We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grande stay at the grange!”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #345 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Grande stay at the grange!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Grange City Hotel in London for one night in January. It was a Christmas gift to us from my mother who also payed for us to have lunch up the Shard.

We found the hotel to be immaculate! The reception staff were friendly and helpful. On the night we stayed, there was a function on and everyone was dressed in beautiful gowns and tuxedos.

Our room on the 8th floor, was clean and well appointed. There was no fridge in the room but on the next floor up was an automatic ice dispenser of which we used to fill our sink to keep the sparkly chilled whilst we went for a mosey round London. The only down side to our room was the view from the window which looked out onto a building and the train line. We never heard any trains whilst there and got a good nights sleep. There are some wonderful viewing points around the hotel with seating where you can see The Shard, London Bridge, The Erect gherkin or just watch the world go by.

We cannot comment on the food as we didn't eat in the hotel, however we did have a peek in the restaurant and the food looked and smelled amazing!

In the reception there is a service where you can leave your luggage on the day you check out so you can make the most of your last day in London without carrying your luggage everywhere. The service is free and your luggage gets carried to a room with your ticket number taped to them ready for you to collect.

We enjoyed our stay hear and will be returning!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TomAndTumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your grand review. You sound like you had fun during your stay and we hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    951
    426
    169
    107
See reviews for
326
1,211
116
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Grange City is located adjacent to Tower Hill Tube and with easy walking distance of the financial district - about 15 minutes to the Gerkin, Bishopsgate and Liverpool Street Station. The internet is fast, the rooms are clean, some have very good views of the Tower of London. The gym is outstanding for a hotel and includes sauna, steam and a very good sized swimming pool. London has a thriving on-line food delivery culture and many websites such as just eat uk deliver to the hotel, so you have a choice a literally hundreds of restaurants for dinner, in addition to the hotel's own facilties.

Room Tip: Ask for a Tower view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and its location with its easy access to the City and Central London. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in The Grange Tower Bridge last time we were in London which is far better and more modern than this Grange hotel. The staff were very nice but the place is nothing special - we were on the second floor in a standard room rather than an executive one and it was fairly poky and dusted. The shower was very good though although there didn't appear to be a fan so the room was rather steamy. No robes were provided although you could have called down for them.
The breakfast was a huge disappointment - served in a large cavernous room, it was all lukewarm and the tea which is served at the table in large urns was well stewed. Although our rate included breakfast, we went to Pret a Manger round the corner after the first day.
The Apex hotel is nearby - its more expensive but far superior.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Sorry your expectations were not fully satisfied in comparison to our newest hotel, the Grange Tower Bridge Hotel. I hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northen Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My wife an I booked into the Grange City for another weekend stay in London. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient. The breakfast choice and quality were excellent as usual. The breakfast staff were extremely efficient in clearing tables, resetting tables, seating you and making sure you had sufficient tea/coffee etc. Highly recommended. Situated in a lovely area and very close to lots of sites (Tower of London, Tower Bridge, HMS Belfast, St Katherines Docks, South Bank etc). Tower Hill tube station is only yards away as is Tower gateway (For the DLR) and London Fenchurch Railway Station. Highly Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tully22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We are glad you enjoyed staying with us again and find the location great for the local tourist attractions. We hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Last Minute and paid a bargain rate. On arrival our room wasn't ready but the lovely lady at reception registered us, asked the concierge to look after our bags and advised we could use the Spa etc while we were waiting. We decided to go for lunch and when we returned we were told our room was ready and had been upgraded to a studio. Te room was lovely - only on the second floor and not much of a view but that didn't worry us. We had a nice big bathroom with a bath and separate shower, a study area with a desk, a sitting area with a sofa and two easy chairs, a further desk and a late comfy bed. The room was nice and clean and had everything you need (including an iron, ironing board and a trouser press). The location was ideal - 2 minutes walk from Tower Hill station and five minutes from the Tower of London and numerous restaurants. I can't comment on the good as we were room only and after deciding £23 was a bit much for bacon and egg we went over the road. The only potential issue we had was a very noisy wedding was taking place and when we returned after our evening out the music was very loud. Reception advised it would be finished at midnight so we decided to have a couple of drinks round the corner - all was quiet when we returned. I would agree that this is probably a four rather than a five star hotel, but for the price we paid we were more than happy and will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank caremc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the room comfortable, the bathroom large and the location great. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, was astonished when I walked into the room and was greeted by a fantastic view of the Tower of London, in London hotels the standard view is often a brick wall! Room was also of an excellent size. Friendly check in and check out and very good room service from the in-house Japanese restaurant. Bathroom was looking bit tired but otherwise no complaints, a very good hotel

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked the view! We hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Despite having reserved our room, no trace of our reservation could be found. Eventually, they found that they had entered up the details wrongly.
We were given an upgrade to an 'executive room'. Since when was an executive room only just large enough to take a double bed and with a solid high wall immediately outside the window, obliterating any view whatsoever?
We were assured that there was free chilled drinking water in the room. There wasn't.
All the time we were in the bar, there was a lady of the night plying her trade and obviously tolerated by the bar staff.
Most of the staff speak very poor English, so that it becomes impossible to resolve things easily.
The breakfast was of unbelievably cheap quality products which were made worse because they had been left out too long. Both the ham and cheese were curling and darkening at the edges and were left when the platter was topped up. The room was ridiculously cramped. - and breakfast cost £23!
The staff having been told of a large wet patch on a sofa, shrugged shoulders, walked away and did not return.
The draught beer in the bar was again of the cheapest quality, warm and ridiculously priced. The wine prices and mini bar prices were outrageous even for a 5 star London hotel.
And that's the point. This simply isn't a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review and I thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologise that your expectations were not fully satisfied. If you would like to contact us directly with more details and we will be able to make investigations. We hope that you will return to one of our hotels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#226 of 1,069 in London
3,623 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#322 of 1,069 in London
4,229 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#235 of 1,069 in London
2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Four Seasons Hotel London at Ten Trinity Square
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#81 of 1,069 in London
3,748 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Property: Grange City Hotel
Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#247 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing