresh breads, meats, boiled eggs and cereals.

Best of all were the staff. All the staff at reception were very helpful and throughout, from chambermaids to spa, everyone was very welcoming.

If you looking for a good value hotel, fantastically positioned, this one ticked the boxes.

Room Tip: Ask for a Tower facing room. We did and they were happy to arrange. 9th floor and above give you a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ioioos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    958
    428
    170
    107
See reviews for
331
1,219
117
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Excellent customer service, fantastic room with fantastic view (room 816) of the Tower of London and Tower Bridge. A great base for easy access to the underground and getting around London. Normally we stay in Premier Inn as you can guarantee a certain level of cleanliness etc but this 5 star hotel cost less than what it would have been to stay at a premier inn. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 816 has fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayo
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed in this Hotel for 2 nights over a weekend period September 27-29 with friends on a leisure break visiting friends in London. Before our arrival we contacted the hotel regarding the transfers that they offer from Gatwick airport. It was agreed for 90 pound cash with a credit card used as a security that we would have a driver waiting for us on arrival. On arrival we waited and waited for our driver but no sight of him, eventually we got the airport to announce it over the tanoy twice that we where looking for our driver. No such luck, eventually an hour later our driver arrives with no apology what so ever . We begin our journey to the hotel which aprox took an hour could have been less. Prior to the approach to the hotel , the driver asks me to sign the receipt stating the payment was already processed to the card supplied and there was nothing they could do which was untrue. When i stated i had confirmed to pay cash on arrival and had the paperwork do prove it. The driver said it was not his problem and to discuss it with the hotel. It was not 5* treatment

As it was still early our room wasn't ready and was pointed to discuss my problem with concierge and leave our luggage. I informed them of the problem i had and they advised me to leave the cash with them as they phoned the driver to call for it. When i got home i noticed the charge still there so e-mailed the company to remove it in which they did but it did push my card over the limit resulting in an extra charge.


After a day visiting the sites of London we got back to the hotel at the stated time of 3.00pm, On check inn we were informed that both of our rooms had being upgraded to the executive rooms. Got to my room which was a twin executive room with a view of the rail station on the 3rd floor, the other room was a double executive room which had a balcony. As i was not happy with the view i asked would it be possible to change rooms and the staff were helpful in accommodating my request but the only rooms they had were smaller so i decided to stay put. The bathroom alone in the executive room was huge with a separate shower as well and 2 double queen beds in the room with a couch. It was the biggest hotel room i have stayed in London. Loads of pillows on the beds and very comfy beds as well. The carpet was so soft you could sink into it.

The next morning while browsing the hotel amenities i noticed you could upgrade your room to include club facilities for 34 pound per room per night. This was a lounge with continental breakfast, snacks, appetizers, Minerals, Beer and wine throughout the day and included late checkout of 2.00pm as apposed to the standard 11.00 check out time. I got 2 days breakfast and snacks drinks etc and a late check out all for 34 pounds, breakfast alone in the hotel was 23 pounds so i it seemed to be a steal. Although the snacks were sparse at times a quick call and fresh stuff would be delivered , even at night there was fajitas which were piping hot. The girl replenishing the lounge was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for her, extra glasses etc. We even ordered room service off pizzas to be delivered and only 10 pound each and where the nicest pizzas i have had in ages, only a 2.50 tray charge for delivery which was not spoilt i thought.

Had a look at the leisure center and gym and they looked spotless and not often would you find a full pool in a city center hotel.
Most of the staff i encountered was friendly with the odd 1 or 2 not as friendly, the best was the woman working for the club lounge. Although this hotel is marked at 5* id call it a good 4*.

As we where in our early 20"s , i think we where looked upon on check inn with the staff due to the current clientele that they are used off. It kind of felt as look they have no money. But once they got to know us they couldn't do enough for us. The one thing i say the receptionist girls could be more friendlier.

Location wise couldn't have been better for us, right beside tower hill station. Our family have decided to go to London the 6th of December and we had booked this hotel again due to my praise of the hotel. Unfortunately there wasn't enough double rooms so we are now transfer to there sister hotel The Grange tower hotel which we were told is just as nice and only 5 Min from Grange City. We will soon see will it live up to the grange city.

Room Tip: Higher up the better, ask for a balcony room. Try getting club access as it allows early check in to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kw05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stay here often with work and benefit from the convenient location, great views of the Tower of London and very good customer service from the staff in all areas of the hotel. Check in is always quick and efficient. The rooms always very clean and with nice decor, some with balconies - really nice. The bathrooms tend to be smaller and have showers over the bath mainly. Older than the Grange Tower Bridge and some bathrooms little dated in comparison, but still good place. Next to Tower Hill tube and a 5-10 min walk into the City.

Room Tip: Go high with a view of the Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBHeswall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Askim, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The hotel is placed With view towards the Tower and are more or less built on top of the old London Wall. The hotel offers first class service and the rooms are spacious and even some With a balcony. The most important for me is quality of the bed and the shower and both are fine. The Hotel have one of the best Fitness rooms I have seen in a hotel and there is also a large swimming pool. Breakfast is really good, but at a price above what I'm nomally willing to pay - but I'm not a big eater in the morning. I will certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henning S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Located within walking distance of London Tower and Tower bridge I found the hotel to be comfortable and easy to travel to and from. The hotel is close by several of the metro lines which can get you to wherever you want to go in London. I was attending meetings at the Royal Mint and this was a perfect location to go to and from by foot. Many local pubs and restaurants nearby the hotel and the area was safe to walk around at night.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Road_warriorXTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Good location near tube and Tower but let down by the room. We were advised this was an upgrade so wonder what the Standard was like! The room was small with dirty tiles in the bathroom which itself was tired looking and needing a facelift. It was not worth the cost and we won't go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylizHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#222 of 1,069 in London
3,649 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#324 of 1,069 in London
4,256 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#232 of 1,069 in London
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Four Seasons Hotel London at Ten Trinity Square
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#88 of 1,069 in London
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Property: Grange City Hotel
Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#250 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing