We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - great location”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #345 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel - great location”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Upon arrival I was offered an upgrade. The room was nice extremely spacious for London standards although a bit outdated. The hotel is just next to the tube and waking distance from any office building in the city.

Room Tip: Women travellers ask for their women friendly floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    951
    426
    169
    107
See reviews for
326
1,211
116
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
staines
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We booked this hotel through last minute ( secret hotel), so we assumed we would be offered the a very standard room but our our absolute delight we were upgraded. (always a good sign- hotel care enough about your stay that they offer their best available room). The room was outstanding, with a breath taking view of the tower bridge and the Shard. We were able to sit and sip wine and admire the view! I loved the room and its view so much I was reluctant to leave to go out for the evening!
We used the spa- lovely staff and facilities. Has a sauna, steam room, aromatherapy room, Jacuzzi and a large swimming pool.
We needed to print some tickets- no problem for the staff- given code for printer.
LOCATION- fantastic for exploring london sights - for a great walk may I suggest you cross the tower bridge ( you may want to vist the tower of london first) then walk along the Thames path, you will pass the a food market, the Golden hinde boat, the Tate modern, the Millennium bridge , as well as a few other attractions and you will finally end up at the London eye and the houses of parliament with Big Ben. this could take about 2hours at a nice slow pace but plenty of places to stop and eat.
If you want to go into the West end ( where the theatres are located) then I suggest you use the tube ( there's a station just outside the hotel) .

Room Tip: We had room 1101 fantastic view. A great romantic room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summer_day68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed there 10 days and enjoyed every minute.
The rooms were big and comfortable with great veiws to the tower bridge.
All the staff were very friendly and helpfull and make extra efforts to make you feel comfortable.

The food was very good and the location is wonderfull.

Room Tip: I took the executive room and it really makes the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yifat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Try the Grange City Hotel if you want plush well designed rooms, with excellent service and a fabulous location in the heart of the City of London.
This 5 star property is a stones throw from Tower Hill Underground station opposite the Tower of London.
The staff could not have been more accommodating during our recent visit. My partner insisted on mentioning the exquisite soft furnishings and modern art in the room. Modern out only works if placed in gold or silver frames and these complimented the room perfectly.
We were very lucky to be allocated a room with a balcony - quite a novelty for a Central London hotel which gave us a view of the Tower of London and Tower Bridge!
We had an excellent nights sleep in a king sized bed, and enjoyed the breakfast served the following morning in the main restaurant of the hotel. We had taken the rate including breakfast, but beware if you haven't as it is a rather steeply priced £23 per person. There are lots of places to eat breakfast if you find this is a little too high for your budget.
We look forward to our next visit to the City Grange Hotel!

Room Tip: Try your luck and see if you can get a room with balcony......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leighb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We booked a 'Secret Escape' and were allocated Grange City Hotel....it was fantastic! All the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. We didn't use the restaurant or bar as had other plans. The hotel is next to a tube station ideal for exploring London. Ok the view from our window wasn't great (Fenchurch Street Station!) however there was no noise at all. The air conditioning in the room was great, toiletries, bath robes and slippers a treat. The swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi very relaxing, clean and a very welcoming reception area to relax after a swim. A great weekend, we will return soon!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tralou10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just returned home after staying here last week-end. Very acceptable standard ,not sure if it's 5 star but comfortable and clean.
Had breakfast once but do not recommend it, at £23 per head it should be amazing .Most of the food wasn't ready which meant hanging around for 5 minutes with what was available going cold.
Standard was no better than Travel Lodge,rubbery fried eggs,greasy hash browns ,congealed bacon.
Plenty of staff but they seemed to be clearing up instead of serving tea/coffee.
Good location,very quiet ,handy for transport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fez6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at the Grange City for the weekend and would highly recommend it.

We drove in from Cambridgeshire and was able to park in the NCP 1 minute from the hotel. Fortunately it sits on the outside edge of the congestion charge zone.

The hotel was fantastically placed, being in view of The Tower of London / Tower Bridge, and 30 seconds from either the underground, DLR or Thames Clipper. We preferred to walk and it was a pleasant 15 minute stroll to St Pauls and 45 minutes to Leicester Square.

The hotel is clean throughout, the rooms were excellent and it had notable good sound insulation. The pool / spa was great and the bar was pleasant. Lifts were fast as was check in check out. Beds were very comfortable.

We had continental breakfast which was very good, fresh breads, meats, boiled eggs and cereals.

Best of all were the staff. All the staff at reception were very helpful and throughout, from chambermaids to spa, everyone was very welcoming.

If you looking for a good value hotel, fantastically positioned, this one ticked the boxes.

Room Tip: Ask for a Tower facing room. We did and they were happy to arrange. 9th floor and above give you a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ioioos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#226 of 1,069 in London
3,623 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#322 of 1,069 in London
4,229 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#235 of 1,069 in London
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Four Seasons Hotel London at Ten Trinity Square
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#81 of 1,069 in London
3,748 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Property: Grange City Hotel
Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#247 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing