We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing night with amazing view”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #343 of 1,067 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing night with amazing view”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

It was my partners 21st and we decided to get a hotel. Booked it through secret room so I was a little hesitant, however I called the hotel once I knew what it was and asked for a nice room and they certainly did that. 8th floor. Beautiful view of the shard, the room was very spacious and clean
Will visit again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique12B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Happy Belated 21st birthday to your girlfriend. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,112
    943
    421
    165
    106
See reviews for
324
1,203
116
612
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oberrieden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was on a business trip to London, and since we had a corporate rate at Grange, I decided to stay in this place. To start with, you can easily take a couple of stars from the hotel, that would definitely help to manage the expectations... The room which I got was not the cheapest one, and indeed was quite spacious, which was nice. The bathroom was OK, although there was no bath robe. Not as if I need that, but I thought before that for a 4 star hotel it is a must, and this one pretends to be 5 stars... The room itself was not very clean and furniture was old. By that I do not mean antique, simply old, with holes in upholstery. The room view on some rail tracks and with a characteristic smell of long not refurbished room it all creates not a very pleasant atmosphere. Reception and bar downstairs worked fine and quick.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goootalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at the Grange City Hotel for two nights over the recent bank holiday weekend. The Hotel is well located only a couple of minutes walk from Tower Hill tube station and has all the facilities you need for a luxurious break.

Our room overlooked the Tower of London so we had a great view of Tower Bridge and the Shard. The room itself was lovely with a good size bed, a sofa and chairs for relaxing.

We had booked a stay with continental breakfast included, however you can upgrade to the Full English for £8. We stuck with the continental and there was a good range of items to choose from.

All in all a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usatraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
It is really nice to get such a positive review - thank you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have previously stayed at the Grange Tower Bridge and wanted to treat ourself to another stay, but at a different hotel so we booked the spa break which included dinner and other treats! Room was upgraded and had a small balcony area to go outside and check out the view, it was spacious and clean with a big bed, and room service bought us a nice glass of champagne. The reception were friendly, bag guy not so much(!) Only problem we had with reception was the next day after a reasonably late night out, we woke up dead on 7am for breakfast so we would have a long lie in after (deal included 2pm checkout), but the reception called us whilst we were sleeping at 11.30am to check when our checkout time was!? They must have wanted to kick us out! It was a bit disappointing that they did not check our package. Spa was lovely, had a very good couples massage, there was a big noisy group of girls in the jacuzzi but we could relax when they left! Loved the three course meal included – great starter, main and dessert. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Hotel very close to the tube station. Overall I am looking forward to choosing which Grange Hotel to stay at next!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare-pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as part of hen party package and we weren't disappointed. We were able to check in a little earlier than expected with minimal fuss and the room was spacious with plenty of facilities. All the staff were very accommodating and I would definitely choose to stay in this hotel again or with the chain elsewhere. Minor point but do check the view from your window; we could see straight onto one of the platforms at nearby Fenchurch Station!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lachbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope the wedding goes well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here for a weekend in February to celebrate a big birthday. My husband emailed the hotel beforehand and requested a room with a Tower view and we were not disappointed. Lovely big room with a separate seating area with the most amazing view of not only the Tower but the Thames and Shard too. The decor was a little dated (though tidy) but the room was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and good quality. Managed to get a cracking deal, comparable with Prem Inn rates, and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Tower view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trev&Tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We chose primarily on location. Getting here from Heathrow was a bit of a struggle only because major sections of the tube were undergoing repair. Nicely located (away from more touristy accommodations) within waling distance of several tube stops. Not sure why others are saying the hotel needs updating, the hotel was in good repair, clean, rooms were nicely laid out and the bed was one of the best I've slept on in any hotel. Wi-fi was provided in the room charge. The sports/health facilities were great - full size pool, sauna and steam-room (be sure to bring your swim/sports gear). We'll be staying here on our next trip...

Room Tip: Rooms on the south overlook the Tower of London and sections of the Roman Wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities together with the local area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#219 of 1,067 in London
3,580 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#328 of 1,067 in London
4,176 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#242 of 1,067 in London
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#77 of 1,067 in London
3,701 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Four Seasons Hotel London at Ten Trinity Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Property: Grange City Hotel
Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#246 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing