We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great location, amazing view and good spa facilities.”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #352 of 1,069 Hotels in London
London
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great location, amazing view and good spa facilities.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed for one night as part of a weekend away. I had requested a rom with a crew, which was granted in the form of a complimentary upgrade to an executive room with an amazing view of Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. I used the pool area both days and enjoyed swimming in the very big pool, as well as relaxing in the sauna, steam room, aromatherapy room and jacuzzi. We enjoyed a drink in the hotel bar which was reasonably priced. The hotel breakfast was included; even though it states complimentary, you can help yourself to the full breakfast. There was a lot of variety and I enjoyed the food. The hotel is practically next to Tower Hill station, which is a lovely area of London. This is the third Grange hotel I have stayed in and I always have a great experience. Whenever I have made a request, they have always fulfilled it. I'm looking forward to my next stay at a Grange hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherbie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the amazing view. Thank you for the excellent review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    958
    428
    170
    107
See reviews for
331
1,219
117
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great hotel. well located not far from the tube station. rooms were standard but very clean. did get charged for moving a tonic water in my mini bar really should read the rules and law of a mini bar before moving items inside !!!!! still a very good breakfast and nice enough stay

Room Tip: some rooms over look the railway. be careful if you open the curtains in the morning :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awils71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. So long as the tonic water was still in the mini bar the refund would have been easy to rectify. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night whilst on a family trip to London. On arriving at the hotel we had to walk through a crowd of smokers who had congregated outside the front door. Although not the hotel's fault, it's not a great first impression. The hotel itself & our rooms were clean. Our room also had a good view across to Tower Bridge & HMS Belfast. Our son's room however had a railway line below, where the trains stopped, so windows needed to be kept shut due to the noise & smell and so the air-conditioning was used, which was rather noisy.
Disappointed that there were no robes provided in our rooms, so we had to go down to the spa & pool fully clothed. We queried this with the spa staff who said you had to get your robe from reception. Never heard of that before & I for one didn't fancy coming down 8 floors to get it, then go back up 8 floors to our room to change & then down again to swim! We were also disappointed to find the whole pool roped off for lane swimming on a Sunday evening. We didn't eat at the hotel as on booking, the option for breakfast was very expensive & in such a good location, finding a good priced breakfast wasn't a problem. As it turned out, I'm glad we didn't eat at the hotel as I have since discovered that its official food hygiene rating, awarded earlier this year, is only a ONE!! Finally, I was surprised to see that the housekeeping trolley & a vacuum cleaner remained in the hallway, just outside the door to the lifts, throughout the duration of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenbear5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I am pleased you found your rooms clean and satisfactory. I regret however that your expectations were not fully satisfied on this occasion. Please accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barvaux sur ourthe
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

the Grange city hotel is really beautifull. I have this pleasure the day when i come to have an executive room. With sofa chocolates, drink. Hifi is Bose and i have excellent classic music.the king size bed for myself,whoooah. very wonderfull breakfeast and dinner at the Forum restaurand. the staff is gentle at the reception and everywhere, happy to stay in this great hotel. i hope to return in this hotel as soon. Try the Ajala spa!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1957lil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for three nights whilst attending a Charity Ball at the Hotel. Overall excellent. We were upgraded to a larger room with balcony. The latter slightly disapointing with limited views, a very awkward step up and no seating.However we weren't there for the "room with a view". Very comfortable bed and excellent shower over bath. This was unfortunately uncomfortable to access and exit. A simple robust grab handle on the wall would have been a simple answer, stepping out of a wet shower with no adequate support is an accident waiting to happen. The Ball was exceptionally well organised with well presented food and efficent service but the extra wine (only 4 bottles supplied for a table of 10, although this was possibly not the fault of the hotel) at £32.95 for a bottle of mediocre Rioja was a bit steep. Also a service charge of 10% for bar drinks may be common practice in the City but is unacceptable to an old Innkeeper like me. One other small quibble, I could not find either in the room or in the lobby any brochures regarding whats on in the locality. I do not wish to appear negative. We had a great stay, wonderfully friendly and plentiful staff (no undue waiting at reception), a large, comfortable and clean room, with a great location so near to the river. Also terrific value, only £399 for three nights (including excellent breakfast in spotless surroundings) in London. Sorry about the small moans we had a terrific stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. We are pleased you found the ball you attended exceptional and the food well presented and also found our staff wonderful. Your comments have been noted. We hope you will stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had a terrible stay! My sister and I were over in London on a business trip at the beginning of August.
We had a free day on the Saturday that we arrived and bought items when we went shopping- we left them in our room the following day and they were stolen upon our return.
We contacted management immediately when we noticed it missing to which they replied 'the staff wouldn't have done it because they wouldn't risk their job'
They then ignored that this had happened.
The duty manager told us they had no CCTV outside bedrooms and we therefore had no proof- he made us feel like we were in the wrong!!! He then told us that we had no proof so we couldn't do anything.
We had to then contact the police. The police recommended that the hotel take the amount from our bill as CCTV at the reception shows us walk in with the shopping bags but management refused.
The hotel has a duty of care to their patrons but they did not care once we had paid for our accommodation.
Horrendous and stressful trip due to poor hotel and horrendous attitude from management- very disappointed, I would never dream of treating my customers in this way. Totally disgusted that this should happen in a 5* hotel

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest, I am sorry you feel that items were "stolen" from your room. Our reports show nothing untoward in the servicing of your room. We can identify that the only access to your room was authorised and we are unable to explain where the items you have reported went. I understand that the police were callled and we have cooperated with them - they issued no crime reference number and in these circumstances we are regrettably unable to help further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I feel the hotel is outdated, the first room I stayed in the, 'desk' had the TV on it, a bolted down alarm clock and the phone, could not actually do any work on it. The bathroom was very outdated, with rust/mould on the shower screen doors. I ended upgrading myself and the executive room was much better but still just felt the hotel wasn't up to the same standard as others, not for this price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Toomsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
I am sorry to learn your expectations were not fully satisfied. Please accept my apologies. It would be good if you could contact us to in order that we can make investigations. I hope that you will consider staying with us in the future, maybe at our newest hotel the Grange Tower Bridge which is just a few minutes walk from the Grange City Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#222 of 1,069 in London
3,649 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#324 of 1,069 in London
4,257 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#232 of 1,069 in London
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Four Seasons Hotel London at Ten Trinity Square
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#88 of 1,069 in London
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Property: Grange City Hotel
Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#250 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing