We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodations”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #345 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
“Excellent accomodations”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We chose primarily on location. Getting here from Heathrow was a bit of a struggle only because major sections of the tube were undergoing repair. Nicely located (away from more touristy accommodations) within waling distance of several tube stops. Not sure why others are saying the hotel needs updating, the hotel was in good repair, clean, rooms were nicely laid out and the bed was one of the best I've slept on in any hotel. Wi-fi was provided in the room charge. The sports/health facilities were great - full size pool, sauna and steam-room (be sure to bring your swim/sports gear). We'll be staying here on our next trip...

Room Tip: Rooms on the south overlook the Tower of London and sections of the Roman Wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities together with the local area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    951
    426
    169
    107
See reviews for
326
1,211
116
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I chose this hotel primarily because of the location. It is easy to get around and extremely well connected with reasonable amenities near by. The rooms were clean and the service was good but I would agree with the other reviews that this hotel is getting old and the rooms are slowly falling apart. I didn't have any problems during my stay but thought that for the same money, doubletree by Hilton just across the road offers a better breakfast and nicer rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prakashh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We have noted your comments and thank you for taking the time to post a response.
We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Grange City or one or our newer hotels, maybe the Grange Tower Bridge Hotel which is just a short walk away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night (weekend) in a superior double room with my daughter (8). We found a great deal and booked the room for only £155.

Everything was pristine and the bed was queen-sized. We were on the 10th floor with no view of the city, but we didn't mind as after a day of sightseeing, we just wanted to sleep! There were at least two lifts on our side. There is also a pool and spa services available.

We ordered room service, which arrived promptly and was present to a high standard. We also used the TV, which worked fine. We didn't eat in the restaurant due to time, so cannot comment.

Great location, the Tower of London is a stones throw away, as is Tower Bridge and the Thames.

I would definitely stay here again as the staff were very knowledgable and helpful and nothing was too much trouble, rooms are well cared for and can be actually described as "superior" (unlike some other listings).

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Voldemort1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we are pleased you and your daughter enjoyed your stay . We hope you will come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A group of 10 stayed here for a weekend. Hotel is very clean and rooms are spacious. However the shower door fell onto a friends foot however the duty manager upgraded the room and rectified the situation. The upgrade was a suite which was nice but most of the rooms are in need of an update. Beds are not comfy and maintenance doesnt look great. Breakfast was mayhem and I noticed hygiene was below 5 star standards and room service is very poor with re- fried chips and cold snacks. Good location with easy access to tube station. The pool is ok very average.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of May and it was a great choice of location and hotel. Very easy to find from Heathrow and loved the #15 bus that takes you into the heart of London in a few minutes. The room was spacious although the view of a courtyard and the building next door wasn't ideal. But since we were only there at night to sleep was not a big deal for us. Staff impersonal but was not there to make friends with the staff. Overall a very nice hotel, but maybe not 5 stars but def 4 stars

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

First time I have stayed in this area of London (normally stay near covent garden), and I have to say I would stay here again. Fantastic location, close to both Tower Hill tube station and only a 5 minute walk to Aldgate (unfortunately due to the bank holiday weekend tower hill station was closed for most of our stay). The hotel itself is exactly what I expected from a big city hotel, good facilities, not all views were great, we overlooked Fenchurch street station but to be fair we got a great deal on this hotel and we only really spent time in it when we were sleeping and you didn't hear any noise from the station. The staff were really friendly, helpful and courteous. The breakfast was lovely too, we had a continental breakfast included in our stay however on our last day we upgraded to the full English which was lovely. As a London base this hotel is a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in April this year. Very easy to find as next to tower hill underground station 2 minute walk. It is an old hotel quite dated in some aspects. Furnishings are quite dark. Walls are very thin we spent most of our stay listening to our neighbours through the walls, did comment on this but unable to move rooms as hotel full. So please take ear plugs. Swimming pool, gym, health centre lovely and we used the facilities, only complaint no toiletries to shower after showering. Down side breakfast a big no no expensive at £23 for extremely little choice would not recommend it. Cleanliness is ? there was hair in the shower and on the bedding
The reception staff and duty managers are lovely and try to help . Go to the Hilton doubletree next door for a drink in their roof top bar lovely views of tower bridge and surrounding area especially at night time.
I personally won't stay here again due to locality we spent £180 in taxis to get into London for various functions

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandraAnne279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#226 of 1,069 in London
3,623 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#322 of 1,069 in London
4,223 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#235 of 1,069 in London
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Four Seasons Hotel London at Ten Trinity Square
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#81 of 1,069 in London
3,748 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Property: Grange City Hotel
Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#247 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing