We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Pax Lodge”
Review of Pax Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pax Lodge
Ranked #96 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We visited Pax Lodge this past July. My sister has been a Guide Leader for almost 30 or more years so this was a place that was on her "to do list".

We ate lunch & dinner at the lodge along with our first 'British Tea'.

The staff was brilliant, very helpful. We were able to use the internet while we were there and it was quite reasonable.

The tour was also very good.

I think this would be a great place to take Girl Guides while in London and would consider the accommodations more along the lines of a 'hostel' rather than anything else. It's nothing fancy but it was really clean. We did not stay at the lodge.

But, their volunteers are what made this a great visit. The tours that they gave were very nicely done. If they were not able to answer a question they were diligent and did their best to find the answer.

Food was good, tea was a nice experience.

Go just to meet the volunteers! Plan your visit in advance and bring a patch from your guide facility with you. People love to look at all the different ones that are collected from all over the world.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

We just returned from a week at Pax, followed by a few days in Paris. While I warn American travelers that this is not a hotel or a B&B but a Girl Guides facility. Once you know that, it's an amazing place to stay. The staff and volunteers are fabulous. Food seemed a bit high, but seemed that way throughout London. Breakfast is "continental," dinner is like eating at your grandma's house (simple, home-cooked things like pork roast, chicken with rice, etc. that you pass around - nothing to brag about but wholesome), bag lunches are like you'd pack for a kid for school. We never ate lunch there, so I can't comment. Yes, the laundry facilities were difficult as mentioned by others, but we managed. The best part was the feeling of belonging to the world organization and meeting and interacting with Scouts from around the world. Hopefully the contacts we made with other troops will turn into friendships and trips to other parts of the world. We stayed in twin rooms with shared bathrooms. Beds were small but comfy and clean. No A/C, TV, or phones in room. Bathrooms were clean, kitchen facilities were too. I can't wait to return with my younger daughter's troop in a few years.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cccarney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We were just visiting and did not stay at the hostel, but what a memorable afternoon we had in fellowship with other girl scout supporters. A few tips to have a great visit (versus a stay):

1. Plan to visit. Bring a patch from your council. There is a special place to share it with the volunteers at the lodge and the other visitors who come that year.

2. Call ahead and book a tour. This was you have a someone ready to receive you. Impromptu tours don't appear to be too much of a problem, but the lodge is a good distance from the main tourist areas so it would be better to call (or email) ahead.

3. Make it an afternoon and plan on a "cream tea" at the lodge. This was the tasty topper to the tour and solidified the experience for us. I've included a couple of pictures. The Lodge goes all out to accommodate their visiting guests.

4. Expect to learn. We walked away just blown away by the new understanding of what the World Association of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts (WAGGGS) are doing to promote and protect the role of girls and young women across the planet. We were impressed with their work with the United Nations and the opportunities for volunteering that the WAGGGS opened up for our daughter on a scale we had never considered. It is an impressive effort.

We combined this trip with a walk through Camden Market on the way up and I do NOT recommend that route. Camden Market was a zoo. The area of Hampstead at the Belsize station has several eating options and we had lunch there prior to our afternoon visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stay in many hotels in a year for business and pleasure. I must say Pax Lodge isn't a 5 star hotel. It is very similar to University dorm room. Nothing fancy. It is very clean, the atmosphere is warm and friendly, it is like being home. The amenities are wonderful, washer dryer, a kitchen to cook your own meals if you wish. Your fee includes breakfast; eggs, toast, coffee, cereal, fresh fruit, juices....Nothing fancy but good. You can also ask for a bag lunch. You can buy tickets to site see London attractions, list goes on for what they have available. The girls that run the place are very friendly and helpful.

The location is perfect, a 10min walk to the Underground station, pass many shops and restaurants on the way. Then another 15min tube ride to where most of the attractions or shopping is located. It is located in a nice area. Never worried about my safety walking around.

Because my accommodation where so inexpensive, comfortable and accessible, I didn't have to eat out as often. I was able to spend my money on things i wanted to bring home. See more of the city!

I must say one thing in closing, it is a very clean, friendly safe, place to stay. Everyone that works there is great. One person did stand out and that was the receptionist during the day. She was so helpful, she knew all the answers to my questions and was a huge help. She always had a smile and welcomed everyone. Great Job girls...Now i need to see the other world centers! I will return to see you all next September!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pam528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We're Girl Scouts in the US so we jumped at the chance to stay at the World Center Pax Lodge when visiting London. The majority of the people working or volunteering there were wonderful. We loved meeting so many different people from different countries. The breakfast each day was good and filling. We didn't get to participate in any other meals but I think the food is fairly good there. We were originally worried about being a little far out from London, but it really wasn't an issue. Pax is in a nice neighborhood, so we felt plenty safe walking to the nearest bus or Tube stop. From there, it was only about 15 min. via Tube to wherever we wanted to go. The Tube is an awesome way to get around. My only complaint about Pax is that they don't enforce quiet times at night so a few nights, some of the kids were running up and down the hallway being very loud when we were trying to sleep. I felt like I was staying in a college dorm. They also lock the guest laundry at night for some reason, and it made it complicated trying to get our laundry done. It's worth your time to figure out which shower was better than the others, b/c they varied greatly in water pressure. Sometimes I'd switch out a wet mat for a dry one in an unused shower. We had a nice stay at Pax and I would stay there again (although my husband says he won't!)! It met our needs well enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Pax Lodge is more of a hostel type environment, but as a girl scout it is great. It is a place you can meet people from all over the world. Breakfast is simple but good. The guest kitchen is wonderful - makes it easy to do meals without having to eat out all the time. Flag in the morning is optional, but enjoyable.

They do have some ensuite rooms so couples can feel comfortable too.

They also sell discount tickets - check it out - I was able to save over 5 pounds on an entrance.

I learned to use the buses this trip - 24 and 168 each take different routes into London proper and were great ways to travel where I needed to go.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank okgirlscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liljekonval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
8.2 mi away
Metro House Hotel
Metro House Hotel
#343 of 923 in London
20 reviews
2.6 mi away
Home London
Home London
#507 of 923 in London
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Safestay
Safestay
#19 of 923 in London
1,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Primrose Guesthouse
Primrose Guesthouse
#39 of 571 in London
183 reviews
5.5 mi away
Queen Elizabeth Chelsea
Queen Elizabeth Chelsea
#317 of 923 in London
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pax Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pax Lodge

Address: 12c Lyndhurst Road | Olave Centre, London NW3 5PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £17 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pax Lodge is a hostel tucked away in the Belsize Park area of London and 5 minutes' walk from its Tube station. Free WiFi access is available. Extras include bed linen and a fan. At Pax Lodge you will find a garden. All rooms are bright, clean and spacious. Other facilities offered at the property include meeting facilities, luggage storage, a shared lounge for guests and a vending machine. The property offers free parking. Within walking distance of the property, guests will find independent cafes, parks and Keats' House. Eclectic Camden is 1.5 miles away. The hostel is 500 metres from Belsize Park, 700 metres from Hampstead and 900 metres from Finchley Road. London Heathrow Airport is 22 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pax Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing