We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good biz hotel near the City, with large rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #346 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
246 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good biz hotel near the City, with large rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I discovered this hotel as it was the partner hotel for a conference. This is very much a business hotel, situated on the south east side of the city of London...not ideal for tourists. I am siting at breakfast and everyone is wearing suits and ties! The rooms are surprisingly big for London (where hotel rooms even in high end hotels tend to be pokey). My room looked out on a section of the old city walls. Around the corning is a curiosity, the Crescent which is an arc of houses...the houses in the middle are just facades because there was not enough room to build them out because of the old city wall. The hotel decor is redone in the art deco style. The hotel is on a quiet street so no issues with noise. Good (free) high speed internet connection...I was able to watch Channel 4 VOD. Overall a solid 4/5..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,065
    908
    409
    161
    102
See reviews for
308
1,159
113
584
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Borlange, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Me and my wife had a wonderful time in London and enjoyed our stay at the Grange CIty hotel, just behind the Tower Hill station.
The room was nice and contained all we needed, including robes and slippers.
We slept well and the hotel staff was friendly and helpful.
The gym and pool area was top of the line as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Björn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Booked with last minute.com so slight reduction on room rate however the first room we were allocated was on the rear of the building overlooking the service areas, however we requested a change of room due to the mattress being very badly stained - disgusting. We were moved to another room on front of building which was all good and clean as you would hope to find. The views were amazing across to Tower Bridge and the Tower of London.
Staff were very polite and helpful, check in was easy and they dealt with everything professionally.
We were room only so can't rate the food, the hotel though is within walking distance of Borough market and I would say do not miss having breakfast there the food stalls are amazing you will be spoilt for choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wishyouwereheretoo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed there in business trip. No much choice on the hotel, and I don't pay but however I felt it is overpriced. Rooms are alright, nothing fancy, just classic for a business hotel.
Good point, breakfast are nice
Bad point, staff are not really friendly not accomodating, they just stick to their rules, not really wanting to help you out

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over marathon weekend.Initial room was great but air con faulty they very willingly upgraded us to a huge suite with no fuss.Nothing was too much trouble, great staff and amazing central location.Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteWithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Located in the "City" of London, this hotel offers a good quality of service, easy access from airports and quite practical if you are in the "City" for business matters.
- Bedrooms are quite English style furnished (carpet and old furniture, except for the tv), cosy athmosphere.
- Bathroom is large and clean.
- The hotel's restaurant is quite nice, staff is professional, maybe not as friendly as you can expect and but nevertheless they do the job and at the end of the day you are satisfied.
- Many bars & restaurants in the surroundings, as shops.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AleXTrip009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Staying over in London for a weekend we booked ourselves into the Grange City hotel which overlooked Tower bridge and the Tower of London. Everybody we came across in the hotel was extremely helpful and very friendly. The room we asked for overlooked the Thames and the Tower of London, It was extremely comfortable and clean. The location being only 200m from Tower Hill tube station was fantastic. I cannot be more complimentary about our stay and will reccommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Thames and im sure the staff will help if possible. It was well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#210 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,459 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#320 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,024 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#84 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#244 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Holborn Hotel
Grange Holborn Hotel
#389 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#131 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Property: Grange City Hotel
Address: 8-14 Coopers Row, London EC3N 2BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#247 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing