We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge Hotel, Putney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
Ranked #330 of 1,089 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have stayed in many hotels in Scotland and UK but it beggars belief on how you can charge so much for so little. Room 51was dusty with shabby furniture. The room was on the front but unfortunately shoddy windows did not stop any noise night and day. We were told we had been upgraded but we did not believe it. We were not being given breakfast in the upgrade and no bath.
We mentioned to the receptionist the next morning about the bath and breakfast. We could have cancelled and re-booked for the luxury room with breakfast for £40 less. As for Boutique hotel, we do not think so. We were also told there was no lift and nobody available to help with luggage!!! We would like an explanation if possible.

Room Tip: Just don,t go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Management, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Hotel, Putney, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Good afternoon Gillian J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Lodge Hotel.

With regards to your booking, the room that you were upgraded into was indeed a luxury room. Even at our lowest selling regular rate luxury doubles are not below £170 for a 1 night stay, so I am unsure of where you saw such a low figure online. Certainly personal tastes might be different but shabby is not how I would classify the furniture in the room. Each room in the hotel is slightly different in terms of accessories/bath and shower arrangements and room size, however the style of the furniture is accurately depicted online. I have discussed the dust with our head of housekeeping and she will certainly be looking in this.

I spoke with my colleague regarding the breakfast and lift and she had mentioned to be that she did try to offer breakfast and that the request for assistance with the luggage, which we ask every guest at check in, was declined.

If you would like to discuss the particulars with me directly I would welcome the chance to speak with you one to one. You can reach me at sarah@thelodgehotellondon.com at your convenience.

Kind regards,
Sarah Hanes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    446
    172
    86
    44
See reviews for
281
420
98
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very comfortable hotel with efficient staff but noise insulation in bedrooms could be much improved. Friendly but protective ambience.The is good. Should have been offered a bath as well as shower for the more expensive executive room I paid but next time I will ask for this.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joglide M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Management, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Hotel, Putney, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Good afternoon Joglide M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about The Lodge Hotel.

I am pleased to hear you were generally satisfied with your stay. As you mentioned, bath and shower options vary between rooms, however if you do have a preference please let our reservation or reception team know prior to arrival and we will do our best to allocate your preferred style.

If you do find yourself in Putney again we would welcome the chance to host you again.

Kind regards,
Sarah Hanes
Guest Relations Manager
sarah@thelodgehotellondon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The staff were excellent and very helpful. They provided extra chairs immediately upon request at the correct height for the make up artists in the bridal room. There were no problems putting an Interflora arrangement in the bride's room ready for her arrival.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Management, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Hotel, Putney, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Good afternoon Jane H,

I am happy to hear that our staff were of assistance on what I imagine was a busy day for you. Thank you for taking the time to let us know.
I hope the bride had a fantastic day!

Kind Regards,
Sarah Hanes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

A brilliant hotel with helpful and attentive staff.

Beautifully decorated with all the amenities you could need.

Bar is lovely and makes a great gin and tonic. The food in the restaurant was to die for. Would recommend as a place to say, eat or get a drink. Or all three.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Management, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Hotel, Putney, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Good afternoon Robert B,

I am pleased to you hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us!
If you find yourself in Putney in the future we would love to host you again.

Kind Regards,
Sarah Hanes
Guest Relations Manager
sarah@thelodgehotellondon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

On arrival the staff weren't particularly friendly or helpful. This was a shame considering the amount we paid for the room.

Reception should also pay more attention to detail too. We asked to book a cab for 9:15 (we were trying to get to a wedding asap) and they booked it for 25 past and then it didn't arrive for another ten minutes after that. Little things like this really marred our stay.

However, the staff in the morning were considerably more polite and helpful than their colleges from the night before.

I would however make a changing to the early booking policy with the discount. Having booked quite a while a go, we then looked at the prices again closer to our stay and a top priced room cost less than we paid. We couldn't cancel after this (not even to re-book), which was frustrating. Being offered an upgrade and a bottle of wine in the room was a nice gesture but I still believe this service should be reviewed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Despite the glossy boutique image of the hotel on the website it was quite apparent money had not been spent on the room we stayed in. ..... a cramped dark executive twin with no air conditioning on the ground floor .Discoloured bathroom tiles, dated furniture and shabby wallpaper. On the whole expensive for what you got with no breakfast included in the price. A bit of a let down!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Claire D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Management, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Hotel, Putney, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Good afternoon Claire D T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Lodge Hotel.
I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. I’m not sure if you had a chance to inform our reception team of your disappointment during the course of your stay, but if we have the availability we can try to change room allocations for our guests.

Our building work has begun and the remaining block of rooms that were not renovated, which unfortunately you were in, are to be taken down and redone. Once the building work is complete all rooms will have a uniform level of modern decor.

If you are in Putney again I would welcome the chance to change your opinion on your stay. Please feel free to reach me directly at sarah@thelodgehotellondon.com

Kind regards,
Sarah Hanes
Guest Relations Manager
The Lodge Hotel
sarah.hanes@thelodgehotellondon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Conveniently located, comfortable 1 or 2 night stopover 3-star hotel with a bit of character. Nice breakfast conservatory and bar/library. Limited restaurant offering in the evening and a bit pricey for what is on offer. Single room is small but adequate The bathroom smelt fusty and a bit unpleasant. No aircon, so leave the window open in summer as the rooms higher up the building get very warm.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Management, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge Hotel, Putney, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Good afternoon Philip H,

Thank you for raising the point regarding the bathroom. Our housekeeping department will be looking into this.

If you are in Putney again we would welcome the chance to host you again.

Kind regards,

Sarah Hanes
Guest Relations Manager
The Lodge Hotel
sarah.hanes@thelodgehotellondon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
La Suite West - Hyde Park
La Suite West - Hyde Park
#429 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#224 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Hotel, Putney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Hotel, Putney

Property: The Lodge Hotel, Putney
Address: 52-54 Upper Richmond Road | Putney, London SW15 2RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#299 Business Hotel in London
#316 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge Hotel, Putney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge Hotel is a boutique haven in Putney, south west London, which over the past 40 years under the same family ownership has grown from a 9 bedroom guesthouse to encompass 77 bedrooms, a delectable all day restaurant & bar: Hide&seed, a library and numerous spaces for eating, drinking, meeting & events. Our unique building combines two grand victoria mansions and former coaching stables completely renovated in 2010, with a new state of the art wing launched in September 2015. We've retained the best of the original features and enhanced the hotel with contemporary additions and luxurious design touches. High end, low key. Features: 77 beautiful bedrooms Moments from East Putney tube station Free Parking Free Wi-Fi Free iMac use Open 24/7 Garden All day dining Conference & Events facilities Launching spring 2016: Gym, and Outdoor Terrance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge Hotel, Putney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Putney
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing