We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big joke”
Review of The Lonsdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lonsdale Hotel
Ranked #1,025 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Ploiesti, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A big joke”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

It amazes me how they have the guts to charge money for these rooms. It can't even be called a hotel. A real shame for London. Doesn't make it justice. I bet that not even rats would live here. Disgusting smell, old broken furniture.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evelina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    30
    49
    65
    353
See reviews for
61
135
67
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I initially submitted a review which Tripadvisor found unacceptable. This was particularly apt as I felt the same about this hotel. So anyway, here's the rewrite.
We paid 90 pounds to stay here.
We had to pay before seeing the room. There are many signs in reception explaining that there will be no refunds (a stance I am not sure is legal) as well as folders entitled 'pets control' and 'possible disputes'.
We had a communal bathroom. It was filthy.
The location of the room on the top floor genuinely concerned me with a view to fire.
The door had been badly repaired after being kicked open.
The bed had no duvet.
The wardrobe was unusable as it leaned precariously at nearly 45 degrees from the wall.
No tea or coffee making facilities.
TV didn't work.
Water damaged walls.
Bare strip lighting.
Bed bugs.
Unsanitary sink.
Gaps at foot and top of doors which meant you could hear every word of what went on in other rooms and vice versa.
This genuinely is the worst place I have ever stayed. Please don't give them your custom.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamieblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This 'hotel' would be more honestly advertised as a hostel (without trying to offend hostels). Admittedly it is placed in an impressive road in central London, unfortunately any hint of luxury suggested from the outside has long left the building. The room we stayed in was advertised as basic but I did not expect it to be in need of a total refurbishment. Basic does not mean one hanger each (aside from the wardrobe having no doors). Communal toilets out-of-order, 10 rooms sharing one toilet is not basic but unacceptable in todays world. Please shop around and get more for your money and then hopefully the owners of this building may consider the importance of being a Hotellier and owning such a beautiful building by investing in it.

Room Tip: Look somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viby J, Denmark
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The hotel is very run-down and it wouldn't be fun to stay in the winter. But there is a bed, the bathroom works and there is hot water. Tv works. Wifi would have given a better rating. The possibility to make a cup of coffee or tea would be great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Thought I was getting a deal when the website I booked through on the day I stayed, showed a price reduced from £140 to £80. Oh how wrong I was. Arrived a few hours before check in time, and asked if we could leave our bags until check in. Receptionist brusquely told us to leave them in a corner, and basically couldn't be bothered with us. Came back after check in time and was greeted by a slightly more welcoming member of staff who checked us in and took payment.
Went up a grubby staircase to the first floor and room 8. The first thing that hit us was the smell. A musty mouldy aroma filled the room despite the window being wedged open. We basically left the room straight away determined to spend the least amount of time there possible and went out to enjoy our evening.
The room was fairly cramped double bed against the wall on one side and the bathroom door hitting the bed on the other side. The single bed positioned near the door was ideally situated for banging your knees on the metal frame? Wardrobe had missing drawer and desk showed signs of botched repairs. Both were fit only for the dump. No coat hangers either. No chair. Very thin mattress and pillows made for an uncomfortable nights sleep. Only (clean) sheets and a very thin bedspread for covers. The room it's self was grubby. Layer of dust on skirting boards suggested they haven't been cleaned in months and a large mark (mould?) above the bed caused by a water leak and stained curtains. Only 2 of the 6 light fittings worked. Non-functioning wall lamps were full of dust and dodgy looking wiring. Only 2 sockets in the room also so it's a choice between watching tv or charging your phone. No WiFi either, although to be fair this was quite clearly stated before booking.
Bathroom was a tiny grubby plastic cubicle glued together with silicon and expanding foam filler. Very cramped. Shower head dangled at a useless angle but did provide a trickle of reasonably warm water. Evil looking drain hole just about kept up with the flow, but was in desperate need of a bucket of bleach. Sink and toilet functional.
No tea or coffee making facilities in room. Not even a water glass or disposable plastic cup in the bathroom.
The following morning I noticed a screw protruding about 1cm from the skirting board by the left hand side of the bathroom door. Luckily neither of us caught our ankles on it as it would probably have resulted in a trip to accident and emergency for stitches and antibiotics.
In summary a dingy, poorly maintained, poorly cleaned, hotel, run on a business plan, based on sucking in people with a seemingly cheap rate, and NEVER expecting repeat custom.
Do not under any circumstances be tempted to stay here. Despite the low rates it's still a total rip off!

Room Tip: Do not under any circumstances give this hotel your business. It is despite the low rates a total ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Booked this hotel for a business trip as it was close to our meeting venue.
From the outside the hotel looks lovely, on a nice road, in a nice area.
That is where the good ends!
We were in a twin room and I nearly didn't sleep on the bed it looked so disgusting! We were on the top floor, the room was so so dirty, the shower was basically in a cupboard...literally you couldn't even bend down it was so small! The room door has marks by the lock that look like somebody has previously tried to break into the room. Nothing in the room matched and it smelt odd.
The shared bathroom was a disgrace! There were rat droppings on the floor and the toilet was a very dark brown colour on the inside where it should have been white!
All night we got no sleep through noise from the rest of the hotel and also noise from the street. If you do by some miracle get some sleep it will be disturbed when cars and taxis start driving down the road from 6am beeping and just being noisy! The windows didn't seem to shut properly as it was very very loud!
Just save your money and book somewhere else, it took me days to feel clean again after staying here!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you want a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liverpool_89_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
#590 of 1,067 in London
257 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#664 of 1,067 in London
328 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#601 of 1,067 in London
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#585 of 1,067 in London
158 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#832 of 1,067 in London
44 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#292 of 1,067 in London
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lonsdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lonsdale Hotel

Property: The Lonsdale Hotel
Address: 9-10 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,025 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Georgian townhouse in Bloomsbury, homey, friendly atmosphere - Near the British Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lonsdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing