We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs!!!”
Review of The Lonsdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lonsdale Hotel
Ranked #1,031 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 6 August 2014

his has got to have been the worst hotel i have ever stayed at!!!
Traveled to London with my 12 yr old sonand picked this budget hotel. We didn't expect frills due to the budget price but didn't expect to stay in this creepy filthy place either. Greeted by strange and creepy chaps at reception - they led us to a basement room via a very dodgy looking dining area.....my sons face when they showed us inside the room just about said it all. Cobwebs, strange, sewerage smell coming from ensuite, which by the way looked like a portaloo gone wrong. Shabby beds, window open directly behind bed which couldn't be shut. Cracks and mould on the walls. Kept checking the bed for insects as it all felt so unclean. Spent most of the night petrified to be honest and if i had got the money i would have moved immediately to another hotel! My son spent most of the time in tears. Never again avoid t all costs!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

At check in, the receptionist asked if we would like to check our room then if its ok, come back and make a payment... that already got alarm bells ringing.

The room looked like a reconstructed prisoner of war camp set stolen from the imperial war museum.
Curtains hanging off the hooks, beds looked like you'd catch something from sitting on them, bathroom mouldy, waste basket in the bathroom was crushed and bent. There was also an overpowering smell of rotten eggs (raw sewage), which literally made you feel sick (apparently a problem with the drains according to the receptionist).

So naturally we went back up for a refund (which we got) only to see two guys to my astonishment asking if they did breakfast. Luckily the answer was no (no doubt the kitchen was shut down by environmental health). I would be embarrassed to work there.

We went to one of the nicer hotels across the street on the off chance they had a room, and basically paid an extra £25 for a double room which was pure luxury!

Room Tip: Leave. Go across the road or around the corner to Montague street, theres very posh hotels for a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I arrived at the Lonsdale with high expectation - Ive stayed in similiarly priced hotels in the vacinity & been more than satisfied with staff & facilities offered."Shabby" would be overrating it! I shared a twin bedded en suite room with my mum in law while we visited the city to attend my sons graduation at the Barbican.I must say that the two young men manning the reception desk were fairly friendly & good humoured but it was rapidly down hill from there on! Room 4 was reached through what may once have been a breakfast room, now haunted with dust covered cloths , old furniture units ( due to be condemned?) & several plastic wrapped mattresses.Treadbare carpets throughout. The room , poorly aired,smelt badly of mould - emanating from two massive damp patches on the right hand wall & ceiling. Tatty , thin curtain covered a dirty window, & ledge soiled with fag ends & a dirty radiator.The Tv only worked when Id called for assistance & fresh batteries were put in the handset. The bathroom was miniscule & looked like it had been grafted in from a defunct railway carriage, The wooden toilet seat had huge piece missing so either you hovered or had your bum pinched....... the sink was milldew lined & slow to empty & the shower only ran hot if you left it on the cold setting for a very long time! The extractor fan was partially duck taped to the ceiling. There was, surprisingly, plenty of toilet rolls but perhaps this was so that staff didnt have to enter to replenish. They certainly didnt empty the bin during our two night stay.
The desk & matching wardrobe were in the same condition as those already commented on - ie not fit for purpose & if any hoovering was ever undertaken it definetly didnt extend to under the beds! Here though is one positive - the bedding was clean, warm & covered two apparently new & comfortable mattresses! So we did have a good nights sleep ( no outside noise & none indoors- perhaps everyone else had already read these reviews?!) despite the nightmare environs!! The over the bed lamps were appallingly mounted on the wall & only one worked. There was just a single bulb working of three in the main overhead light.
Of course there were definetly no tea or coffee making facilities which would have gone a long way to placating our disappointment.
If it wasnt for my mum in laws constant good humour & the fact that we actually spent very little time at the Lonsdale this experience could have ruined what was otherwise a very rewarding & celebratory couple of days. It certainly doesnt give a good impression ofthe UK tourist trade !
Never again!
Oh & the now rather surly chap in reception said they would happily mind your luggage after the 10am vacation time ....at a cost of £5 per piece.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank ROSEMARY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Room was too hot, bed was too hard, could feel the springs almost breaking through. Room furniture ill-fit and shabby, sink plumbing not good, hot and cold taps wrong way round (i.e, hot water came from 'cold' tap and vise-versa). Shared bathrooms in poor state, in one the door was hanging off of only one hinge! One shower was broken, another worked but hung from the wall (bracket busted). For like, £15-£20 a night I would maybe be satisfied for what it cost, but as it stands it's still cheap, but not nearly cheap enough considering what you get!

Room Tip: Take an extra layer of padding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Symon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

damp, mould, bad smell. Stayed in the hotel for less than 15 mins and had to leave because of 2 flea bites from our room. Stay away at all costs. Also tried to charge me more than the agreed price, and said I never paid the deposit.

Room Tip: dont use any, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
5  Thank Stuiebgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Checked in on the 28 June with my son and lasted less than 15 mins. Reception had no change when i made my payment, and to be honest, i did'nt trust giving them my card details. I was then told when I was going out, I would need to leave my room key with them for my and their security. The worse was to come when we arrived at room 6. The room smelt like a morgue, with 1 rotten double bed and a fold up camp bed with the head board under the sink. Walls were covered in damp and mould. A shaver wall socket was hanging out with wires exposed. I ended up leaving and going to the nearby president hotel which was nearly the same price. From that point after, fantastic holiday. But please, stay away from the Lonsdale Hotel.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel, better still, sleep rough in the park across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I went to stay at the hotel for check in 24th June - check out 26th for two nights but had to check out on 24th because it smelt of mold and damp, dirty walls, two mattresses on one bed the bed was caving in at the bottom with screws lose, cables all on floor, a lose bar on wall the was having on (just), mold of the ceiling could not stay because the smell was soo bad, wanted a refund off my £110 that I paid but was only allowed to receive £27.50p back even though I did not even stay a single night

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
#603 of 1,076 in London
259 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#669 of 1,076 in London
340 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#563 of 1,076 in London
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#456 of 1,076 in London
1,068 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#522 of 1,076 in London
551 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#602 of 1,076 in London
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lonsdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lonsdale Hotel

Address: 9-10 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,031 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £41 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Georgian townhouse in Bloomsbury, homey, friendly atmosphere - Near the British Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lonsdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing