We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #349 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Ely, Cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at the Grange City Hotel for two nights over the recent bank holiday weekend. The Hotel is well located only a couple of minutes walk from Tower Hill tube station and has all the facilities you need for a luxurious break.

Our room overlooked the Tower of London so we had a great view of Tower Bridge and the Shard. The room itself was lovely with a good size bed, a sofa and chairs for relaxing.

We had booked a stay with continental breakfast included, however you can upgrade to the Full English for £8. We stuck with the continental and there was a good range of items to choose from.

All in all a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usatraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
It is really nice to get such a positive review - thank you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    959
    428
    170
    107
See reviews for
331
1,220
117
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have previously stayed at the Grange Tower Bridge and wanted to treat ourself to another stay, but at a different hotel so we booked the spa break which included dinner and other treats! Room was upgraded and had a small balcony area to go outside and check out the view, it was spacious and clean with a big bed, and room service bought us a nice glass of champagne. The reception were friendly, bag guy not so much(!) Only problem we had with reception was the next day after a reasonably late night out, we woke up dead on 7am for breakfast so we would have a long lie in after (deal included 2pm checkout), but the reception called us whilst we were sleeping at 11.30am to check when our checkout time was!? They must have wanted to kick us out! It was a bit disappointing that they did not check our package. Spa was lovely, had a very good couples massage, there was a big noisy group of girls in the jacuzzi but we could relax when they left! Loved the three course meal included – great starter, main and dessert. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Hotel very close to the tube station. Overall I am looking forward to choosing which Grange Hotel to stay at next!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare-pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as part of hen party package and we weren't disappointed. We were able to check in a little earlier than expected with minimal fuss and the room was spacious with plenty of facilities. All the staff were very accommodating and I would definitely choose to stay in this hotel again or with the chain elsewhere. Minor point but do check the view from your window; we could see straight onto one of the platforms at nearby Fenchurch Station!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lachbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope the wedding goes well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here for a weekend in February to celebrate a big birthday. My husband emailed the hotel beforehand and requested a room with a Tower view and we were not disappointed. Lovely big room with a separate seating area with the most amazing view of not only the Tower but the Thames and Shard too. The decor was a little dated (though tidy) but the room was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and good quality. Managed to get a cracking deal, comparable with Prem Inn rates, and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Tower view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trev&Tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We chose primarily on location. Getting here from Heathrow was a bit of a struggle only because major sections of the tube were undergoing repair. Nicely located (away from more touristy accommodations) within waling distance of several tube stops. Not sure why others are saying the hotel needs updating, the hotel was in good repair, clean, rooms were nicely laid out and the bed was one of the best I've slept on in any hotel. Wi-fi was provided in the room charge. The sports/health facilities were great - full size pool, sauna and steam-room (be sure to bring your swim/sports gear). We'll be staying here on our next trip...

Room Tip: Rooms on the south overlook the Tower of London and sections of the Roman Wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities together with the local area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I chose this hotel primarily because of the location. It is easy to get around and extremely well connected with reasonable amenities near by. The rooms were clean and the service was good but I would agree with the other reviews that this hotel is getting old and the rooms are slowly falling apart. I didn't have any problems during my stay but thought that for the same money, doubletree by Hilton just across the road offers a better breakfast and nicer rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prakashh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We have noted your comments and thank you for taking the time to post a response.
We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Grange City or one or our newer hotels, maybe the Grange Tower Bridge Hotel which is just a short walk away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night (weekend) in a superior double room with my daughter (8). We found a great deal and booked the room for only £155.

Everything was pristine and the bed was queen-sized. We were on the 10th floor with no view of the city, but we didn't mind as after a day of sightseeing, we just wanted to sleep! There were at least two lifts on our side. There is also a pool and spa services available.

We ordered room service, which arrived promptly and was present to a high standard. We also used the TV, which worked fine. We didn't eat in the restaurant due to time, so cannot comment.

Great location, the Tower of London is a stones throw away, as is Tower Bridge and the Thames.

I would definitely stay here again as the staff were very knowledgable and helpful and nothing was too much trouble, rooms are well cared for and can be actually described as "superior" (unlike some other listings).

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Voldemort1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we are pleased you and your daughter enjoyed your stay . We hope you will come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#222 of 1,069 in London
3,649 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#324 of 1,069 in London
4,257 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#231 of 1,069 in London
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Four Seasons Hotel London at Ten Trinity Square
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#89 of 1,069 in London
3,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Property: Grange City Hotel
Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#248 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing