We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Look beyond the decor and you'll find a gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Porchetta Pollo Bar

La Porchetta Pollo Bar
Ranked #2,479 of 21,593 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Soho
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Look beyond the decor and you'll find a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Food was excellent and good value, service attentive, friendly and efficient, truly Italian flavour in the heart of London. As a party of 5 having 5 starters, 6 mains and wines it all came at around £100, very impressive for Soho!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank viaggitrice_ligure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    133
    35
    20
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Real Italy in the heart of Soho!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

La Porchetta is unbelieveable! I've been there many times and it's never failed. A real Italian buzz is the first thing one notices because this place always teems with the happy hum of Italian voices - it's always full of Italian customers, and all the staff are too. Seeing as this is an Italian pizzeria that can only be a good sign - and it is! But the obvious good atmosphere is just the start. The menu is basically a vast range of pizza or pasta dishes (and a little more). Prices are dead cheap. The quality of the food is first rate both in preparation, taste, size (gargantuan real Italian sized pizza)... And of course there's a good deserts, coffee, affordable wine... This place doesn't pretend to be an upmarket pretentious restaurant nor is it a boring ubiquitous franchise. It is unique; fantastic atmosphere, fantastic food, fantastic price. It's right in the middle of town just round the corner from Cambridge Circus/Leicester Square. There's no excuse not to go!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I've eaten a lot of pizza and pasta in my life, so a high rating from me for an Italian restaurant means it is GOOD. It's all very fresh, tasty, and comes in large quantities. Choice is basic, but everything is worth having at least once. The value is amazing. Service is fair and very friendly. Atmosphere is low-key, but crowds are fun and happy. The house wine is not the best, but somehow makes little difference to how much I enjoy this place every time I go. And that's often!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travel-lover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great location & great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

La Porchetta is a little gem. Wandered in last Sunday for a quick meal before the Euro cup final. Had the seafood risotto, garlic bread and a glass of wine and was amazed by the quantity and quality of the food and the very reasonable price. Will definitely return!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cymru63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Serendipity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

It was a very wet weekend which was apt as we were going to see Singing in the rain, when we sought shelter in what was an unimposing cafe. The atmosphere was warm and inviting. Very friendle staff welcomed us and we ordered garlic bread. A main course of large portions of pasta, and had two glasses of wine each. The bill came to £29.81. We are 2 elderly ladies and found this restaurant to be the first of it's kind in London after many visits, to give true value for money and really courteous service. We were introduced to musicians from the show and told by them that it was their 'local'. On the way back to the station the taxi driver said , when he lived closer to London ,it was his place to take his wife out for a lovely Italian. As I said, serendipity.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marybishop0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Porchetta Pollo Bar also viewed

 

Been to La Porchetta Pollo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing