We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
Ranked #320 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
1 review
“Disappointing room”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is a great location for Wimbledon and parking is included. The public areas of the hotel were very smart and well decorated. The bedroom and bathroom appear not to have been renovated for about 20 years....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Management, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Hotel, Putney, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Good afternoon Kim W,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about The Lodge Hotel.

I am happy to hear you found our location convenient for Wimbledon. I hope you were able to see some of the matches!

While the majority of our rooms have been recently updated, there are several that do require attention. In early August we will be addressing this issue by commencing some building work. After these renovations have been completed all of our rooms will have the same level of decor.

I hope that if you do find yourself in Putney again you might give us another chance to change your opinion.

Kind regards,
Sarah Hanes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    475
    181
    88
    46
See reviews for
299
457
101
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
preston,lancs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed on 3 night deal third night free. Good value but expensive if paid full price. Executive Room comfortable and clean but small. On flight path but didn't bother us. In fact my husband loved plane spotting every minute!!
Tea and coffee facilities poor. Small selection of drinks and no biscuits. Not restocked for 3 night stay. Had to phone reception for replenishments.
Also toiletries not restocked. Glad i too my own.
Small things but make a difference to overall stay.
Breakfast good.lots of choice. Possibly slightly overpriced. Food in restaurant excellent.
Parking was useful staff pleasant and helpful. Tube few minutes walk.
Overall very pleasant stay. Would stay again but only if 3 night deal is on offer again.


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lynne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

extremely nice place, the staff is welcomming and helpful, lovely garden and breakfast and dining room directly on the garden, nice food, nice bar, an excellent place to stay. The lodge has excellent family rooms

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Spotlessly clean and friendly efficient staff, especially at breakfast. Perfectly reasonable size room for this price in London and everything worked. Minor fault in bathroom light reported and fixed by the time we returned. Easy access to Central London.
Main problem.....it's under the flight path into Heathrow and the flights in seem to commence about 5am. We were down the side of the hotel so were not disturbed by the busy road outside but the planes made it difficult to sleep on in the morning.
That said, we'd still go there again as it is particularly well located for our purposes and a lot of other places must have the same problem.

Room Tip: Avoid front to avoid road noise. Planes are unavoidable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

spotlessly clean, comfortable, friendly helpful staff. food was good if a little pricey. beds not bad but we're used to a super king at home but was ok for a couple of nights. no aircon in our room (which we were aware of when booking) but a fan in the room made the warm room a little more bearable. good proximity for Wimbledon and tube which was exactly what we wanted. Breakfast pricey for what was on offer and service at breakfast was very poor. needs some work.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank familygirlswinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Management, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Hotel, Putney, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Good afternoon Familygirlswinton,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about The Lodge Hotel.

I am happy to hear you were generally comfortable over your stay and found our location convenient for your needs. However, it is unfortunate that breakfast did not reflect our normal service standards on the dates you stayed.

We understand that, due to the nature of the building, some of our rooms do get warm as summer approaches. To help make our guests’ stays more enjoyable, new air conditioning units have been fitted into some additional rooms. As you mentioned, there are also fans available for guests who might require one.

If you find yourself in Putney in the future we would love to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Sarah Hanes
Guest Relations Manager
The Lodge Hotel
sarah@thelodgehotellondon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Small friendly hotel, superb location in Putney, two minute walk to Tube Station, plenty of bars, cafes, pubs, restaurants, shops etc., within easy walking distance. Never ate in the restaurant but the buffet breakfast is good

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Needs improvement. The staff were not over friendly. The room wax shabby with a lamp that didn't work and a shower that didn't drain and so overflowed. The floorboards above our room creaked and so from early morning we were disturbed with creaking!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Management, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Hotel, Putney, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Good afternoon Nick H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about The Lodge Hotel.

I am sorry to hear that we failed to make a good first impression with you.

While we want everything to be in working order for our guests, unfortunately there are times where things do not perform as they should. I am not sure if you had the chance to raise these issues with reception prior to check out, however we do have maintenance in throughout the day and porters in the evening that would have been able to assist with the lights and drain.

If you do find yourself in Putney again I would welcome the chance to make a better impression of our hotel and our services.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail please do not hesitate to contact me at sarah@thelodgehotellondon.com

Kind regards,
Sarah Hanes
Guest Relations Manager
The Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiswick
Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Hotel, Putney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Hotel, Putney

Property: The Lodge Hotel, Putney
Address: 52-54 Upper Richmond Road | Putney, London SW15 2RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#299 Business Hotel in London
#316 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge Hotel, Putney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge Hotel, Putney is a gorgeously designed Boutique Hotel with exceptional service, offering unrivalled value to the discerning cultivated traveller. Putting comfort and hospitality first to answer the call for a relaxed, smartly curated place to stay in west London. Highlights seventy-three stylish bedrooms, an intimate bar & restaurant, residents lounge, gym & several fabulous Events spaces, and private terrace, all with free high speed Wi-Fi and personal attention to create a truly boutique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge Hotel, Putney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Putney
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing