We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shh! a hidden gem: the place, the people and the food all feel Happy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marsh Ruby - CLOSED

Marsh Ruby
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
london
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Shh! a hidden gem: the place, the people and the food all feel Happy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Ever since I discovered this by accident, I've been back a few times and - even though it's only open weekday lunchtimes at present - I've made special trips there to take friends.
The food shouldn't really be called Curry as it's the opposite of gloopy.
Fresh tasting, clean-tasting and vibrant.
www.marshruby.com

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank howpeopletick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This really is a little gem, my only saddness is that Ingrid doesnt have a chain, her food is exceptional and very fresh and tasty, you can make your meal as hot n spicy as you like with the option of fresh chilli on the side of your plate, if you can't make up your mind you can opt for the half n half or even a trio, this is must have at least once a week and actually healty, please give it a go, you have nothign to lose Yummmm

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelJels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap, tasty and healthy Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I found this place by accident when in the Lower Marsh area, but when going in I realised it was run by the same people who used to have street food stall in the road when I worked there some years ago. A great find - £5 or so for a really tasty plateful with next to no oil. Tables, surroundings all very clean. Indian food as I like it, and very warm and welcoming service from the owner - just as I remember.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Punter001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Be Quick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This little curry shop is a hidden gem. But be warned if you blink you can miss it.

Hidden behind a mediocre frontage its easy to miss, but it serves the best and fastest indian curries in the area. All made fresh and using organic produce, when its gone its gone.

Pity its only open for a few hours a day, but well worth a visit...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I only discovered Marsh Ruby recently despite walking past it so many times. The shop front is unassuming so it is easy to miss.
Just as all the other reviewers say, it's no-fuss, fast and healthy Indian food at budget prices. The portions come in regular or large - I go for the regular and it more than fills me up. Free salad, yogurt and chill comes on the side. Also, staff are always friendly.
For me the big bonus is the option for brown rice and the use of free-range chicken. There's also the option to mix and match your order with 2 different dishes. The meals are light and healthy so I never have that 'food coma' feeling afterwards. Perfect for a quick casual lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleFl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marsh Ruby also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing