We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Location - Not a 5 Star Hotel”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #373 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We booked this hotel on Last Minute for a really good price and after reading the description were really looking forward to a 5 star night in London. The location is fantastic, a minute walk from the tube station and a two minute walk to the Tower of London. Our check in was ok, very busy when we arrived, although no-one showed us to our room or offered to take our luggage,we were waved in the general direction of the lift to our floor.
The room was very clean and spacious, on our booking confirmation it said that an ipod docking staion would be one of the ammenities, there was only a cd player and radio. The Molton Brown toiletries are lovely and the thickly glazed windows are fantastic for keeping the noisy London traffic out, so we did sleep wonderfully.
We ordered room service late in the evening, and the food left a lot to be desired, my pizza looked and tasted as though it was frozen and had come from Iceland, not worth the £13.50 by any means. Based on our room service food we decided to pass on breakfast which was priced at £23.00 each!
Another reason we chose this hotel was because of the spa, the pictures on the website were beautiful and I couldn't wait to relax before we went out for supper. We had no robes in our room so called down to the spa to ask if they were provided, I was told rather sternly 'we have towels and locker keys'! We did not time our trip to the spa well, as we arrived a large group of loud women on a hen party arrived, greatly disturbing the quiet. Even in the steam room you could her them at the other end of the pool, complete disregard for people trying to swim or relax. The steam room was dirty with a nasty greenish stain on the floor and it had far too much eucalyptus fragance in; stinging both mine and my partners eyes and I could taste it in my throat for a good time after. The sauna was old and tired, with bits of newspaper all over and a big stain on the floor. We decided to end our spa trip after only 15 minutes and as we left the spa a rather rude employee pushed through the doors as I opened them, knocking into me with no appology.
Our check out was slow, with just two receptionist it was obvious why, however the receptionist was very friendly and could not be faulted. The concierge service worked well and the hotel will store your luggage for you after check out should you wish to explore London. The hotel would have been greatly overpriced had we payed full rate, however with the late deal we got it was fine for what we needed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hattie88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,297 - 2,303 of 2,988 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2011

Stayed here for a week-end with friends. Great location. Rooms were brilliant - we were upgraded. They were all luxurious and spacious. Superb swimming pool.
Taxi rank just outside the hotel which was very handy. Underground very close by. Staff all very friendly. Breakfast fine. Some staff (waiting staff and housekeeping) had limited English but too big a problem. Have already booked to go back - can't get a better recommendation than that!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The hotel was very comfortable, with spacious rooms for European standards. It's location is perfect for business, though it can get quiet at night with little night life or amenities nearby. While the Tower of London is close, there is a surprising lack of restaurants or eateries nearby. It is short cab ride to Knightsbridge or Oxford, and a good walk to most attractions. Beds were extremely comfortable. Any slight criticisms: telephone keypads were not clean (nor was the remote control - are they ever?), television was low definition, hair dryer was awful, and the clothes closet had an odd smell-with a pants press but no iron. Room service was acceptable but they didnt remove the trays promptly. Most of the chamber staff do not speak English (dont ask for more towels or say more than hello), and the breakfast buffet staff were friendly and earnest, but if you deviated from the "normal script" in any way, their language and service shortcomings quickly revealed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makena11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We had a nice stay in Grange city hotel in January, the best thing about this hotel is its location, very close to the metro station & tower bridge, the room is clean but I would not consider it as 5 star, free wi-fi which is very nice. The discount rate they are offering in winter is what it values for I would say.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hauschka888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

What a wonderful hotel. I have stayed at many hotels of a similar rating in my time, and have sometimes been disappointed wondering how they managed to be classified as being 5*.
Grange City, however was exactly the standard I had hoped for. The staff were so incredibly friendly and willing to deal with my requests and queries. We rang several times; we had a problem with the blinds which was resolved immediately and they were very apologetic, we were unable to work out how to run the bath (it isn't at all obvious - perhaps they should have included it in the guest information pack) but they were very helpful with that also. I could not have asked for more from a hotel.
The pool and spa were delightful - just like the photos (unlike some hotels).
I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zarz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights - bed was lovely but room a bit small, free internet in room sbut have to log in with details each time you want to use it. Concierge gave us toothpaste and shoe polish upon request. Breakfast was grand - more than enough choice - small teaspoons a bit hard to find. also on the 4th floor there was a smell of food cooking at the end of the corridor. Gym was good too - did not have swimsuit to try pool. Location good - no free parking nearby though. Shame the restaurant was not open weekends - missed a great sushi offer.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnellap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

The hotel is situated by tower hill tube station, excellent location for bars and restraunts.we were lucky enough to be on the 11th floor and had a view of tower bridge.The staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. the pool and facilities are excellent,clean and tidy. the breakfast was very good.The rooms are very comfortable with plenty of wardrobe space, safe, coffee/tea making.i will definatly be staying here again.just like to thank the hotel for a lovely weekend away.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnienut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#246 of 1,081 in London
3,864 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#360 of 1,081 in London
4,503 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Holborn Hotel
Grange Holborn Hotel
#409 of 1,081 in London
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#83 of 1,081 in London
4,175 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#232 of 1,081 in London
3,030 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in London
#208 Romantic Hotel in London
#233 Business Hotel in London
#263 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £102 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing