We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as Grange Tower Bridge or St Paul's”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #345 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not as good as Grange Tower Bridge or St Paul's”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed with 6 friends & whilst we asked for adjoining twin rooms & on check-in we were told we had been upgraded to exec twins, when we got back to the hotel to collect our keys all our rooms had been changed. We had 4 rooms on different floors & whilst 3 were huge rooms all had a double & a pull out bed.

No water or biscuits in the room & when we checked in, the times for breakfast were not outlined, nor where to locate the spa, or any wifi code.

Breakfast was served in a make shift side room away from main restaurant & choice not as good.

All in all, a pretty average stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Depac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    951
    426
    169
    107
See reviews for
326
1,211
116
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We often stay at hotels within the Grange group. We booked during a recent flash sale. We stayed in room 223, the view was rubbish! overlooked Fenchurch street station but I suppose that's what happens when you book a cheap room. The room was a little dated but clean and comfortable. When we arrived we found only 3 coat hangers and so contacted housekeeping and they immediately supplied some more. We do not normally eat breakfast in the hotel but with the offer came a free continental breakfast which was served to 11am. We ate at 10am so did the rest of the hotel. Long queues and so the hotel set up another restaurant next door but service was poor as was the breakfast variety and so we did not bother the next day.

We had a good stay finding a gem of a pub nearby but next time I would not stay at the CIty choosing to stay at the sister hotel, Tower Bridge

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmc008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is very close to the Tower Hill subway station. Even though we were there as part of a secret hotel deal from Lastminute (114£ per night), we were upgraded to an executive room, with a higher floor, bigger room with a sofa by the floor to ceiling windows. Great view of the Tower of London and the City on the sides.
You get free wifi, nice proper iron and table, hairdryer, safe, bath, kettle for tea, the independent newspaper by your door in the morning and FT in the lobby.
The gym and swimming pool are located at the spa on the lower ground floor. Swimming pool is pretty big with three different speed lanes. The gym has everything you need cardio or weights wise, with a water fountain and a trainer on site. Changing rooms with showers and swimming trunks dryer.
You can upgrade your room to club for an extra 29£, which gives you access to breakfast, a business center, earlier check in and later check out (2pm).
They also have female friendly rooms if you like ;)
Overall, it was a wonderful stay, especially for the price, given the dodgy hotels you can get in London for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmdpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked the hotel and spa facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very modern building with comfortable bedrooms in the center of London

Excellent continental breakfast with lots of choice.

Located not far from the metro with several lines.

Definitely a place to stay for a three-day trip to London.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citron9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
So pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed for one night as part of a weekend away. I had requested a rom with a crew, which was granted in the form of a complimentary upgrade to an executive room with an amazing view of Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. I used the pool area both days and enjoyed swimming in the very big pool, as well as relaxing in the sauna, steam room, aromatherapy room and jacuzzi. We enjoyed a drink in the hotel bar which was reasonably priced. The hotel breakfast was included; even though it states complimentary, you can help yourself to the full breakfast. There was a lot of variety and I enjoyed the food. The hotel is practically next to Tower Hill station, which is a lovely area of London. This is the third Grange hotel I have stayed in and I always have a great experience. Whenever I have made a request, they have always fulfilled it. I'm looking forward to my next stay at a Grange hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherbie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the amazing view. Thank you for the excellent review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great hotel. well located not far from the tube station. rooms were standard but very clean. did get charged for moving a tonic water in my mini bar really should read the rules and law of a mini bar before moving items inside !!!!! still a very good breakfast and nice enough stay

Room Tip: some rooms over look the railway. be careful if you open the curtains in the morning :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awils71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. So long as the tonic water was still in the mini bar the refund would have been easy to rectify. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night whilst on a family trip to London. On arriving at the hotel we had to walk through a crowd of smokers who had congregated outside the front door. Although not the hotel's fault, it's not a great first impression. The hotel itself & our rooms were clean. Our room also had a good view across to Tower Bridge & HMS Belfast. Our son's room however had a railway line below, where the trains stopped, so windows needed to be kept shut due to the noise & smell and so the air-conditioning was used, which was rather noisy.
Disappointed that there were no robes provided in our rooms, so we had to go down to the spa & pool fully clothed. We queried this with the spa staff who said you had to get your robe from reception. Never heard of that before & I for one didn't fancy coming down 8 floors to get it, then go back up 8 floors to our room to change & then down again to swim! We were also disappointed to find the whole pool roped off for lane swimming on a Sunday evening. We didn't eat at the hotel as on booking, the option for breakfast was very expensive & in such a good location, finding a good priced breakfast wasn't a problem. As it turned out, I'm glad we didn't eat at the hotel as I have since discovered that its official food hygiene rating, awarded earlier this year, is only a ONE!! Finally, I was surprised to see that the housekeeping trolley & a vacuum cleaner remained in the hallway, just outside the door to the lifts, throughout the duration of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenbear5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I am pleased you found your rooms clean and satisfactory. I regret however that your expectations were not fully satisfied on this occasion. Please accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#226 of 1,069 in London
3,622 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#322 of 1,069 in London
4,229 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#235 of 1,069 in London
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Four Seasons Hotel London at Ten Trinity Square
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#81 of 1,069 in London
3,748 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Property: Grange City Hotel
Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#247 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing