We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Another very nice stay”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #349 of 1,069 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“ Another very nice stay”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Very good location next to the tower, also next to Tower Hill Tube station. Check in was very efficient , although not very welcoming. Only booked a standard room, it was fairly small but very well appointed. The room had plenty of hanging and cupboard space, safe, TV, Bose sound wave, iron, hair dryer, large comfy bed, free wifi, AC, but no robes? The room was very quiet so had a great nights sleep. The breakfast was a nice buffet style with very good service from the staff. Have stayed here before in larger rooms, and having now stayed in the smaller room I would suggest upgrading.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrMmrsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    959
    428
    170
    107
See reviews for
331
1,220
117
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The reception in beautiful, shame about the staff, mainly the blonde lady who looked at me and my partner like we were dirt. We didn't eat here but did have a drink or 2 bar staff were very polite and friendly. We changed room after the superior queen room was far from this. Second room much better. I personally didn't like the decor. The shower was amazing but it was all quite tired looking. It was an ok stay but not sure I would return. The homeless man sat outside was far more charasmatic and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

First placed in the new wing. For a 5* hotel, first impressions were upsetting. Tiny room with a view of a wall. Moved to the old wing, large windows, view better, clean, more what you would expect. Old original furniture with modern elements, nice but money saving! Could do with a full refurb. Bathroom clean but 90s design. All 5* amenities, 4* furnishings. Stayed on a Saturday night, was very loud. This hotel is great for location and would recommend, do not pay rack price.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I can't fault this hotel. The staff are always welcoming, and can't do enough for you. They try to accommodate your every need and this has to be my hotel of choice when staying in London.
The rooms are contemporary, spacious and spotless and the views are amazing.

Fab spa, with great facilities.

Seconds away from the Tower Hill tube, and minutes away from some great restaurants, this hotel has it all.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Where do I start on how lovely this hotel is, the reception staff were welcoming, and when we asked if it was possible to have a room with a view they instantly upgraded us to an executive room free of charge, the room was spacious and immaculately clean as was the rest of the hotel, there are enough staff on hand to cater for your every need, wether that is help with luggage or hailing a taxi, the breakfast the next morning was lovely with a wide selection of fresh items available, check out was 11 am but they extended this to 12 free of charge, if I had to find a fault it would be that the hot water was warm and but got when running a bath, the only down side was that we were only here one night

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odette2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

we arrived at the hotel , on our booking confirmation said we could book in at 2 pm , this is incorrect 3 pm on a saturday , ( although this still states 2 pm in the guest info in the room ) , when booking in was told i had a excellent view , i was told i had a superior room , obviously not superior enough , nice view of office blocks .
we had only one bottle of curtosy bottles of water in the room between two of us,didnt bother with breakfast , on checking out ,it was a massive queue , a lady was going down the queue seeing if we had any bills to settle ( which i knew i hadnt ) i was advised i still had to queue , waiting a further 20 minutes to get to the front to be told i had nothing outstanding .

they really need to sort themselves out , not many good english speaking staff at reception , maybe someone with some common sence at reception would be a good idea

Room Tip: dont book this hotel at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

After searching several hotels, we came across this one for our anniversary weekend. The price was very good, through lastminute.com and when I requested a Tower view prior to our visit, we were given a lovely upgraded executive room with a balcony, which we were very grateful for.
Our trip to London was to visit several markets, The Shard and take in some sights, for which this hotel is perfect and in walking distance of Borogh Market, Spitalfields, Petticoat lane (although a bit disappointing) and Brick Lane. We walked for miles around Whitechapel and Shoreditch and surrounding areas, but this was our choice - there is a tube station adjacent to the hotel which provides easy access to all London destinations.
Our room (403) was large, with a comfortable bed and sofa and was pleasantly decorated. We had fantastic views of Tower of London and Tower Bridge, Thames, Shard and Gerkin. The balcony was a bonus for us, but there is a HUGE step in and out. The bathroom was huge, with a lovely power shower over a very deep bath plus separate shower cubicle. The only couple of gripes are lack of shelving/vanity unit to place any personal toiletries on and the very high step in and out of the bath. Reception staff were not rude, but hardly helpful, the reception area was always busy, but on check-out on Sunday morning it was really disorganised, with queues of people as far back as the lift. Guests are encouraged to check out before retiring, but there is no-where to drop your keys, leaving no option but to queue with the masses??
The leisure facilities were very pleasant and a welcome treat at the end of a day spent pounding the pavements!
We weren't booked in for breakfast and didn't use the restaurants or bars, so cannot comment on these.
Sadly we were woken at 04:00 on our first night by our neighbours having a blazing row and a very loud disco on our second night that went on past midnight. Unfortunately reception couldn't have been more disinterested - I have had much better service from a popular budget hotel chain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#222 of 1,069 in London
3,650 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#324 of 1,069 in London
4,257 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#231 of 1,069 in London
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Four Seasons Hotel London at Ten Trinity Square
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#89 of 1,069 in London
3,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Property: Grange City Hotel
Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#248 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing